texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Ugly Stick, Jqalpha, MarkD2580, DAWNSWISS, TRDK39
111450 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 91,986
hopalong 82,180
Pilothawk 78,849
John175☮ 73,747
JDavis7873 67,397
Derek 🐝 63,145
Bigbob_FTW 59,989
Tritonman 58,778
Mark Perry 57,296
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums60
Topics763,010
Posts9,594,900
Members111,450
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Page 109 of 109 1 2 107 108 109
Re: Lowrance SONAR [Re: jsplinter] #13304603 10/07/19 09:37 PM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 3,327
S
SNAKEBIT Online Content
TFF Team Angler
Online Content
TFF Team Angler
S
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 3,327
carbon unit is networked with a Gen 3 at the dash and at the bow.
with lake Fork boat lanes chip loaded on the carbon, the gen 3's show only the waypoints etc, not the trails.
shouldn't they all be the same if networked??



I love the smell of 2 stroke in the morning !!!

Re: Lowrance SONAR [Re: SNAKEBIT] #13304880 10/08/19 02:52 AM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,068
G
grout-scout Online Content
TFF Celebrity
Online Content
TFF Celebrity
G
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,068
Originally Posted by SNAKEBIT
carbon unit is networked with a Gen 3 at the dash and at the bow.
with lake Fork boat lanes chip loaded on the carbon, the gen 3's show only the waypoints etc, not the trails.
shouldn't they all be the same if networked??



I don’t believe trails show across networks, just on each graph individually.

Re: Lowrance SONAR [Re: jsplinter] #13335861 11/08/19 03:49 PM
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 13,052
M
Mo Offline
TFF Guru
Offline
TFF Guru
M
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 13,052
On the Hds Glen 3,
Is there a setting to display waypoints by nearest point.? It sucks to scroll threw a 100 or more points to get the one you need.

Thanks Mo



MY BACKYARD , 20,000 ACRES , NO MOWING smile
Re: Lowrance SONAR [Re: jsplinter] #13335928 11/08/19 04:46 PM
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 9,911
T Bird Offline
TFF Celebrity
Offline
TFF Celebrity
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 9,911
This should help. Will work for Gen 3.


[Linked Image]
Alumni 1985-1989
Re: Lowrance SONAR [Re: T Bird] #13338695 11/11/19 03:17 PM
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 13,052
M
Mo Offline
TFF Guru
Offline
TFF Guru
M
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 13,052
All
Originally Posted by T Bird
This should help. Will work for Gen 3.


All my waypoints are on one lake , a four mile radius, Having to build a bunch of files seems to be a complicated way to
solve my issue.

I went to waypoint management screen , set it to display by closest , It works on that screen , but when I go to the
anchor screen ,, it still displays by number.

Am I the only one that finds this annoying ?

thanks
Mo



MY BACKYARD , 20,000 ACRES , NO MOWING smile
Re: Lowrance SONAR [Re: jsplinter] #13341146 11/13/19 07:58 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,313
F
fivebites Offline
Extreme Angler
Offline
Extreme Angler
F
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,313
Question for all you Lowrance geniuses, of which I am def NOT! Bought a used boat a few months ago that has 2 gen 3 HDS 9's on it. One at the bow, one at the console. I bought a used Gen 3 HDS 12 to add to the console and hired someone to link the three together. He did. Supposedly. I have a new Ultrex up front as a side note and I'm aware it won't link with Lowrance units. I have an LSS2 transducer mounted on the transom and it read both units fine. The 12 is supposedly linked to the console 9, and if I go to source on the 12 it shows the 9 as the source. The issue is that when you go to side image on the 12 the page will come up, but it will not read the transducer. I took it back in and he said it wasn't linking because I didn't have the 12 updated to the newest software. He updated the software and it's still not working. He's now suggesting I update both 9's with the latest software. Any ideas?


