texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Texx23, Kent Vanderheiden, delder18, kimneal, Bobby A
111310 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 91,772
hopalong 81,900
Pilothawk 78,705
John175☮ 73,204
JDavis7873 67,397
Derek 🐝 63,028
Bigbob_FTW 59,244
Tritonman 58,760
Mark Perry 56,853
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums60
Topics760,976
Posts9,564,750
Members111,310
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Separate unit for Livescope or 1 unit for everything #13302323 10/05/19 03:13 PM
Joined: Jan 2019
Posts: 35
S
SAdoc Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
S
Joined: Jan 2019
Posts: 35
I’ve got a Ranger RB190 that has a Lowrance Hook 7 splitshot with a transducer on the trolling motor.
I want to add a Garmin Echomap + 93 and Livescope system.

Would you use the Garmin only for Livescope and keep the Lowrance for sonar/downscan, or get the Garmin with a transducer and use it for everything.

Re: Separate unit for Livescope or 1 unit for everything [Re: SAdoc] #13302327 10/05/19 03:21 PM
Joined: May 2014
Posts: 7,540
GIG'EM AGGIES Online Content
TFF Celebrity
Online Content
TFF Celebrity
Joined: May 2014
Posts: 7,540
Garmin for everything would be my suggestion. I have the Echomap plus 93sv and love it. If I win the lottery I'll add Livescope.


I am a Senager. (Senior teenager) I have everything that I wanted as a teenager, only 50 years later. I get an allowance every month. I have PU truck and a bass boat, I am blessed.
Conscience never acquits, it either accuses or excuses.
Re: Separate unit for Livescope or 1 unit for everything [Re: GIG'EM AGGIES] #13302341 10/05/19 03:49 PM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 392
M
megabucks461 Online Content
Angler
Online Content
Angler
M
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 392
Originally Posted by GIG'EM AGGIES
Garmin for everything would be my suggestion. I have the Echomap plus 93sv and love it. If I win the lottery I'll add Livescope.


I have the same question. What other transducers are available to add to TM to allow your Garmin to take the place of the unit I have up front now? Will put the livescope transducer on a pole mount.


Growing old is inevitable, growing up is optional!

Re: Separate unit for Livescope or 1 unit for everything [Re: megabucks461] #13302347 10/05/19 04:03 PM
Joined: Jan 2019
Posts: 35
S
SAdoc Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
S
Joined: Jan 2019
Posts: 35
Originally Posted by megabucks461
Originally Posted by GIG'EM AGGIES
Garmin for everything would be my suggestion. I have the Echomap plus 93sv and love it. If I win the lottery I'll add Livescope.


I have the same question. What other transducers are available to add to TM to allow your Garmin to take the place of the unit I have up front now? Will put the livescope transducer on a pole mount.


Looks like you can get the Echomap +93SV with the GT52 transducer ( sonar/DI/SI) for $150 more than the unit with no transducer.

Re: Separate unit for Livescope or 1 unit for everything [Re: SAdoc] #13302348 10/05/19 04:05 PM
Joined: May 2014
Posts: 7,540
GIG'EM AGGIES Online Content
TFF Celebrity
Online Content
TFF Celebrity
Joined: May 2014
Posts: 7,540
I'm not a pro on this but my understanding is you mount the sonar/di/si transducer on the bottom of the trolling motor and the Livescope transducer mounts on the shaft, however the pole ducer is a much better option. I think you must have the Garmin Echomap Plus for the Panoptics to work. Again not a pro and highly recommend talking to David at Shut Up and Fish for professional advice. 972-822-9285
He's always willing to help with any questions.


I am a Senager. (Senior teenager) I have everything that I wanted as a teenager, only 50 years later. I get an allowance every month. I have PU truck and a bass boat, I am blessed.
Conscience never acquits, it either accuses or excuses.
Re: Separate unit for Livescope or 1 unit for everything [Re: SAdoc] #13302374 10/05/19 05:00 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 5,870
R
ring fry Online Content
TFF Celebrity
Online Content
TFF Celebrity
R
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 5,870
I would have two units up front. Once you get Livescope you will have that on full screen close to 100% of the time.

SE Kansas grass grower


2008 NCAA Mens Basketball Champions
GO JAYHAWKS

Re: Separate unit for Livescope or 1 unit for everything [Re: SAdoc] #13304318 10/07/19 05:15 PM
Joined: Jan 2019
Posts: 35
S
SAdoc Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
S
Joined: Jan 2019
Posts: 35
Thanks for the reply. David messaged me last night. I’m gonna keep the Lowrance and use the Garmin for Livescope only. Got my order placed.

Did you guys run a wire directly to the battery for the black box? I was gonna run the head unit off the fused panel up front, but I seen a few things saying voltage is critical for the black box to work correctly.

Re: Separate unit for Livescope or 1 unit for everything [Re: SAdoc] #13304986 10/08/19 11:05 AM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 5,870
R
ring fry Online Content
TFF Celebrity
Online Content
TFF Celebrity
R
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 5,870
Voltage is critical. I have two 10" chartplotters, the GLS 10 (Livescope), and the GCV 20 (ultra hi def) all hooked into a marine terminal block under the bow panel with that run back to the battery. I've had no issues doing this.

SE Kansas grass grower


2008 NCAA Mens Basketball Champions
GO JAYHAWKS

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 1998-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3