texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Matilda's Lakeside Store & RV, Buckchaser, thereelclayton, Theview, Dyobmc
111035 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 91,439
hopalong 81,190
Pilothawk 78,500
John175☮ 72,423
JDavis7873® 67,395
Derek 🐝 62,675
Tritonman 58,725
Bigbob_FTW 57,860
Mark Perry 56,255
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums60
Topics757,252
Posts9,509,212
Members111,035
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Lowrance Hook 7 Tripleshot #13185624 06/14/19 05:26 PM
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 9
Ringbone Offline OP
Green Horn
OP Offline
Green Horn
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 9
I used my new Lowrance Hook 7 TripleShot yesterday for the first time, and was really upset with the performance related to power-on. Seems to be related to the boat's 12v battery performance. So I have decided to provide an individual battery power for the unit. I have read in other forums that users of fish locators similar to my unit but of older models have had success using smaller size batteries such as those for motorcycles kayaks, lawn mowers etc.

Do any of you have this unit? If yes. Recommendation for a battery?

Ron


RC Reynolds
Tracker Pro Team 175 TXW
Bellville, TX

Re: Lowrance Hook 7 Tripleshot [Re: Ringbone] #13186161 06/15/19 12:58 AM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,287
Jason Gilstrap Offline
Mr. Lowrance
Offline
Mr. Lowrance
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,287
You can used a series 27 battery and running decent size ga wire to the unit.


Jason Gilstrap LOWRANCE PRO STAFF / Get A Limit Outdoors www.getalimitoutdoors.com
Re: Lowrance Hook 7 Tripleshot [Re: Ringbone] #13216436 07/16/19 04:20 PM
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 9
Ringbone Offline OP
Green Horn
OP Offline
Green Horn
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 9
Thanks Jason.
After buying the gp27 battery the unit does come on and now stays on.
But I do not know how to set it up. I have been on the water four times and have get been able to get sonar setup (it's just big-time full of arches no matter what area of lake I am on.), mapping (gps), temperature gauge reads 30° lower than actual surface temp as shown on my Eagle, and I have yet to use the down or side scan. I believe this unit is far ahead of my ability to set it up. Pretty sure I am going to remove it from the boat and put my old Eagle paper graf on the boat until I run out of paper and stylus.


RC Reynolds
Tracker Pro Team 175 TXW
Bellville, TX

Re: Lowrance Hook 7 Tripleshot [Re: Ringbone] #13216459 07/16/19 04:35 PM
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 727
Rob Jasper Lowrance Pro-Staff Offline
Pro Angler
Offline
Pro Angler
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 727
Drop a Line in the Water and catch those arches!!! I assume you are not in simulator mode. I would run the unit in automatic and let its simplicity do the work. I will send you a PM with my phone number (feel free to call for some operation help). I will also be out at Bass Pro Grapevine TX this Sunday if you are in that area. Be glad to work with you on user operations.


Rob Jasper
Re: Lowrance Hook 7 Tripleshot [Re: Ringbone] #13216496 07/16/19 05:12 PM
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 9
Ringbone Offline OP
Green Horn
OP Offline
Green Horn
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 9
Thanks Rob.


RC Reynolds
Tracker Pro Team 175 TXW
Bellville, TX

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 1998-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3