2019 Chevy Tahoe
2017 Legend Alpha 199
PB Wife of 27 years!
PB Largemouth 9.56 Ray Roberts
Re: Lowrance SONAR [Re: fivebites] #13341593 11/14/19 04:00 AM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,068
G
grout-scout Online Content
TFF Celebrity
Online Content
TFF Celebrity
G
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,068
Originally Posted by fivebites
Question for all you Lowrance geniuses, of which I am def NOT! Bought a used boat a few months ago that has 2 gen 3 HDS 9's on it. One at the bow, one at the console. I bought a used Gen 3 HDS 12 to add to the console and hired someone to link the three together. He did. Supposedly. I have a new Ultrex up front as a side note and I'm aware it won't link with Lowrance units. I have an LSS2 transducer mounted on the transom and it read both units fine. The 12 is supposedly linked to the console 9, and if I go to source on the 12 it shows the 9 as the source. The issue is that when you go to side image on the 12 the page will come up, but it will not read the transducer. I took it back in and he said it wasn't linking because I didn't have the 12 updated to the newest software. He updated the software and it's still not working. He's now suggesting I update both 9's with the latest software. Any ideas?


Not a genius and I’m guessing here. Go to your 12’s Structure Scan menu (you know, press the menu button while on the SS page). Go down to the source and make sure it’s NOT set to “this unit”.

Re: Lowrance SONAR [Re: grout-scout] #13342733 11/15/19 02:47 AM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,313
F
fivebites Offline
Extreme Angler
Offline
Extreme Angler
F
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,313
Originally Posted by grout-scout
Originally Posted by fivebites
Question for all you Lowrance geniuses, of which I am def NOT! Bought a used boat a few months ago that has 2 gen 3 HDS 9's on it. One at the bow, one at the console. I bought a used Gen 3 HDS 12 to add to the console and hired someone to link the three together. He did. Supposedly. I have a new Ultrex up front as a side note and I'm aware it won't link with Lowrance units. I have an LSS2 transducer mounted on the transom and it read both units fine. The 12 is supposedly linked to the console 9, and if I go to source on the 12 it shows the 9 as the source. The issue is that when you go to side image on the 12 the page will come up, but it will not read the transducer. I took it back in and he said it wasn't linking because I didn't have the 12 updated to the newest software. He updated the software and it's still not working. He's now suggesting I update both 9's with the latest software. Any ideas?


Not a genius and I’m guessing here. Go to your 12’s Structure Scan menu (you know, press the menu button while on the SS page). Go down to the source and make sure it’s NOT set to “this unit”.


Thanks Scout, but it's set to the console unit for the source, which is the "brain" for a lack of better explanation. At least that what it says it's set on. Could be the guys set it up wrong, but I don't have any idea how to determine that. Guess I should have stayed in school!


2019 Chevy Tahoe
2017 Legend Alpha 199
PB Wife of 27 years!
PB Largemouth 9.56 Ray Roberts
Re: Lowrance SONAR [Re: fivebites] #13342857 11/15/19 05:32 AM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,068
G
grout-scout Online Content
TFF Celebrity
Online Content
TFF Celebrity
G
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,068
Originally Posted by fivebites
Originally Posted by grout-scout


Not a genius and I’m guessing here. Go to your 12’s Structure Scan menu (you know, press the menu button while on the SS page). Go down to the source and make sure it’s NOT set to “this unit”.


Thanks Scout, but it's set to the console unit for the source, which is the "brain" for a lack of better explanation. At least that what it says it's set on. Could be the guys set it up wrong, but I don't have any idea how to determine that. Guess I should have stayed in school!




Ok, so you verified that it is set to receive its info from the console as it’s source? If yes, then you could possibly have a bad Ethernet cable going from 1 graph to the other. First make sure the Ethernet cables are properly attached, then try changing the Ethernet ports (the yellow/orange colored plug) and if that doesn’t work, then it’s possible it’s the cable. They are notorious for being bad or going bad (even new ones can be bad).


I wish you were closer, I know we could figure it out.

Re: Lowrance SONAR [Re: jsplinter] #13342953 11/15/19 01:11 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,313
F
fivebites Offline
Extreme Angler
Offline
Extreme Angler
F
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,313
Will do...when it thaws out! LOL! Thanks grout!


2019 Chevy Tahoe
2017 Legend Alpha 199
PB Wife of 27 years!
PB Largemouth 9.56 Ray Roberts
Page 109 of 109 1 2 107 108 109
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 1998-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3