texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
CRBASSN, Blake Turner, GABassCat, stretch74, ConchDaddy
113503 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 96,297
hopalong 88,620
Pilothawk 80,001
John175☮ 77,777
JDavis7873 67,400
Bigbob_FTW 66,195
Derek 🐝 64,633
Mark Perry 60,447
Tritonman 58,951
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums62
Topics777,507
Posts9,861,008
Members113,503
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Waypoints - Graph Set up? #13382223 12/25/19 03:01 AM
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 2,364
Minner Bucket Online Content OP
Extreme Angler
OP Online Content
Extreme Angler
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 2,364
Hopefully my question makes sense, It doesn't even make sense in my head and I am questioning it, lol. So I have a Lowrance Live on console with point 1 located right behind driver seat and Live units have built in Gps. Up front on the bow, I have an elite Ti, non ethernet so it has to be powered on to share waypoints. When I am idling around and mark a piece of cover with my console unit, the actual waypoint is off by a half boat length on my bow unit. So, the waypoint I mark is accurate with console unit, but off when I go up to the bow. Is there a different way of setting up console and bow units so when you put the cursor over a piece of brush/tree/rock/ or anything for that matter, both unit's waypoint is dead on? I am targeting brush that is half the size of the front deck and this is annoying. I am assuming it has to do with transducer/gps puck placement, but what do ya'll do so your points are dead on with both units?

When scanning, I run over a piece of cover, I put the cursor over the cover and mark a waypoint. Shouldn't that waypoint be for the piece of cover and not dependent on which graph you are using, shouldn't they be the same on both units? I am wondering why it is always slightly off on bow unit??

Thanks and hopefully my question makes sense, I bet it does for the graph gurus.

Moritz Chevrolet - 9101 Camp Bowie W Blvd, Fort Worth, TX - Monte Coon (817) 696-2003
Re: Waypoints - Graph Set up? [Re: Minner Bucket] #13382263 12/25/19 03:36 AM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 2,939
L
leethefishking Offline
Extreme Angler
Offline
Extreme Angler
L
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 2,939
The easiest way would be to set front unit to local gos settings then mark your waypoint with the front unit.

Re: Waypoints - Graph Set up? [Re: Minner Bucket] #13382321 12/25/19 04:31 AM
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 6,090
T
the skipper Offline
TFF Celebrity
Offline
TFF Celebrity
T
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 6,090
Check the settings on the bow unit. Make sure it uses the point one for heading and the internal for GPS position. I have had a few issues with marks being off when you place them out to the side but most times what your describing happened when my GPS would change settings itself

Re: Waypoints - Graph Set up? [Re: Minner Bucket] #13382341 12/25/19 05:01 AM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,811
G
grout-scout Offline
TFF Celebrity
Offline
TFF Celebrity
G
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,811
Mine gets real challenging, my point 1 is at the console because I had to cover an existing hole from a previous puck. Now when I mark something from the console, I’ll use the TM to find it and re-mark it. Add in the EPE of 20’ and it can take a few mins to find those little spots. Not so bad, when it’s calm; but when it’s windy... bang

I confuse myself trying to figure it out, finally I’ll just give up trying to think about it; because I’m just not smart enough to comprehend what’s going on with it.

Re: Waypoints - Graph Set up? [Re: Minner Bucket] #13382342 12/25/19 05:06 AM
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 661
JBranham Online Content
Pro Angler
Online Content
Pro Angler
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 661
Great question and yes it can be mind wrenching.

Paul Getty has some good videos that may help to explain, he has a YouTube channel.

Re: Waypoints - Graph Set up? [Re: Minner Bucket] #13382481 12/25/19 01:43 PM
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 9,878
S
SteezMacQueen Online Happy
TFF Celebrity
Online Happy
TFF Celebrity
S
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 9,878
I think I know the question. But, until I drink my coffee and research it a little, my answer is buy a really small boat.

Merry Christmas.


