texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Ryan humphrey, Familyguide5, A. Martin, Fidget, LakePalestineHammer
113202 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 95,510
hopalong 87,528
Pilothawk 79,884
John175☮ 77,581
JDavis7873 67,398
Bigbob_FTW 65,426
Derek 🐝 64,380
Mark Perry 60,202
Tritonman 58,916
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums62
Topics782,599
Posts9,874,531
Members113,202
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Tablet on the console #13284014 09/17/19 06:12 PM
Joined: May 2014
Posts: 533
BrockstaRama Offline OP
Pro Angler
OP Offline
Pro Angler
Joined: May 2014
Posts: 533
I just want to use a tablet for the navionics app but was wondering what tablets will pick up gps but do not require having a cell carrier to use GPS. Thanks for the help!


When I am not fishing I am thinking about fishing. And mostly what I should have done differently my last trip!
#Brockstarama
Moritz Chevrolet - 9101 Camp Bowie W Blvd, Fort Worth, TX - Monte Coon (817) 696-2003
Re: Tablet on the console [Re: BrockstaRama] #13284041 09/17/19 06:24 PM
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 9,604
S
SteezMacQueen Online Happy
TFF Celebrity
Online Happy
TFF Celebrity
S
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 9,604
Originally Posted by BrockstaRama
I just want to use a tablet for the navionics app but was wondering what tablets will pick up gps but do not require having a cell carrier to use GPS. Thanks for the help!


It’s not the best idea. The direct sunlight will make it overheat and shut off on a very regular basis. As for the real question, I don’t have an answer.


Eat. Sleep. Fish.
Re: Tablet on the console [Re: BrockstaRama] #13284052 09/17/19 06:29 PM
Joined: Apr 2015
Posts: 6,862
0
04champ Online Content
TFF Celebrity
Online Content
TFF Celebrity
0
Joined: Apr 2015
Posts: 6,862
any device with GPS capability will work without cell service, they are completely different functions

Re: Tablet on the console [Re: BrockstaRama] #13284062 09/17/19 06:35 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 19,982
J.P. Greeson Online Content
the janitor
Online Content
the janitor
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 19,982
I've used an iPad on the boat for Navionics with a cell phone's hotspot. I was using it under a t-top on a big center console, so it was out of the sun and didn't overheat. I also found a suction cup mount for the iPad. I used it a few times, but ended up just sticking with my Lowrance. It was a tool I really didn't need on the boat. I think I watched more fishing videos than I did chart plotting.


The solution to any problem - work, love, money, whatever - is to go fishing, and the worse the problem, the longer the trip should be. --John Gierach

[Linked Image]
Re: Tablet on the console [Re: BrockstaRama] #13284106 09/17/19 07:03 PM
Joined: May 2014
Posts: 533
BrockstaRama Offline OP
Pro Angler
OP Offline
Pro Angler
Joined: May 2014
Posts: 533
Thanks for info guys. I really appreciate it! Never know till ya ask. I use my big arse phone on the console and it woris for now. I can see where the glare and overheating would be an issue now. Hadn't even thought about the glare.


When I am not fishing I am thinking about fishing. And mostly what I should have done differently my last trip!
#Brockstarama
Re: Tablet on the console [Re: BrockstaRama] #13284143 09/17/19 07:26 PM
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 712
5
5PounderOnAFrog Online Content
Pro Angler
Online Content
Pro Angler
5
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 712
Originally Posted by BrockstaRama
Thanks for info guys. I really appreciate it! Never know till ya ask. I use my big arse phone on the console and it woris for now. I can see where the glare and overheating would be an issue now. Hadn't even thought about the glare.

I've been using one for years and it works perfect. I use a ram mount designed for an Ipad and it never overheats due to the angle and getting air on both sides (has been put to the test in many full days of 100° heat). If you throw it on the carpet up front it will overheat quickly for sure.

Also, the glare does not affect me much when i have Navionics pulled up. When i click the home button to unlock the screen, that's a different story. Usually have to pull my glasses up to unlock it but once Navionics is up I'm good to go. One advantage to the Ipad over a graph is you can orient the arrow to the front of the ipad, which can be used to aim directly at the spot you want to cast at. As far as i know, the gps in graphs only is able to orient the arrow based on movement (unless you have a gps puck).

Re: Tablet on the console [Re: BrockstaRama] #13284157 09/17/19 07:36 PM
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 712
5
5PounderOnAFrog Online Content
Pro Angler
Online Content
Pro Angler
5
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 712
https://www.amazon.com/RAM-Tab-Tite...=P5GQRY87F5Q2S2MXK1EA&qid=1568748684

This is the ram mount i use. Never had it come loose in big waves and I fish Conroe so it has been put to the ultimate test. Also, I've taken many waves over the bow and it has never sustained any water damage due to being elevated slightly off the deck. A life proof case or something like that would probably still be a good idea though. I use an Ipad 1 and couldn't find one for it at a reasonable price so i just take my chances.

Re: Tablet on the console [Re: 5PounderOnAFrog] #13284158 09/17/19 07:36 PM
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 4,623
W
Wayne P. Online Content
TFF Team Angler
Online Content
TFF Team Angler
W
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 4,623
Originally Posted by 5PounderOnAFrog
Originally Posted by BrockstaRama
Thanks for info guys. I really appreciate it! Never know till ya ask. I use my big arse phone on the console and it woris for now. I can see where the glare and overheating would be an issue now. Hadn't even thought about the glare.

