texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
East Texas Angler 73, JBM81, NTX-FISHon, scott100, Monty97
109279 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 90,116
hopalong 78,911
Pilothawk 77,540
John175ģ 69,846
JDavis7873ģ 67,393
Derek 🐝 61,685
Tritonman 58,396
LoneStarSonģ 54,816
Mark Perry 54,799
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums60
Topics777,221
Posts13,001,565
Members109,279
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
New guy with question on linking two sonars #12854168
08/05/18 02:22 PM
08/05/18 02:22 PM
Joined: Aug 2018
Posts: 92
Dwight Hardy Online content OP
Outdoorsman
Dwight Hardy  Online Content OP
Outdoorsman

Joined: Aug 2018
Posts: 92
Like I mentioned Iím new here and glad I found the site.
Lots of good info.

I have been running a Lowrance HD5 Gen2 for several years and up until I retired it has done well for me.
Got more this to fish now and am upgrading to a Carbon 9 on the console and a Carbon 7 on at the front.

Question is what do I need to link the two together so I can see the same information on both?
Lowrance has a NMEA 2000 starter kit. Will that work or is there something else that I need.

While Iím asking I am also wondering if I put a sonar only transducer on the TMotor to the C7 can I isolate the sonar/chirp reading from the C9 and still be able to see the side and DownScan info.

Any help and info is muchly appreciated.

Thanks
Dwight

Re: New guy with question on linking two sonars [Re: Dwight Hardy] #12854262
08/05/18 04:06 PM
08/05/18 04:06 PM
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 508
Ft Wth
M
MAK747 Offline
Pro Angler
MAK747  Offline
Pro Angler
M

Joined: May 2009
Posts: 508
Ft Wth
Link them with an Ethernet cable and you can share map cards, 2D sonar and StructureScan and have full waypoint syncing. No need for NMEA unless you want to utilize some type of external NMEA device such as a Point-1 GPS antenna/Heading sensor.

For your second question, if I am understanding you correctly, then the answer is yes.

Re: New guy with question on linking two sonars [Re: Dwight Hardy] #12854269
08/05/18 04:13 PM
08/05/18 04:13 PM
Joined: Aug 2018
Posts: 92
Dwight Hardy Online content OP
Outdoorsman
Dwight Hardy  Online Content OP
Outdoorsman

Joined: Aug 2018
Posts: 92
Thanks MAK747
I was hopping I could link them simply.
Dwight

Re: New guy with question on linking two sonars [Re: Dwight Hardy] #12854411
08/05/18 07:13 PM
08/05/18 07:13 PM
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 2,708
Beckville, TX
B
bush hog Offline
Extreme Angler
bush hog  Offline
Extreme Angler
B

Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 2,708
Beckville, TX
I have mine rigged like what you are describing. You just have to remember that when you're watching s/scan or d/scan on the front unit that the transducer is 20ft. behind you. Can make a lot of difference crappie fishing.

Re: New guy with question on linking two sonars [Re: bush hog] #12854506
08/05/18 09:21 PM
08/05/18 09:21 PM
Joined: Aug 2018
Posts: 92
Dwight Hardy Online content OP
Outdoorsman
Dwight Hardy  Online Content OP
Outdoorsman

Joined: Aug 2018
Posts: 92
Originally Posted By: bush hog
I have mine rigged like what you are describing. You just have to remember that when you're watching s/scan or d/scan on the front unit that the transducer is 20ft. behind you. Can make a lot of difference crappie fishing.



Yes sir. I had thought of that.
Thanks

Re: New guy with question on linking two sonars [Re: Dwight Hardy] #12855354
08/06/18 06:54 PM
08/06/18 06:54 PM
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 508
Ft Wth
M
MAK747 Offline
Pro Angler
MAK747  Offline
Pro Angler
M

Joined: May 2009
Posts: 508
Ft Wth
You may want to consider getting an HDI transducer for the trolling motor. That way you can have 2D and Downscan readings taken from the front of the boat.

https://www.amazon.com/Lowrance-000-1097...ds=lowrance+hdi

Search around and you may be able to find it at a better price than in the link.

