texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
scott100, Monty97, MiggyFishing, PierceBull12, Hawk1997
109276 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 90,112
hopalong 78,911
Pilothawk 77,534
John175ģ 69,831
JDavis7873ģ 67,393
Derek 🐝 61,676
Tritonman 58,395
LoneStarSonģ 54,816
Mark Perry 54,792
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums60
Topics777,155
Posts13,000,567
Members109,276
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
HDS 12 Gen 3 Issues, need help #12775418
05/31/18 03:31 PM
05/31/18 03:31 PM
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,579
Justin, Texas
Justin DuBose Offline OP
Extreme Angler
Justin DuBose  Offline OP
Extreme Angler

Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,579
Justin, Texas
I need some help figuring out whats going wrong with my units. My HDS 12 at the console will not update with a sd card or by wireless. My 12 on the front, 2d sonar keeps going on and off. I need a Lowrance Guru.

Bass Fishing Ad
Re: HDS 12 Gen 3 Issues, need help [Re: Justin DuBose] #12775710
05/31/18 07:17 PM
05/31/18 07:17 PM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 7,334
Boerne, Texas
G
grout-scout Online content
TFF Celebrity
grout-scout  Online Content
TFF Celebrity
G

Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 7,334
Boerne, Texas
If your gen3 has the original software version there was a glitch in it that required a sd card update, it would not update via WiFi. So most likely thatís your problem.


Second question is kind of vague. Did you select the right transducer in the installation menu? Tell more about it, which transducer is it and describe whatís happening.

Re: HDS 12 Gen 3 Issues, need help [Re: Justin DuBose] #12775745
05/31/18 07:59 PM
05/31/18 07:59 PM
Joined: Feb 2017
Posts: 74
Arp, Texas Lake Tyler
L
LakeTylerMan Offline
Outdoorsman
LakeTylerMan  Offline
Outdoorsman
L

Joined: Feb 2017
Posts: 74
Arp, Texas Lake Tyler
Are you talking about updating the software? I can't help with wireless but it is pretty straightforward to load update via a micro SD card. That is what the previous poster suggests and that is what I'd do. I've done it numerous times with no problem. Stick the micro SD card in the slot then turn the unit on and follow the prompts. You may start by turning the unit on and verifying what your software version is. Turn off. Insert the card with update and turn on the unit. The unit will prompt for the rest.

Re: HDS 12 Gen 3 Issues, need help [Re: Justin DuBose] #12775749
05/31/18 08:01 PM
05/31/18 08:01 PM
Joined: Feb 2017
Posts: 74
Arp, Texas Lake Tyler
L
LakeTylerMan Offline
Outdoorsman
LakeTylerMan  Offline
Outdoorsman
L

Joined: Feb 2017
Posts: 74
Arp, Texas Lake Tyler
And make sure you do the update entirely before turning off the unit. If you interrupt the process Lowrance warns you have to send the units back to straighten out.

Re: HDS 12 Gen 3 Issues, need help [Re: Justin DuBose] #12775944
05/31/18 11:12 PM
05/31/18 11:12 PM
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 4,540
nederland, TX
T
the skipper Offline
TFF Team Angler
the skipper  Offline
TFF Team Angler
T

Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 4,540
nederland, TX
Save all settings and waypoints etc to a card and do a hard reset on both units. Then try to do the update before loading anything back on them. Reset again once the update finishes

Re: HDS 12 Gen 3 Issues, need help [Re: Justin DuBose] #12776298
06/01/18 11:31 AM
06/01/18 11:31 AM
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,955
Kissimmee FL
Atta Offline
Extreme Angler
Atta  Offline
Extreme Angler

Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,955
Kissimmee FL
Make sure you are using a 4-8gb SD card. Same problem with my 12ís. Would work over WiFi even with an card in the unit. Bought 2 8gb downloaded the update and it worked perfectly.