I've been using one for years and it works perfect. I use a ram mount designed for an Ipad and it never overheats due to the angle and getting air on both sides (has been put to the test in many full days of 100° heat). If you throw it on the carpet up front it will overheat quickly for sure.

Also, the glare does not affect me much when i have Navionics pulled up. When i click the home button to unlock the screen, that's a different story. Usually have to pull my glasses up to unlock it but once Navionics is up I'm good to go. One advantage to the Ipad over a graph is you can orient the arrow to the front of the ipad, which can be used to aim directly at the spot you want to cast at. As far as i know, the gps in graphs only is able to orient the arrow based on movement (unless you have a gps puck).


No Heading Sensor


Helix 12 CHIRP MEGA SI+ GPS G3N, 1198c SI, Helix 7 CHIRP SI GPS G2,
Helix 7 CHIRP MEGA SI GPS G3, Helix 10 MEGA DI+ GPS G3N, SOLIX 12 SI, 360, MEGA 360, RC-1
Re: Tablet on the console [Re: Wayne P.] #13284169 09/17/19 07:44 PM
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 712
5
5PounderOnAFrog Online Content
Pro Angler
Online Content
Pro Angler
5
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 712
Originally Posted by Wayne P.
Originally Posted by 5PounderOnAFrog
Originally Posted by BrockstaRama
Thanks for info guys. I really appreciate it! Never know till ya ask. I use my big arse phone on the console and it woris for now. I can see where the glare and overheating would be an issue now. Hadn't even thought about the glare.

I've been using one for years and it works perfect. I use a ram mount designed for an Ipad and it never overheats due to the angle and getting air on both sides (has been put to the test in many full days of 100° heat). If you throw it on the carpet up front it will overheat quickly for sure.

Also, the glare does not affect me much when i have Navionics pulled up. When i click the home button to unlock the screen, that's a different story. Usually have to pull my glasses up to unlock it but once Navionics is up I'm good to go. One advantage to the Ipad over a graph is you can orient the arrow to the front of the ipad, which can be used to aim directly at the spot you want to cast at. As far as i know, the gps in graphs only is able to orient the arrow based on movement (unless you have a gps puck).


No Heading Sensor

Or that. Knew there was something that could be added.

Either way, if funds do not allow a new graph, the Ipad is a great alternative.

Re: Tablet on the console [Re: BrockstaRama] #13284221 09/17/19 08:26 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,783
M
machinist Online Content
Extreme Angler
Online Content
Extreme Angler
M
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,783
So now we are going to see boats with at least 2 graphs up front, maybe 3 and 2 on the console plus a tablet/Ipad. Whats next?


I fish on the edge and stay out of the middle

99 BassCat Jag w/225 Merc Optimax
Retired TXU Outage Manager
Re: Tablet on the console [Re: machinist] #13284237 09/17/19 08:37 PM
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 712
5
5PounderOnAFrog Online Content
Pro Angler
Online Content
Pro Angler
5
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 712
Originally Posted by machinist
So now we are going to see boats with at least 2 graphs up front, maybe 3 and 2 on the console plus a tablet/Ipad. Whats next?

I think this is more for the people who can't afford/justify all of those things.

Re: Tablet on the console [Re: BrockstaRama] #13284254 09/17/19 08:50 PM
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 4,648
BMCD Online Content
TFF Team Angler
Online Content
TFF Team Angler
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 4,648
GA Airplanes are moving to using tablets for display's.

Last edited by BMCD; 09/18/19 01:00 PM.
Re: Tablet on the console [Re: machinist] #13284361 09/17/19 10:24 PM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,248
M
Mudbone Online Content
Extreme Angler
Online Content
Extreme Angler
M
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,248
Originally Posted by machinist
So now we are going to see boats with at least 2 graphs up front, maybe 3 and 2 on the console plus a tablet/Ipad. Whats next?



No, he said he was going to use it for Navionics app, which is what I've done and it works gray on a ram mount.
If you have electronics that have Bluetooth, you can also link to your unit, as I did my Lowrance.
I can literally use the ipad just like another Lowrance touch unit ....and it's linked to the other main unit on the console and it saved all waypoints you mark on either

Much cheaper than dropping big bucks for new graph

Re: Tablet on the console [Re: Mudbone] #13284410 09/17/19 10:56 PM
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 305
C
cwil Offline
Angler
Offline
Angler
C
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 305
Originally Posted by Mudbone
Originally Posted by machinist
So now we are going to see boats with at least 2 graphs up front, maybe 3 and 2 on the console plus a tablet/Ipad. Whats next?



No, he said he was going to use it for Navionics app, which is what I've done and it works gray on a ram mount.
If you have electronics that have Bluetooth, you can also link to your unit, as I did my Lowrance.
I can literally use the ipad just like another Lowrance touch unit ....and it's linked to the other main unit on the console and it saved all waypoints you mark on either

Much cheaper than dropping big bucks for new graph



So with an iPad and the navionics app, I can connect to my graphs by bluetooth? Will this work as a second mapping screen? If this works, what other features will work between the two? I have helix 10 g2n's. I have the navionics app on my phone, but not on my iPad.

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 1998-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3