Print Thread
New to Saltwater Fishing #13169355 05/29/19 01:55 AM
J
J C Butler Offline OP
Green Horn
OP Offline
Green Horn
J
I am new to Salt Water fishing and want to do more, I have an Ocean Prowler Kayak and a couple of spinning rods and reels outfitted with 15-pound braid, have watched some youtube clips and have an anchor with 8-foot of chain. Needing further advice on equipment will be doing DIY on Gaf, lighting and other required projects while saving to buy proper spinning rods and reels.

Re: New to Saltwater Fishing [Re: J C Butler] #13179566 06/08/19 05:45 PM
B
bill oxner Offline
TFF Team Angler
TFF Team Angler
B
Location?

[Linked Image]

The birds and the guides follow mr out
Re: New to Saltwater Fishing [Re: J C Butler] #13188758 06/18/19 12:27 AM
C
christian myrick Online Content
TFF Team Angler
Online Content
TFF Team Angler
C
Personally i wouldnt take an anchor offshore. In a kayak your going to be trolling unless you are targeting inshore species. You may also up your line weight to 20 or 30. First thing id do also is learn and practice proper high angle paddle swing. When we go we easily average 15-25 miles a day. With poor technique you wont make it half that distance.

Re: New to Saltwater Fishing [Re: J C Butler] #13188847 06/18/19 01:52 AM
V-Bottom Offline
TFF Celebrity
TFF Celebrity
A Permanent Marker....

Texas Anglers Recognition Program
TPWD Official Weigh Station,77563
Coastal Bend Weigh Team, Cert. Weigh Master
USMC66'- www.troutsupport.com

Re: New to Saltwater Fishing [Re: christian myrick] #13192020 06/21/19 11:06 AM
S
Skunked Again Fishing Offline
Extreme Angler
Extreme Angler
S
Originally Posted by christian myrick