texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Clint03, jch123ut, Jason in Coppell, Denim, Strat-a-Caster
112782 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 94,467
hopalong 86,443
Pilothawk 79,681
John175☮ 77,104
JDavis7873 67,398
Derek 🐝 64,207
Bigbob_FTW 63,987
Mark Perry 59,697
Tritonman 58,895
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums62
Topics778,697
Posts9,820,902
Members112,782
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
YakAttack Switchblade Transducer Arm #13235089 08/04/19 01:53 PM
Joined: Jul 2018
Posts: 1,037
O
Ocelot Online Content OP
Extreme Angler
OP Online Content
Extreme Angler
O
Joined: Jul 2018
Posts: 1,037
I was frequently having an issue where the transducer would raise up.
This happens when the wind is blowing from the side with the transducer arm mounted so the kayak is being pushed away from the arm.
Tried tightening the arm, but would still happen.
I always have a rope tied to my kayak for tying off to trees, in case I or someone needs towing or to help cart my kayak back.
The rope floats so i put some out on the downwind side of kayak and let kayak float over it.
Tie end to the transducer arm and tie a half hitch around handle for rod holder on downwind side of kayak.
Only issue is if line or bait bucket line gets hung on transducer arm need to undo half hitch so can lift the arm and free everything.
Decided having good readings from the finder outweigh this.

Re: YakAttack Switchblade Transducer Arm [Re: Ocelot] #13552667 05/10/20 08:15 PM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 370
S
Super8mm Online Content
Angler
Online Content
Angler
S
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 370
Give YakAttack a call and see what they say. I called them about a missing part for mine and they put it in the mail thursday.

Maybe you need to add a washer to it so the arm gets pinched harder?


I am proud of our troops
Re: YakAttack Switchblade Transducer Arm [Re: Ocelot] #13560857 05/17/20 01:53 AM
Joined: Feb 2017
Posts: 286
L
lurenthewind Offline
Angler
Offline
Angler
L
Joined: Feb 2017
Posts: 286
Would it be possible to make a rigid arm using a 1" Ram Ball and a double ended coupler on a PVC pipe shaft so that it stays put?

That is how the Livescope is mounted on my bass boat except that I am using a 2.5" Ram Ball since the Transducer Pole is 4 or 5 feet long.

Because it is a Ram Ball mount, if you hit anything it just breaks away and added benefit is you can set the transducer at whatever depth you want it.

Wayne


Luck will beat skill any time you have enough of it!
Re: YakAttack Switchblade Transducer Arm [Re: Ocelot] #13560878 05/17/20 02:21 AM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 370
S
Super8mm Online Content
Angler
Online Content
Angler
S
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 370
Yes you can do it that way, I have seen videos on it.

I went with the switchblade as I was also doing the CellBlock and Humminbird mount all as one unit. I can loosen the two track screws and slid off the Humminbird, battery and transponder as one unit and carry it in the house to charge it and store for the next time,.


I am proud of our troops
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 1998-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3