texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
secolvin19, saltyg63, Crobi2001, BrazosMac, Redstratos295xl
109262 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 90,105
hopalong 78,911
Pilothawk 77,502
John175® 69,816
JDavis7873® 67,393
Derek 🐝 61,662
Tritonman 58,389
LoneStarSon® 54,811
Mark Perry 54,738
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums60
Topics776,914
Posts12,997,267
Members109,262
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Lowrance Structurescan module - power problem UGH!! #12861091
08/11/18 06:05 PM
08/11/18 06:05 PM
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 36
R
rookyboy Online content OP
Outdoorsman
rookyboy  Online Content OP
Outdoorsman
R

Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 36
The power on my Sctructurescan module box with not stay on!

I took the box out of the boat and into the shop so I can work with it better. I have the black and red wires hooked up properly to the battery. Whenever I touch the yellow wire to the positive terminal on the battery the power light on the module blinks one time, but will not stay on. It just blinks every time a touch the yellow wire to the positive terminal.

Any ideas?

Appreciate any suggestions you might have! Thanks!

Last edited by rookyboy; 08/17/18 12:25 AM.
Re: Lowrance Structurescan module - power problem [Re: rookyboy] #12861117
08/11/18 06:49 PM
08/11/18 06:49 PM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,547
Farmers Branch/Sulphur Bluff
B
bronco71 Offline
Extreme Angler
bronco71  Offline
Extreme Angler
B

Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,547
Farmers Branch/Sulphur Bluff
not an expert but I thought that the yellow wire should only hook up to yellow wires of the other units to wake everything up when one of them is turned on, not to power?

Re: Lowrance Structurescan module - power problem [Re: bronco71] #12861135
08/11/18 07:39 PM
08/11/18 07:39 PM
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 36
R
rookyboy Online content OP
Outdoorsman
rookyboy  Online Content OP
Outdoorsman
R

Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 36
Originally Posted By: bronco71
not an expert but I thought that the yellow wire should only hook up to yellow wires of the other units to wake everything up when one of them is turned on, not to power?


you're right, and that's the way i had it hooked up in the boat. i just took it out of the boat to check to see why its not staying on. i just hooked the yellow wire to the positive lead on the battery just to test it. every time i touch the yellow wire to the positive lead the power light will blink on just one time. very strange.

just hope that its not the actual module itself! thx

Re: Lowrance Structurescan module - power problem [Re: rookyboy] #12861682
08/12/18 01:42 PM
08/12/18 01:42 PM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 7,328
Boerne, Texas
G
grout-scout Online content
TFF Celebrity
grout-scout  Online Content
TFF Celebrity
G

Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 7,328
Boerne, Texas
Stupid question, did you check the fuse on the red power cable?

Re: Lowrance Structurescan module - power problem [Re: grout-scout] #12862505
08/13/18 10:29 AM
08/13/18 10:29 AM
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 36
R
rookyboy Online content OP
Outdoorsman
rookyboy  Online Content OP
Outdoorsman
R

Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 36
Originally Posted By: grout-scout
Stupid question, did you check the fuse on the red power cable?


if you knew me, you know this isn't a stupid question! roflmao yes the fuse it okay

i had the module and depth finder connected together originally and the depth finder powered up and worked fine. this is very strange to me.

continuity in power cable is fine. to see if the module is powering up at all, i attached the black and red wires to the battery (which reads 13.79 volts). then whenever i touch the yellow wire to the positive terminal the power light on the module will blink one time. i tried to hold the yellow wire on the terminal and still only one blink as soon as i touch the wire to the terminal. when i move the yellow wire on and off the positive terminal, the power light on the module will blink only 1 time each time i touch the yellow wire to the positive terminal.

i've exhausted all i know to do on this one and i haven't a clue!

hoping somebody out there has had a similar experience and can provide me with a successful solution!

thanks again for your help!

Re: Lowrance Structurescan module - power problem [Re: rookyboy] #12862510
08/13/18 10:51 AM
08/13/18 10:51 AM
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,738
Yantis, TX
Gamblinman Offline
TFF Team Angler
Gamblinman  Offline
TFF Team Angler

Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,738
Yantis, TX
I'd give Lowrance a call and see if they have any idea. I have not experienced this exact scenario before.

