texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
ActuallyAndrew, Bilterra, CDS, botan5601, Beaver liqour
111169 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 91,614
hopalong 81,564
Pilothawk 78,618
John175☮ 72,790
JDavis7873 67,397
Derek 🐝 62,864
Tritonman 58,751
Bigbob_FTW 58,530
Mark Perry 56,547
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums60
Topics759,252
Posts9,539,691
Members111,169
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Dumb Anchor Question #13182390 06/11/19 07:58 PM
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,584
S
Sirjet Offline OP
Extreme Angler
OP Offline
Extreme Angler
S
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,584
What is the purpose of putting a chain on the Anchor and then tying a rope to the Chain?


Marine 4 Life
[Linked Image][Linked Image]


"#1 God #2 Family #3 Fishing #4 Fishing #5 Fishing
JET


Re: Dumb Anchor Question [Re: Sirjet] #13182397 06/11/19 08:02 PM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 42,937
T
Tallgrass05 Online Content
bill maher's protege
Online Content
bill maher's protege
T
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 42,937
The chain is heavy and helps the anchor to tip over and dig in. Also check out using a zip tie so you can retrieve a stuck anchor.


"...to guard against the impostures of pretended patriotism."
~George Washington, Sept. 19, 1796
Re: Dumb Anchor Question [Re: Sirjet] #13182495 06/11/19 09:35 PM
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 3,381
C
christian myrick Online Content
TFF Team Angler
Online Content
TFF Team Angler
C
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 3,381
I have never used a chain on my anchor. Works fine. The only dumb question is the one not asked.


Re: Dumb Anchor Question [Re: Sirjet] #13182550 06/11/19 10:35 PM
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 424
I
IslandJim Online Content
Angler
Online Content
Angler
I
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 424
Anchors work by digging into the bottom, while being pulled sideways, not because they're heavy. Properly set, you will have out 5 to 7 times the water depth of rope(called rode). If you have chain at the anchor, you can shorten up a little on the rope, because the weight of the chain makes it pull laterally, rather than up. If you lake fish, your depths will probably be fairly deep. I would have 100 feet of rode if lake fishing. Most probably don't. IslandJim


I'm an Eighth Day Adventist. On the Eighth Day, God went fishing!
Re: Dumb Anchor Question [Re: Sirjet] #13182553 06/11/19 10:36 PM
Joined: Apr 2019
Posts: 430
J
Jerry713 Offline
Angler
Offline
Angler
J
Joined: Apr 2019
Posts: 430
I don't use a chain either. I've never had to anchor in strong current or wind but never had an issue with using a rope.


You get out of it what you put into it!
Re: Dumb Anchor Question [Re: Sirjet] #13183055 06/12/19 12:48 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 17,132
Jimbo Online Content
TFF Guru
Online Content
TFF Guru
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 17,132
Doesn't take a lot of weight to hold a kayak in place and in my opinion adding a chain to your anchor for a kayak is a bit of overkill.


Just one more cast!

[Linked Image]
Re: Dumb Anchor Question [Re: Sirjet] #13183196 06/12/19 02:54 PM
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,584
S
Sirjet Offline OP
Extreme Angler
OP Offline
Extreme Angler
S
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,584
Jimbo. That is what i was waiting to hear. I don't have a foot paddle yak. So anything i have in my Kayak I will have to hand paddle. The less weight the better. LOL.


Marine 4 Life
[Linked Image][Linked Image]


"#1 God #2 Family #3 Fishing #4 Fishing #5 Fishing
JET


Re: Dumb Anchor Question [Re: Sirjet] #13183229 06/12/19 03:23 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 17,132
Jimbo Online Content
TFF Guru
Online Content
TFF Guru
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 17,132
I use a Bruce Claw anchor, and I shove the long shank end into one of my rod holders on my crate.
I tie the anchor line to the bottom part with the claw, and then use a zip tie at the upper end of the shank portion of the anchor.
That way if you hang up and have to pull the anchor with force, the zip tie will break and allow the anchor to pull free from the snag or rock.

https://www.austinkayak.com/BruceStyle-Claw-Anchor/ACK76P.html


Just one more cast!

[Linked Image]
Re: Dumb Anchor Question [Re: Sirjet] #13183365 06/12/19 05:08 PM
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,584
S
Sirjet Offline OP
Extreme Angler
OP Offline
Extreme Angler
S
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,584
That was the one that I just got in today. And the ziptie is what i was planning to do.


Marine 4 Life
[Linked Image][Linked Image]


"#1 God #2 Family #3 Fishing #4 Fishing #5 Fishing
JET


Re: Dumb Anchor Question [Re: Sirjet] #13184104 06/13/19 12:01 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 17,132
Jimbo Online Content
TFF Guru
Online Content
TFF Guru
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 17,132
thumb


Just one more cast!

[Linked Image]
Re: Dumb Anchor Question [Re: Sirjet] #13184136 06/13/19 12:28 PM
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 30,801
Dan90210 ☮ Online Content
Nonbinary Gender of the Year 2017
Online Content
Nonbinary Gender of the Year 2017
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 30,801
Jimbo nailed it. Chains are used for larger craft. Your yak will do just fine without. Just extra weight.


Originally Posted By: junbengreat
Pulled a gun on his dryer and they caught a bunch of fish.
Re: Dumb Anchor Question [Re: Sirjet] #13184162 06/13/19 12:55 PM
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,584
S
Sirjet Offline OP
Extreme Angler
OP Offline
Extreme Angler
S
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,584
i have learned so much from you guys. Now I know enough to be dangerous. Safe but dangerous. LOL Thanks A Lot.


Marine 4 Life
[Linked Image][Linked Image]


"#1 God #2 Family #3 Fishing #4 Fishing #5 Fishing
JET


Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 1998-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3