Vice?? #12800285 06/21/18 01:39 PM
F
Fly Fishing Scout Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
F
Good morning TFF!!!

To all my facetious fly fishing friends out there, I have a question. (Yes you can run and duck for cover now... LOL)

I am new to fly tying. However, due to my historical reenactment background in the fur trade era, I have all sorts of goodies. Deer, elk, black bear, fox, badger, and cow hair. All sorts of feathers and I have chickens and ducks on my property.

Yes, I realize I am going to have to purchase some craft items. But I do have a nice starting platform.

With the help of Mr Jerry from the Cabelas in Allen, (awesome gent BTW,) I picked up a Gunnison tool kit and a Cabelas ceramic bobbin. I also picked up a bottle of glue and a couple bobbins of thread. What I dont have is a vice for tying flies. (For those who are paying attention, yes, I have lots of hooks...)

I was pondering the Super vice II at Cabelas. Thoughts, comments, squirrels. LOL.

Tight lines.

Duane.

(Useless information. A group of squirrels is called a dray.)

Texas Mason, Bells Lodge 798.
To be one, ask one.
Re: Vice?? [Re: Fly Fishing Scout] #12800309 06/21/18 01:52 PM
R
RexW Offline
TFF Team Angler
TFF Team Angler
R
Wow Duane, you've learned quickly which fly fishing related questions will generate a lot of differing opinions. roflmao

Generally, this question generates a lot of passionate responses. The most common answer to which vise to get is usually whatever vise the person responding currently owns. People tend to be very proud of their favorite brand.