Re: Lowrance Structurescan module - power problem [Re: rookyboy] #12863578
08/14/18 02:34 AM
08/14/18 02:34 AM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 7,328
Boerne, Texas
G
grout-scout Online content
TFF Celebrity
grout-scout  Online Content
TFF Celebrity
G

Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 7,328
Boerne, Texas
Rook, where do you live? City, I don’t need the address. If you’re close, I have a box you can try.

Re: Lowrance Structurescan module - power problem [Re: rookyboy] #12864973
08/15/18 03:37 PM
08/15/18 03:37 PM
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 508
Ft Wth
M
MAK747 Online content
Pro Angler
MAK747  Online Content
Pro Angler
M

Joined: May 2009
Posts: 508
Ft Wth
The way you are testing it is valid. With the red wire connected to +12v and black wire connected to ground, when you apply +12V to the yellow wire the module should power up and stay on. Sorry to say, but I bet the module has gone out. May want to check all of the ports just to make sure there are no bent pins or water in them possibly causing a short, but other than that, trying a different module is the only other suggestion I can think of.

Last edited by MAK747; 08/15/18 03:40 PM.
Re: Lowrance Structurescan module - power problem [Re: rookyboy] #12866743
08/16/18 11:04 PM
08/16/18 11:04 PM
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 36
R
rookyboy Online content OP
Outdoorsman
rookyboy  Online Content OP
Outdoorsman
R

Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 36
Great input on this forum!

Thanks for all the suggestions and offering (grout-scout thumb) to let me try another box!

I'm pretty sure its the module, so I just went ahead and bought another used module. I just got the other module today, so as soon as it cools down a bit I'm heading out to give it a go!

This time, I'm hoping for more success!

Wish me luck!

Thanks again for all the suggestions!

Re: Lowrance Structurescan module - power problem [Re: rookyboy] #12866843
08/17/18 12:22 AM
08/17/18 12:22 AM
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 36
R
rookyboy Online content OP
Outdoorsman
rookyboy  Online Content OP
Outdoorsman
R

Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 36
Just got a different ScructureScan HD module and the exact same thing is happening! bang bang bang

I'm just testing to see if the module is powering up properly, so I attached the black (- neg) and red (+ pos) wires to the battery (which reads 13.79 volts).

Then whenever I touch the yellow wire to the positive terminal the power light on the module will blink one time.

I tried to hold the yellow wire on the terminal and still only one blink as soon as I touch the wire to the positive terminal.

When I move the yellow wire on and off the positive terminal, the power light on the module will blink only 1 time each time I touch the yellow wire to the positive terminal.

Continuity in power cable is fine.

Keep in mind that I'm just testing the module before I actually install it properly.

Anyone have any suggestions as to what I should do now, or what I'm doing wrong????

Re: Lowrance Structurescan module - power problem [Re: rookyboy] #12866925
08/17/18 01:34 AM
08/17/18 01:34 AM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,267
Tulsa, OK
Jason Gilstrap Offline
Mr. Lowrance
Jason Gilstrap  Offline
Mr. Lowrance

Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,267
Tulsa, OK
answer your post on BBC


Jason Gilstrap LOWRANCE PRO STAFF / Get A Limit Outdoors www.getalimitoutdoors.com
Re: Lowrance Structurescan module - power problem [Re: rookyboy] #12869885
08/20/18 11:37 AM
08/20/18 11:37 AM
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 36
R
rookyboy Online content OP
Outdoorsman
rookyboy  Online Content OP
Outdoorsman
R

Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 36
got it working with new power cord

Re: Lowrance Structurescan module - power problem [Re: rookyboy] #12874845
08/24/18 02:07 AM
08/24/18 02:07 AM
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 776
hubbard
D
dobbin Offline
Pro Angler
dobbin  Offline
Pro Angler
D

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 776
hubbard
Where did you get a new power cord? I looked every where and told they were too old and did not make them anymore. Lowarance help line is where I was told it was too old and out of production.


te
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 1998-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
UBB.threads™ 7.6.2