texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
TractorBobs, Maury1948, aplus fence company, chilithekid, DannyD55
111435 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 91,950
hopalong 82,112
Pilothawk 78,828
John175☮ 73,618
JDavis7873 67,397
Derek 🐝 63,122
Bigbob_FTW 59,848
Tritonman 58,776
Mark Perry 57,223
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums60
Topics762,731
Posts9,590,368
Members111,435
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
HDS 12 Gen3 Upgrade #13318902 10/22/19 01:08 PM
Joined: Jul 2015
Posts: 7
S
ssmith17 Offline OP
Green Horn
OP Offline
Green Horn
S
Joined: Jul 2015
Posts: 7
Hey guys, any help would be appreciated.

I have an HDS 9 GEN3 that I bought about a year ago and had to buy the transducer that goes with it to do side imagining and down imaging.

I am wanting to upgrade to the HDS 12 and put my HDS 9 up front. Can the 12 use the same transducer? Mine is mounted on the outside of the boat.

Also, my 2009 Skeeter does not have the NMEA black box. Do I need one for the 12 to work as good as possible?

Lastly, considering the HDS 12 and a Carbon, and not sure what the main difference is. Looking at buying a used one on TFF.

Re: HDS 12 Gen3 Upgrade [Re: ssmith17] #13318940 10/22/19 01:28 PM
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 9,888
T Bird Offline
TFF Celebrity
Offline
TFF Celebrity
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 9,888
Same transducer compatibility. NEMA not necessary unless you want to add additional features like Point 1 antenna, engine instrument display, Sonic Hub for music etc.

I would link the 2 units together with a Ethernet cable so you can share GPS way points between the two.


[Linked Image]
Alumni 1985-1989
Re: HDS 12 Gen3 Upgrade [Re: T Bird] #13320275 10/23/19 06:48 PM
Joined: Jul 2015
Posts: 7
S
ssmith17 Offline OP
Green Horn
OP Offline
Green Horn
S
Joined: Jul 2015
Posts: 7
Thank you T Bird. That is exactly what I am going do. Buy an Ethernet cable and link them together. I appreciate the response.
\

Re: HDS 12 Gen3 Upgrade [Re: ssmith17] #13332167 11/04/19 10:20 PM
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 322
Larry Mosby Offline
Angler
Offline
Angler
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 322
Yes you can use the same transducer but I would suggest mounting a total scan transducer on your trolling motor for your 9 up front.


Larry Mosby
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 1998-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3