texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Bobby61, RiversmithUSA, Chris Brouwer, Big O Florida, Tommy Delaney
111511 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 92,105
hopalong 82,364
Pilothawk 78,921
John175☮ 73,941
JDavis7873 67,397
Derek 🐝 63,226
Bigbob_FTW 60,388
Tritonman 58,792
Mark Perry 57,571
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums60
Topics764,183
Posts9,612,255
Members111,511
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Helix 10 loses depth/temp readings #13301641 10/04/19 05:04 PM
Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 248
H
herbsteiner Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
H
Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 248
I just replaced my HDS 9 Gen3 console unit with a Helix 10 DI/SI G3N. When not on plane and under 10mph, all depth and water temp readings are true,. But when on plane, the depth reading spikes into the 1000 ft. range and the temp goes from normal Farenheit numbers to 200-500 with a "t" instead of the "f".

The Mega/DI/SI transducer is mounted to the transom in the same place as the Lowrance TD was.

Does anyone know what's going on with the Helix? Or should I contact HB?

Re: Helix 10 loses depth/temp readings [Re: herbsteiner] #13301663 10/04/19 05:24 PM
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 5,948
44 Diesel Online Content
TFF Celebrity
Online Content
TFF Celebrity
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 5,948
Originally Posted by herbsteiner
I just replaced my HDS 9 Gen3 console unit with a Helix 10 DI/SI G3N. When not on plane and under 10mph, all depth and water temp readings are true,. But when on plane, the depth reading spikes into the 1000 ft. range and the temp goes from normal Farenheit numbers to 200-500 with a "t" instead of the "f".

The Mega/DI/SI transducer is mounted to the transom in the same place as the Lowrance TD was.

Does anyone know what's going on with the Helix? Or should I contact HB?



If you can post a pic of your transducer install. Most likely you are either gonna need to lower the transducer or add a second 2d transducer whether it be a shoot thru or transom mount would depend on boat type you have. Humminbirds imaging transducers can be a little difficult to obtain high speed readings while boat is on plane

Might wanna recheck the temp. The "t" is usually heading and not temp. But not sure why you would be getting a heading over 360°

Last edited by 44 Diesel; 10/04/19 05:28 PM.
Re: Helix 10 loses depth/temp readings [Re: 44 Diesel] #13301743 10/04/19 06:33 PM
Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 248
H
herbsteiner Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
H
Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 248
I probably overstated the number showing on the temp/heading line. Not higher than 360.

The Helix seems slightly slower to correct its readings than the HDS9 was. The HDS also had the benefit of a bilge mounted TD and a transom mounted imaging TD. My HB transom TD is as low as it can go. In another forum it was suggested that I install a thru-hull TD and join both cables with a Y-connector to the unit. That's probably the best way to do it.

Last edited by herbsteiner; 10/04/19 06:37 PM.
Re: Helix 10 loses depth/temp readings [Re: herbsteiner] #13301769 10/04/19 06:56 PM
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 5,948
44 Diesel Online Content
TFF Celebrity
Online Content
TFF Celebrity
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 5,948
Then those numbers are heading and not temp. A shoot thru so of be installed on the bilge area. A thru hill will require drilling a hole in the hull.

Re: Helix 10 loses depth/temp readings [Re: herbsteiner] #13301802 10/04/19 07:44 PM
Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 248
H
herbsteiner Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
H
Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 248
10-4 on the thru hull, my mistake, I meant shoot thru.

Just spoke with Humminbird, as everyone said, I need a wide spectrum TD, either in the bilge or on the transom. The easiest install is to mount the TD on the transom next to the DI/SI and join both with the Y connector. 90 bucks for the TD and 40 bucks for the Y cable. Slightly less on eBay. There's already 2 pucks glued in the bilge already and I'm too old to bend over that far to glue down yet another one.

