texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Ugly Stick, Jqalpha, MarkD2580, DAWNSWISS, TRDK39
111450 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 91,980
hopalong 82,168
Pilothawk 78,844
John175☮ 73,742
JDavis7873 67,397
Derek 🐝 63,145
Bigbob_FTW 59,979
Tritonman 58,777
Mark Perry 57,251
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums60
Topics762,976
Posts9,594,207
Members111,450
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
syncing/linking graphs and Ultrex #13254601 08/21/19 12:31 AM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,313
F
fivebites Online Content OP
Extreme Angler
OP Online Content
Extreme Angler
F
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,313
Before you jump on me...I'm an old. And techno idiot. The boat I bought has 2 gen 3 hds 9's. One at the console and one at the bow. I'm adding a gen3 HDS 12 to the console. Currently the console 9 has a Navionics chip in it. The bow does not. Shouldn't those two be able to "read" each other? They don't. So what am I missing. Since they are Lowrance and Ultrex "link" up with only Humminbirds no need for any link stuff, right? I have what I think to be the LSS1 transducer mounted on the back of the boat. Will that one work for both units on the console? If you want to pm me to keep this from being a novel...PLEASE DO! There are no stupid questions...only old people who can't figure out how they get those people on that little box from all over the world. Next thing you know we'll put people on the moon. Thanks in advance. Here comes the beating!


2019 Chevy Tahoe
2017 Legend Alpha 199
PB Wife of 27 years!
PB Largemouth 9.56 Ray Roberts
Bass Fishing Ad
Re: syncing/linking graphs and Ultrex [Re: fivebites] #13254672 08/21/19 01:49 AM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 197
C
Capt. Bryan Online Content
Outdoorsman
Online Content
Outdoorsman
C
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 197
I dont believe the navionics will transfer to other units. You should just be able to add the other graph and an ethernet cable from the 9 to the new 12 and share depth and waypoint between all three units if there is already an ethernet cable from bow to console.


Nitro Z19
Mercury
Lowrance
Castaway
Lews
Re: syncing/linking graphs and Ultrex [Re: fivebites] #13254751 08/21/19 02:57 AM
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 114
B
Bahala Offline
Outdoorsman
Offline
Outdoorsman
B
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 114
I have Carbon units, but I believe the Gen 3 units are very similar. The 9s and 12s have two Ethernet ports, so you can link them together. You will probably need a 15’ and 6’ Ethernet cable. One from the console to one of the bow units and one between the two bow units. You will then be able to share your map card, waypoints, transducers, etc. if you have a point 1 antenna, you will need to add a NMEA 2000 backbone with drops to each unit. The Ultrex will not link to the Lowrance units.

Last edited by Bahala; 08/21/19 12:18 PM.
Re: syncing/linking graphs and Ultrex [Re: fivebites] #13254805 08/21/19 04:08 AM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,313
F
fivebites Online Content OP
Extreme Angler
OP Online Content
Extreme Angler
F
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,313
Thanks boys. Just watched a bunch of Youtube stuff and it actually looks fairly simple. Bahala, I googled the NMEA 2000 and there are several types. Can you get by with the basic and about what price point should I be looking at? Same thing for the Point 1 antenna.

Thanks again!


2019 Chevy Tahoe
2017 Legend Alpha 199
PB Wife of 27 years!
PB Largemouth 9.56 Ray Roberts
Re: syncing/linking graphs and Ultrex [Re: fivebites] #13254913 08/21/19 12:15 PM
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 114
B
Bahala Offline
Outdoorsman
Offline
Outdoorsman
B
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 114
You can get a Lowrance NMEA 2000 starter kit at Academy for $60. You will need to buy two more Tees and drops as the starter kit has everything to add one graph. The Point 1 will come with a Tee, so your good there. Make sure your NMEA backbone is on switchable power or the Point 1 will keep drawing power when your boat is parked and the antenna could go into sleep mode. The nice thing about NMEA 2000 it is standardized so you can use components from any manufacturer.

Last edited by Bahala; 08/21/19 12:21 PM.
Re: syncing/linking graphs and Ultrex [Re: fivebites] #13254930 08/21/19 12:27 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,313
F
fivebites Online Content OP
Extreme Angler
OP Online Content
Extreme Angler
F
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,313
awesome...thanks Bahala!


2019 Chevy Tahoe
2017 Legend Alpha 199
PB Wife of 27 years!
PB Largemouth 9.56 Ray Roberts
Re: syncing/linking graphs and Ultrex [Re: fivebites] #13254977 08/21/19 01:05 PM
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 236
Reel Addict Offline
Outdoorsman
Offline
Outdoorsman
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 236
You can link graphs together via ethernet cables to share waypoints ect. I do not beleive you can make Navionics maps share between units. At least I could'nt make it work and had to buy seperate card. Hopefully some of the experts will chime in if it is possible.





Re: syncing/linking graphs and Ultrex [Re: fivebites] #13255048 08/21/19 02:00 PM
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 114
B
Bahala Offline
Outdoorsman
Offline
Outdoorsman
B
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 114
I share my Navionics card between units. Its one reason I went to Lowrance.

Re: syncing/linking graphs and Ultrex [Re: fivebites] #13255181 08/21/19 03:02 PM
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 2,021
T
TX Champ Offline
Extreme Angler
Offline
Extreme Angler
T
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 2,021
The NMEA2000 network links the units with other devices on the boat such as precision GPS antennas, temp probes, engine stats (if capable), etc. To share information between the units such as mapping (Gen 3s), waypoints and sharing transducers, you'll also need to install the Ethernet cables (yellow connectors). Unfortunately, Lowrance will not interface with your Ultrex. I've got a 9" Gen 3 on the bow, a 12" Gen 3 by the console and a 7" Gen 1 in the dash. I can share mapping between the Gen 3s, waypoints on all and look at any 2D or Imaging transducers on all.


Re: syncing/linking graphs and Ultrex [Re: fivebites] #13255284 08/21/19 04:18 PM
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 142
D
Dug71 Offline
Outdoorsman
Offline
Outdoorsman
D
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 142
Make sure you even need the nmea2000 before buying. my gen2 hds 9 touch units only require an Ethernet cable between them to share stuff but the non touch units do require the mnea2000.

I share everything between them, even waypoints and the navionics card is only in one unit.

Re: syncing/linking graphs and Ultrex [Re: fivebites] #13255821 08/22/19 02:25 AM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,313
F
fivebites Online Content OP
Extreme Angler
OP Online Content
Extreme Angler
F
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,313
Thanks Champ and Dug.

Last edited by fivebites; 08/22/19 02:26 AM.

2019 Chevy Tahoe
2017 Legend Alpha 199
PB Wife of 27 years!
PB Largemouth 9.56 Ray Roberts
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 1998-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3