Page 1 of 2 1 2
How Often Are You "Learning"? #13170148 05/29/19 08:09 PM
J
jpetro10 Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
J
I was thinking about this the other day as I was out on the water. I'm guessing most you guys are like me and have limited time you can spend on the water.

For me, this means I generally go to what was working last time or what I've done in the past that's worked. That means I don't really want to spend the little time I have trying to learn a tactic I've never tried before. Some examples of things I'm really not familiar with would be dropshotting, carolina rigs, ned rigs, anything deep water really, etc. Since I just upgraded the electronics on my console these are definitely things I know I should learn but man, it's hard to take the small amount of time I have to do it.

How often are you guys going to your 'home lake' and trying new tactics that you've never tried before? Lures/baits you've never tried before, etc.

I'm genuinely curious because if I have 2-4 hours of fishing, most of the time I'm not going to try to locate fish on a ledge to learn dropshotting...but I know I need to make time to do it...somehow, lol.

Moritz Chevrolet - 9101 Camp Bowie W Blvd, Fort Worth, TX - Monte Coon (817) 696-2003
Re: How Often Are You "Learning"? [Re: jpetro10] #13170155 05/29/19 08:18 PM
F
FishTheBite Offline
Angler
Angler
F
When I fish alone I am usually looking at new water and often new techniques. When I have guests in the boat I hit known areas and use techniques that I have confidence in. For some reason I have a really hard time fishing water I know holds fish when I am by myself.

Re: How Often Are You "Learning"? [Re: jpetro10] #13170157 05/29/19 08:19 PM
M
metalruch1 Offline
Angler
Angler
M