2d turning off is probably because it is linked to the dash or the transducer settings. Select the correct xducer your using and go into device settings. Put your sonars for both units on local. This will keep it from switching secures between units. That one frustrated me for a long time.

Settings, network, data sources. Here you can change where the graph gets it info from. I have everything on local for each unit.


Pro Staff:
[Duckett Fishing][WOO! Tungsten][T-H Marine][Peregrine 250]
[BD Baits][Castaic]
Field Staff:
[Liquid Mayhem]
Re: HDS 12 Gen 3 Issues, need help [Re: Justin DuBose] #12776651
06/01/18 04:32 PM
06/01/18 04:32 PM
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,579
Justin, Texas
Justin DuBose Offline OP
Extreme Angler
Justin DuBose  Offline OP
Extreme Angler

Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,579
Justin, Texas
I'm going to dedicate the whole day on Monday to figuring out what i'm doing wrong or what the issues are with my graphs. I will try to get customer service to help me while i'm attempting to fish the issues. I've always been a humminbird guy so these lowrances are like learning a new language.

Re: HDS 12 Gen 3 Issues, need help [Re: Justin DuBose] #12777028
06/01/18 09:59 PM
06/01/18 09:59 PM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 7,334
Boerne, Texas
G
grout-scout Online content
TFF Celebrity
grout-scout  Online Content
TFF Celebrity
G

Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 7,334
Boerne, Texas
Well start by updating with a SD card before you waste too much time. The rest is in the settings.

Re: HDS 12 Gen 3 Issues, need help [Re: Justin DuBose] #12780469
06/05/18 02:52 AM
06/05/18 02:52 AM
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,579
Justin, Texas
Justin DuBose Offline OP
Extreme Angler
Justin DuBose  Offline OP
Extreme Angler

Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,579
Justin, Texas
I got everything updated and working! Was on hold with Lowrance for and hour before I spoke with anyone, then it took another hour to fix my issues. It turns out, you canít use anything bigger than a 32gb SD card, I was using a 64. I bought the HDI transducer and installed it today, something is wrong with the build in transducer on my fortrex. The new fish reveal looks great and works great!

Re: HDS 12 Gen 3 Issues, need help [Re: Justin DuBose] #12780520
06/05/18 03:21 AM
06/05/18 03:21 AM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 1,875
San Marcos, TX
L
leethefishking Offline
Extreme Angler
leethefishking  Offline
Extreme Angler
L

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 1,875
San Marcos, TX
How hard is it to turn fish reveal off when you just want regular structure scan.

Re: HDS 12 Gen 3 Issues, need help [Re: leethefishking] #12780524
06/05/18 03:26 AM
06/05/18 03:26 AM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 7,334
Boerne, Texas
G
grout-scout Online content
TFF Celebrity
grout-scout  Online Content
TFF Celebrity
G

Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 7,334
Boerne, Texas
Originally Posted By: leethefishking
How hard is it to turn fish reveal off when you just want regular structure scan.


Itís a menu button, about as easy as it can get.

Re: HDS 12 Gen 3 Issues, need help [Re: Justin DuBose] #12782850
06/06/18 07:45 PM
06/06/18 07:45 PM
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 449
Austin
S
Skunked Again Fishing Offline
Angler
Skunked Again Fishing  Offline
Angler
S

Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 449
Austin
Originally Posted By: Justin DuBose
I got everything updated and working! Was on hold with Lowrance for and hour before I spoke with anyone, then it took another hour to fix my issues. It turns out, you canít use anything bigger than a 32gb SD card, I was using a 64. I bought the HDI transducer and installed it today, something is wrong with the build in transducer on my fortrex. The new fish reveal looks great and works great!

I had a ton of issues early on, kept downgrading my SD card from 128-64-32GB before it worked properly. But I don't think Lowrance tells you that in the specs anywhere that's easy to locate.


One 10-pounder is better than ten 1-pounders
YouTube Channel: www.youtube.com/SkunkedAgain
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 1998-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
UBB.threads™ 7.6.2