texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
TractorBobs, Maury1948, aplus fence company, chilithekid, DannyD55
111435 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 91,948
hopalong 82,112
Pilothawk 78,828
John175☮ 73,618
JDavis7873 67,397
Derek 🐝 63,121
Bigbob_FTW 59,848
Tritonman 58,776
Mark Perry 57,222
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums60
Topics762,724
Posts9,590,252
Members111,435
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Cranking Battery question. #13274677 09/08/19 10:52 PM
Joined: Nov 2017
Posts: 181
D
dawdallas Online Content OP
Outdoorsman
OP Online Content
Outdoorsman
D
Joined: Nov 2017
Posts: 181
I added a new to me graph on my boat and now have two larger graphs. They work great for a couple of hours but then turn off from low battery voltage. The battery still cranks the motor but the graphs will not work again until I charge the battery. What battery do I need to get so that I can run my graphs all day?

Bass Fishing Ad
Re: Cranking Battery question. [Re: dawdallas] #13274687 09/08/19 10:59 PM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 452
Aaron Towner Online Content
Angler
Online Content
Angler
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 452
I recommend installing 10ga marine wiring for the graphs. I have upgraded the wiring in numerous boats for this very problem. Most of the factory wiring in my opinion isn’t sufficient enough to carry the current for the larger graphs. You may see up to two volts of drop from battery to graph = no good! I also am running the Odyssey 31 group Battery.

Re: Cranking Battery question. [Re: dawdallas] #13274746 09/08/19 11:47 PM
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 8,218
S
SteezMacQueen Online Happy
TFF Celebrity
Online Happy
TFF Celebrity
S
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 8,218
Might try two batteries. I use a Optima Grp 34DM on the motor and an Optima Grp 27 to run everything else. Three Carbons, Hydrowave, power poles, pumps, aerators, lights, Sonic Hub, etc.

I always had issues like yours, or worse, until I added the house battery. I don’t know what motor you have, but Yamahas have a dual, isolated, set of charging leads. It can charge a primary and secondary separately and without fear of one battery draining the other.

If you have the room and your boat won’t suffer too much from the weight, it is a good way to fish longer days.


Eat. Sleep. Fish.
Re: Cranking Battery question. [Re: Aaron Towner] #13274779 09/09/19 12:24 AM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 13,868
E
ezbassin Online Content
TFF Guru
Online Content
TFF Guru
E
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 13,868
Originally Posted by Aaron Towner
I recommend installing 10ga marine wiring for the graphs. I have upgraded the wiring in numerous boats for this very problem. Most of the factory wiring in my opinion isn’t sufficient enough to carry the current for the larger graphs. You may see up to two volts of drop from battery to graph = no good! I also am running the Odyssey 31 group Battery.



Do this first. I had a problem with my front graph not working right, low voltage,and it was because of the wiring ,not the battery. I added 10 gauge wire to both graphs and that solved the problem.

I use a Deka Intimidator group 31 battery for my starting battery which also runs my electronics..

Last edited by ezbassin; 09/09/19 12:27 AM.
Re: Cranking Battery question. [Re: dawdallas] #13274816 09/09/19 12:53 AM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 9,055
J
Jarrett Latta Offline
TFF Celebrity
Offline
TFF Celebrity
J
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 9,055
Odyssey pc2150 as stated is the best you can buy. No reason to add an extra battery and extra weight when you can get the Odyssey. It'll run as many pumps and graphs as you can install and crank your boat 10 hours later. It has 2,150 pulse cranking amps

Re: Cranking Battery question. [Re: dawdallas] #13275403 09/09/19 05:44 PM
Joined: Apr 2015
Posts: 1,810
Curtbass Offline
Extreme Angler
Offline
Extreme Angler
Joined: Apr 2015
Posts: 1,810
Or buy a Dual purpose Lithium battery & get 8-10 years maintenance free service , 1250 CCA,100 Ahs, 24.2#’s, Eliminate the power issue for good. A win-win deal


ELITE POWER SYSTEMS/ LithiumRage.com
Lithium Battery & Charging Systems
Tight lines & stay safe out there.Gods blessings
Re: Cranking Battery question. [Re: dawdallas] #13275551 09/09/19 09:12 PM
Joined: Nov 2017
Posts: 181
D
dawdallas Online Content OP
Outdoorsman
OP Online Content
Outdoorsman
D
Joined: Nov 2017
Posts: 181
Purchased 10 gauge wire today. Will let you know if that solves the problem. Much cheaper fix if it works.

Re: Cranking Battery question. [Re: dawdallas] #13275791 09/10/19 01:09 AM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 452
Aaron Towner Online Content
Angler
Online Content
Angler
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 452
Read your digital voltage on your graphs then check at the battery.

Re: Cranking Battery question. [Re: dawdallas] #13275834 09/10/19 01:42 AM
Joined: Aug 2016
Posts: 6
S
Shaky Horn Offline
Green Horn
Offline
Green Horn
S
Joined: Aug 2016
Posts: 6
Sounds familiar. My side view doesn’t work and the graphs restart whenever I crank the motor. Sounds like this is my guide to fixing those problems.

Re: Cranking Battery question. [Re: dawdallas] #13275931 09/10/19 02:37 AM
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 105
B
Burbarry Offline
Outdoorsman
Offline
Outdoorsman
B
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 105
I had to upgrade my wiring to keep graphs working when starting engine.i went to 6 gauge to fuse block and 10 out of the block.

Re: Cranking Battery question. [Re: dawdallas] #13276034 09/10/19 05:17 AM
Joined: Apr 2015
Posts: 1,810
Curtbass Offline
Extreme Angler
Offline
Extreme Angler
Joined: Apr 2015
Posts: 1,810
Of course you want to do the correct gauge wire first, if it solves the issue. Yessir. Be SURE to use marine grade tinned copper wire though or you may have the same issue rear it’s ugly head again in 12-24 months. Good luck & hope that solves the problem


ELITE POWER SYSTEMS/ LithiumRage.com
Lithium Battery & Charging Systems
Tight lines & stay safe out there.Gods blessings
Re: Cranking Battery question. [Re: dawdallas] #13276278 09/10/19 02:47 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 13,868
E
ezbassin Online Content
TFF Guru
Online Content
TFF Guru
E
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 13,868
Originally Posted by dawdallas
Purchased 10 gauge wire today. Will let you know if that solves the problem. Much cheaper fix if it works.


It worked on my graphs. I have a Lowrance 12 touch on the console and the same up front. The charts took way too long to load and the front one would just go off from time to time. Installing the 10 gauge wire fixed all of that. I located the fuses close to each unit.

Re: Cranking Battery question. [Re: Aaron Towner] #13276282 09/10/19 02:49 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 13,868
E
ezbassin Online Content
TFF Guru
Online Content
TFF Guru
E
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 13,868
Originally Posted by Aaron Towner
Read your digital voltage on your graphs then check at the battery.


+1 That will show you if you have a voltage drop to the units. I bet you do. I did on mine before I added the 10 gauge wire. Now they work great.

Last edited by ezbassin; 09/10/19 02:50 PM.
Re: Cranking Battery question. [Re: dawdallas] #13276403 09/10/19 05:11 PM
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 234
Reel Addict Online Content
Outdoorsman
Online Content
Outdoorsman
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 234
10 gauge wire and Interstate 31 AGM repaired all my problems.





Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 1998-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3