texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Julius Petty, Ajit, gboyd80, Prez9475, Randyfish
115364 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 102,346
hopalong 97,010
Pilothawk 80,880
John175☮ 79,122
Bigbob_FTW 73,859
JDavis7873 67,402
Derek 🐝 66,625
Mark Perry 62,856
Forum Statistics
Forums61
Topics1,149,082
Posts15,709,395
Members140,364
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Large Ball RAM Rail Mount #13351572 11/24/19 07:34 PM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,779
M
McLovin’ Offline OP
Extreme Angler
OP Offline
Extreme Angler
M
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,779
Any of y’all using a rail mount for one of the RAM mounts with the large ball for a larger screen LCD/GPS?
Doesn’t have to be RAM brand, just looking for a HD mount for HDS unit

Moritz Chevrolet - 9101 Camp Bowie W Blvd, Fort Worth, TX - Monte Coon (817) 696-2003
Re: Large Ball RAM Rail Mount [Re: McLovin’] #13351671 11/24/19 09:21 PM
Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,052
L
LittleGazoo Offline
Extreme Angler
Offline
Extreme Angler
L
Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,052
I use a RAM large ball mount for my console HDS-12 Live. Using friction tape on ball makes it rock solid.
My other console unit is on Precision Sonar single mount.

Re: Large Ball RAM Rail Mount [Re: McLovin’] #13351886 11/24/19 11:48 PM
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 2,237
GTrigg Offline
Extreme Angler
Offline
Extreme Angler
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 2,237
I have a Elite Ti12 at the console on a BalZout. Not cheap, but rock solid.

https://www.tacklewarehouse.com/BalZout_Electronics_Standard_Mounts_/descpage-BALZ.html


[Linked Image]



Re: Large Ball RAM Rail Mount [Re: McLovin’] #13352206 11/25/19 02:15 AM
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 730
C
champRD Online Content
Pro Angler
Online Content
Pro Angler
C
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 730
I'm going to chime in on this. As it comes the large ram ball mount sucks. That's why friction tape is needed. . If it worked properly you shouldn't have to do this. I have stripped the thru bolt trying to get it tight enough to hold a hds 9. Fixed it going to a grade 6 hardened bolt that's a little longer and adding a extra washer but Ram should know this by now.

Re: Large Ball RAM Rail Mount [Re: McLovin’] #13352301 11/25/19 03:41 AM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 9,507
Evan O'Brien Offline
TFF Celebrity
Offline
TFF Celebrity
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 9,507
You can also cut a piece out of a bike tire. Works very well big or small RAM Mounts.


REALTOR. Residential/Commercial/Farm&Ranch/Hunting Properties/Full Relocation Services and More.
Evan O'Brien - Regal Realtors - texaslakesandland@gmail.com (214)642-6921 mobile
Re: Large Ball RAM Rail Mount [Re: McLovin’] #13352348 11/25/19 04:26 AM
Joined: Sep 2016
Posts: 187
J
Jaden Oberkrom Offline
Outdoorsman
Offline
Outdoorsman
J
Joined: Sep 2016
Posts: 187
Do ya’ll mind posting a picture on here of how to taped the ball?


Ranger Boats
www.texaskicking.com
Re: Large Ball RAM Rail Mount [Re: Jaden Oberkrom] #13352554 11/25/19 03:17 PM
Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,052
L
LittleGazoo Offline
Extreme Angler
Offline
Extreme Angler
L
Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,052
Originally Posted by JadensBasshole
Do ya’ll mind posting a picture on here of how to taped the ball?

?????
Just tape the friction tape to the ball so the friction tape is clamped between the ball and the RAM arm.
That will require determining how your desired viewing angles determines the arm positioning on the ball.

Last edited by LittleGazoo; 11/25/19 03:22 PM.
Re: Large Ball RAM Rail Mount [Re: McLovin’] #13352666 11/25/19 05:28 PM
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 737
B
bbassfishes Offline
Pro Angler
Offline
Pro Angler
B
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 737
I've never had good luck with the RAM Ball style mounts, especially with larger graphs. I always hard mount all my graphs.

Re: Large Ball RAM Rail Mount [Re: McLovin’] #13352721 11/25/19 06:20 PM
Joined: Jun 2016
Posts: 912
C130 Online Content
Pro Angler
Online Content
Pro Angler
Joined: Jun 2016
Posts: 912
I’ve got a large RAM Mount someone can have for free if they want them stop by and get it, I live in Magnolia. I used it for a Helix 12. I had it sold, packed it up to ship it, then the person said they didn’t want it. I’m not dealing with shipping it any more but it’s free to anyone that wants it.


Bass Cat Eyra
Re: Large Ball RAM Rail Mount [Re: McLovin’] #13352802 11/25/19 07:39 PM
Joined: May 2014
Posts: 756
BrockstaRama Offline
Pro Angler
Offline
Pro Angler
Joined: May 2014
Posts: 756
I use the heavy duty arm for My helix 12


When I am not fishing I am thinking about fishing. And mostly what I should have done differently my last trip!
#Brockstarama
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

© 1998-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3