Re: Helix 10 loses depth/temp readings [Re: herbsteiner] #13301828 10/04/19 08:00 PM
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 5,948
44 Diesel Online Content
TFF Celebrity
Online Content
TFF Celebrity
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 5,948
The only other thing I would advise is to not mount the 2d transducer next to the si/di transducer. The 2d ducer will block the signal of the si on the transducer. I would mount it on the opposite side or I'd you have a steeped hull with enough room I would mount it there

Re: Helix 10 loses depth/temp readings [Re: 44 Diesel] #13301893 10/04/19 09:03 PM
Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 248
H
herbsteiner Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
H
Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 248
I can mount the 2d ducer slightly above and to the right of the DI/SI ducer. The cones would cross each other but not be any physical barrier between either cone. Or I could locate the 2d ducer on the port side of the outboard.

Re: Helix 10 loses depth/temp readings [Re: herbsteiner] #13301933 10/04/19 09:52 PM
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 5,948
44 Diesel Online Content
TFF Celebrity
Online Content
TFF Celebrity
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 5,948
Sounds good, want have to worry about cones crossing (cross talk) . 2d will be disabled on si transducer due to the y cable

Last edited by 44 Diesel; 10/04/19 10:50 PM.
Re: Helix 10 loses depth/temp readings [Re: herbsteiner] #13307869 10/10/19 11:25 PM
Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 248
H
herbsteiner Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
H
Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 248
So I mounted the HWT 'ducer on the same side of the transom as the DI/SI 'ducer... still the same problem... losing correct depth on plane though the temperature reading was now correct.

I then spent a goodly amount of time with Tech Support at Humminbird and they said, based on the several photos I sent them of the transom, that I was probably getting interference from turbulence of the motor and I should mount the 'ducer on the left side of the outboard, opposite the DI/SI 'ducer. Which I did. Took it out on the lake again, and STILL getting a reading of 1050 FOW when I'm actually in about 60 FOW, traveling over 7mph...

I guess my next step, after filling the freshly drilled holes in the transom mad, is to find a spot in the bilge next to the two obsolete Lowrance pucks that are already epoxied into the bilge.

Or else pay attention to the chart page when I'm on plane and put up with some disappointment with H'bird, considering what I paid for these units. I do like the graphics better than my HDS9's, but Lowrance showed me correct readings no matter on plane or idling. bang

Re: Helix 10 loses depth/temp readings [Re: herbsteiner] #13320464 10/23/19 10:52 PM
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 879
S
sprigsss Online Content
Pro Angler
Online Content
Pro Angler
S
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 879
How are you mounting the transducer that you are able to keep removing it and relocating it?

If using silicone and air bubbles at all will interfere.

Re: Helix 10 loses depth/temp readings [Re: sprigsss] #13321904 10/25/19 05:14 AM
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 3,915
B
Bobby Milam Offline
TFF Team Angler
Offline
TFF Team Angler
B
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 3,915
Originally Posted by sprigsss
How are you mounting the transducer that you are able to keep removing it and relocating it?

If using silicone and air bubbles at all will interfere.



Sounds like he was still trying to mount on the other side of the transom not inside the boat as a shoot thru.

Next time get one of the plates that you glue onto the transom and drill holes into it to mount transducers instead of drilling the transom itself. Losing the signal when on plane it is pretty common to have the unit lose the bottom. I figure that if I was using the transducer to look for hazards and was on plane by the time it came into the cone, I'd be hitting it before I could do anything. I just switch to the map when I am running on plane and use it to tell me my depths rather than mounting a shoot thru transducer.

Re: Helix 10 loses depth/temp readings [Re: herbsteiner] #13323286 10/26/19 08:10 PM
Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 248
H
herbsteiner Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
H
Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 248
Thanks for the replies. I haven't been around the past few days.

Humminbird now says that if I mount the 'ducer in the bilge, all will be well. I haven't done that yet and so I've been using the chart to tell me how deep I am when on plane. At the moment, I have other complications in my non-fishing life that makes the transducer problem quite insignificant. But eventually, the episode will be solved, I'm sure.

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 1998-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3