texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Serang, samhan, mistermike650, Buster_Brown, gofish42189
109286 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 90,121
hopalong 78,912
Pilothawk 77,543
John175® 69,852
JDavis7873® 67,393
Derek 🐝 61,690
Tritonman 58,396
LoneStarSon® 54,816
Mark Perry 54,805
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums60
Topics777,296
Posts13,002,423
Members109,286
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Black screen on Helix 9 #12773651
05/30/18 02:12 AM
05/30/18 02:12 AM
Joined: Oct 2017
Posts: 9
D
Decaturhammer Offline OP
Green Horn
Decaturhammer  Offline OP
Green Horn
D

Joined: Oct 2017
Posts: 9
Tried to update my Helix 9 Mega G2 for the first time. Inserted SD card for the update. Screen clicked and went black. Buttons still light up so power works. Just non responsive black screen. Disconnected unit from power from power and tried to restart. Again, buttons light up by screen stays dead and black. Any ideas?

Bass Fishing Ad
Re: Black screen on Helix 9 [Re: Decaturhammer] #12773761
05/30/18 05:16 AM
05/30/18 05:16 AM
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 3,643
Arlington
B
Bobby Milam Offline
TFF Team Angler
Bobby Milam  Offline
TFF Team Angler
B

Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 3,643
Arlington
post in the general equipment section and Wayne will be along shortly and can probably help you out. I'd try to load an older update into it and see what happens. Not sure if you can or if restoring to factory settings would remove the update that you tried to install. Call their tech support in the morning.

Re: Black screen on Helix 9 [Re: Decaturhammer] #12773827
05/30/18 11:44 AM
05/30/18 11:44 AM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 17,224
Dallas, TX
C
collincountytx Online content
TFF Guru
collincountytx  Online Content
TFF Guru
C

Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 17,224
Dallas, TX
I believe you have to see the screen (run through menu options) to select factory reset.

Did you back up your waypoints/trails/etc before you inserted the update SD card? On Humminbird PC?

If yes, I'd power down the unit, go to the store and purchase a new SD card, make a new update SD card and try to load it.

SD cards can get corrupted, so to be safe, I'd either throw away the old one, or do a complete format of it to be used later.


[Linked Image]
The Longhorns are back
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 1998-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
UBB.threads™ 7.6.2