Print Thread
Page 4 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Re: Done with Fluoro [Re: Mark Perry] #13222408 07/22/19 09:35 PM
Chet Offline
Extreme Angler
Extreme Angler
Originally Posted by Mark Perry
Originally Posted by mossyback75
I think what most people fail to understand is that fluoro is ultra brittle and will shatter due to shock such as a backlash or stretch such as pulling hard on a snag. While the line doesnt break during this shatter (a lot of times) the line is basically ruined.

My personal experience has been 100% different than this. Fluoro rarely if ever breaks for me on hooksett etc. It seems far from brittle to me.

This....I've been fishing Seaguar for 12 years and the only breaks I've had were from rough handling of the line after a back lash. Invizx sure never felt brittle to me. and have several memories of almost having to use the boat to break the stuff(20lb). Use good mono for top water and Seaguar for most everything else.

Moritz Chevrolet - 9101 Camp Bowie W Blvd, Fort Worth, TX - Monte Coon (817) 696-2003
Re: Done with Fluoro [Re: jvc58dke] #13222418 07/22/19 09:44 PM
T
Thad Rains Offline
TFF Team Angler
TFF Team Angler
T
When I tied my 3 different knots, it was no where NEAR the breaking point. Palomar, Improved Clinch and uni knots. The line broke all avove where the knot was tied. I checked it out and tied knots that should not have had any impact on breaking, but they all did, so no more flouro for me. The knots were all tied below where the breaks were occurring and it irritated me from what I was using. Maybe 3 bad batches, do not know, but I gave it up. Tight lines, keep safe and good luck.

Thad Rains

It might be my hook set, but I set the hook HARD, but it shouldn't be that bad on all spools, unless I got 3 bad spools, which the odds of that almost do not exist. Since they were from different batches and different lines to begin with.

tr

Last edited by Thad Rains; 07/22/19 09:46 PM.

Tight lines, keep safe and good luck.

Thad Rains