Eat. Sleep. Fish.
Re: Waypoints - Graph Set up? [Re: Minner Bucket] #13382632 12/25/19 04:23 PM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,811
G
grout-scout Offline
TFF Celebrity
Offline
TFF Celebrity
G
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,811
Part of Minners issue is like mine, his point1 which is setting the wypt, is about 4’-5’ from his transducer location. So in theory he’s already off several feet from the get go. Then add in depth of water and you can add in several more feet of error. I’m going with Lees answer, you have to use the bow graph for the most accurate wypt or move the point 1 directly over the transducer on the back.

Re: Waypoints - Graph Set up? [Re: Minner Bucket] #13382644 12/25/19 04:32 PM
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 2,364
Minner Bucket Online Content OP
Extreme Angler
OP Online Content
Extreme Angler
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 2,364
Do yall know if an elite Ti unit connected through nmea can share the point 1? If so, that might be a step in the right direction.

Last edited by Minner Bucket; 12/25/19 04:39 PM.
Re: Waypoints - Graph Set up? [Re: Minner Bucket] #13382658 12/25/19 04:46 PM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,811
G
grout-scout Offline
TFF Celebrity
Offline
TFF Celebrity
G
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,811
Originally Posted by Minner Bucket
Do yall know if an elite Ti unit connected through nmea can share the point 1? If so, that might be a step in the right direction.



That will still screw you up. The point1 will be sitting over the brush pile and your TM ducer will be 10’-15’ away from the brush pile.

Re: Waypoints - Graph Set up? [Re: grout-scout] #13382659 12/25/19 04:47 PM
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 2,364
Minner Bucket Online Content OP
Extreme Angler
OP Online Content
Extreme Angler
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 2,364
Originally Posted by grout-scout
Originally Posted by Minner Bucket
Do yall know if an elite Ti unit connected through nmea can share the point 1? If so, that might be a step in the right direction.



That will still screw you up. The point1 will be sitting over the brush pile and your TM ducer will be 10’-15’ away from the brush pile.

bang

Re: Waypoints - Graph Set up? [Re: Minner Bucket] #13382680 12/25/19 05:07 PM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,811
G
grout-scout Offline
TFF Celebrity
Offline
TFF Celebrity
G
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,811
EDITED: Deleted my awesome pic, I’m not competing with a CAD program! thumb

See if I can confuse you more and don’t be hating on my awesome artistic skills! Lol


Your point1 is where your wypt icon is being set at, in this case, it’s right behind your seat. Your brush pile is really back at the transducer, not actually where the icon is showing. Now, when you pull up to the wypt icon with your TM, that brush pile is still that 4’-5’ feet away that it was originally off.

Last edited by grout-scout; 12/28/19 03:17 PM.
Re: Waypoints - Graph Set up? [Re: Minner Bucket] #13382698 12/25/19 05:20 PM
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 2,364
Minner Bucket Online Content OP
Extreme Angler
OP Online Content
Extreme Angler
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 2,364
When navigating to a waypoint on the TM that I created on console unit, I get to the cover before I get to the waypoint that is displayed on front graph, but I am right on the console waypoint. I just watched a paul getty youtube video and he gets to the cover a few feet after he goes over the waypoint on his front graph.. hmmm

Probably what you are describing grout, the gap between point 1 and transducer..

Re: Waypoints - Graph Set up? [Re: Minner Bucket] #13382721 12/25/19 05:43 PM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,811
G
grout-scout Offline
TFF Celebrity
Offline
TFF Celebrity
G
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,811
It might depend on direction traveled too when setting wypts and when you come back to fish them. Funny how something so simple gets so confusing! roflmao I’ve spent hours pondering stupid things like this.

Re: Waypoints - Graph Set up? [Re: Minner Bucket] #13382731 12/25/19 05:59 PM
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,226
N
Neches Offline
Extreme Angler
Offline
Extreme Angler
N
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,226
GPS accuracy can be off as much as 15 ft.

Re: Waypoints - Graph Set up? [Re: Neches] #13382770 12/25/19 07:06 PM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 2,939
L
leethefishking Offline
Extreme Angler
Offline
Extreme Angler
L
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 2,939
Originally Posted by Neches
GPS accuracy can be off as much as 15 ft.
With lowrance I rarely see it off more than 4 to 5 feet.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 1998-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3