Print Thread
Fly Reels #13160788 05/20/19 08:03 PM
D
DLALLDER Online Content OP
Extreme Angler
OP Online Content
Extreme Angler
D
I am looking for a new fly reel for a 10 ft 4 wt TFO rod. I am a novice at fly fishing so I can use all the help possible. Give me some suggestions, please. Not want the least expensive and certainly not the top of the totem pole, upper mid range, I think.

Re: Fly Reels [Re: DLALLDER] #13160962 05/20/19 11:07 PM
T
Turf Dawg Offline
Extreme Angler
Extreme Angler
T
Lamson makes some nice mid priced reels. The Remix has a machined frame and cast spool. Sierra Trading Post has some good deals on reels also. With the 10' rod I would go with at least a size 5/6 with decent weight to help balance that rod. Maybe even a 7/8 if it's pretty tip heavy

Last edited by Turf Dawg; 05/21/19 12:02 AM.

Turf Dawg Landscaping
Texas Licensed Irrigator
LI 0020041
Commercial Pesticide Applicator for Turf and Ornamental, Pasture & Rangelands and Right-of-Way
Texas Dept of Agriculture license #0525163
Re: Fly Reels [Re: DLALLDER] #13161000 05/20/19 11:50 PM
B
Bruce Mc Offline
Outdoorsman
Outdoorsman
B
An Orvis Hydros SL is likely the best reel made for less than $300 and better than a bunch that are more.

"Garg 'nuair dh�isgear"
Re: Fly Reels [Re: DLALLDER] #13161061 05/21/19 12:40 AM
B
BoPro Offline
Angler
Angler
B
I love my Galvan Brookie, but also fished with Redington Zero and Orvis Battenkills in the lower price spectrum for click and pawl reels. All have served me well in the 4wt class.

Re: Fly Reels [Re: DLALLDER] #13161821 05/21/19 05:46 PM
M
McKinneyLonghorn Offline
Extreme Angler
Extreme Angler
M
There have been some good suggestions on this thread. All most freshwater fly reels are is a place to store line so just find a reel in your price range that you like the looks of and be done with it. Chances are the last time you will see the backing on your reel is the day you put it on the reel.

Re: Fly Reels [Re: DLALLDER] #13161840 05/21/19 05:57 PM