Re: New guy with question on linking two sonars [Re: Dwight Hardy] #12857291
08/08/18 12:37 PM
08/08/18 12:37 PM
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 451
Austin
S
Skunked Again Fishing Online content
Angler
Skunked Again Fishing  Online Content
Angler
S

Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 451
Austin
I believe the nmea allows sharing of sonar imagery, but with gen2 and carbon, you may only be able to see the 2d and not all the other screens. I hook both networks on my gen3, which is dumb. They should have one network to do it all.
Tim


One 10-pounder is better than ten 1-pounders
YouTube Channel: www.youtube.com/SkunkedAgain
Re: New guy with question on linking two sonars [Re: MAK747] #12857473
08/08/18 02:37 PM
08/08/18 02:37 PM
Joined: Aug 2018
Posts: 92
Dwight Hardy Online content OP
Outdoorsman
Dwight Hardy  Online Content OP
Outdoorsman

Joined: Aug 2018
Posts: 92
Originally Posted By: MAK747
You may want to consider getting an HDI transducer for the trolling motor. That way you can have 2D and Downscan readings taken from the front of the boat.

https://www.amazon.com/Lowrance-000-1097...ds=lowrance+hdi

Search around and you may be able to find it at a better price than in the link.



I have the Structure Scan for the trolling motor but not sure itís the best thing to use or should I be looking at something different

Thanks guys

Re: New guy with question on linking two sonars [Re: Skunked Again Fishing] #12857883
08/08/18 07:27 PM
08/08/18 07:27 PM
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 508
Ft Wth
M
MAK747 Offline
Pro Angler
MAK747  Offline
Pro Angler
M

Joined: May 2009
Posts: 508
Ft Wth
Originally Posted By: Skunked Again Fishing
I believe the nmea allows sharing of sonar imagery, but with gen2 and carbon, you may only be able to see the 2d and not all the other screens. I hook both networks on my gen3, which is dumb. They should have one network to do it all.
Tim


Transducer/sonar sharing is done through the Ethernet cable, NMEA will not allow this. Sharing map cards, 2D sonar and StructureScan as well as full waypoint syncing are all done through the Ethernet network.

Re: New guy with question on linking two sonars [Re: Dwight Hardy] #12857885
08/08/18 07:29 PM
08/08/18 07:29 PM
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 508
Ft Wth
M
MAK747 Offline
Pro Angler
MAK747  Offline
Pro Angler
M

Joined: May 2009
Posts: 508
Ft Wth
Originally Posted By: Dwight Hardy
Originally Posted By: MAK747
You may want to consider getting an HDI transducer for the trolling motor. That way you can have 2D and Downscan readings taken from the front of the boat.

https://www.amazon.com/Lowrance-000-1097...ds=lowrance+hdi

Search around and you may be able to find it at a better price than in the link.



I have the Structure Scan for the trolling motor but not sure itís the best thing to use or should I be looking at something different

Thanks guys


What transducer? If it will fit then use it, as in addition to the 2D and Downscan the HDI transducer would give you you will also have Sidescan.

Last edited by MAK747; 08/08/18 07:30 PM.
Re: New guy with question on linking two sonars [Re: MAK747] #12858372
08/09/18 02:50 AM
08/09/18 02:50 AM
Joined: Aug 2018
Posts: 92
Dwight Hardy Online content OP
Outdoorsman
Dwight Hardy  Online Content OP
Outdoorsman

Joined: Aug 2018
Posts: 92
Well I scored that up.
Itís not the Structure scan but the Totalscan.

Re: New guy with question on linking two sonars [Re: Dwight Hardy] #12859985
08/10/18 02:48 PM
08/10/18 02:48 PM
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 508
Ft Wth
M
MAK747 Offline
Pro Angler
MAK747  Offline
Pro Angler
M

Joined: May 2009
Posts: 508
Ft Wth
Totalscan transducer will give you 2D, Side and Downscan. If it will fit on your trolling motor, then that is a great option for up front. The size of the transducer can be a problem on some motors.

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 1998-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
UBB.threads™ 7.6.2