texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Kingnutin, elisepeda, 603bass, MDWesttex, fatdad74
109175 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 89,996
hopalong 78,901
Pilothawk 77,367
John175® 69,686
JDavis7873® 67,392
Derek 🐝 61,601
Tritonman 58,356
LoneStarSon® 54,782
Mark Perry 54,421
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums60
Topics775,253
Posts12,974,779
Members109,175
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
I cut my transducer wire #12698797
04/01/18 07:54 PM
04/01/18 07:54 PM
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 675
Snyder, TX
S
sprigsss Offline OP
Pro Angler
sprigsss  Offline OP
Pro Angler
S

Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 675
Snyder, TX
Booked a trip with Slade and almost immediately he noticed my transducer was going out. Thankfully I had an extra one in the boat. We plugged it in and held the transducer over the side of the boat. Wow what a difference. Then Slade dialed everything in and images were awesome.

So as soon as we get back to the room I removed the old transducer and we start pulling wires. Figured I didn’t need the old transducer and wire so I cut the ends off so it would be easier to pull wires. I noticed there were 2 cables on old plug and only 1 on new plug. Just figured it was different transducer. Long story short cut wires again behind Y connector and then immediately realized what I done. Everything worked when we plugged in new transducer, but we didn’t get on step so that the thru Hull transducer could take over.

Verified the next day I have no sonar when on plane.

So I was stupid. I’m in a center console and I’m sure that thru-hull transducer is buried beneath my console. Probably won’t be easy to change.

Is it possible to splice another plug on the end of the transducer wire, or will I have to replace transducer?

Re: I cut my transducer wire [Re: sprigsss] #12698849
04/01/18 08:29 PM
04/01/18 08:29 PM
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 989
Waco, TX
J
javelin150 Offline
Pro Angler
javelin150  Offline
Pro Angler
J

Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 989
Waco, TX
Replace it. Probably located in the bilge area with your pumps and batteries.

Re: I cut my transducer wire [Re: sprigsss] #12701098
04/03/18 09:42 AM
04/03/18 09:42 AM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,336
Melissa, TX, USA
BigDad Offline
Extreme Angler
BigDad  Offline
Extreme Angler

Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,336
Melissa, TX, USA


Joe
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 1998-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
UBB.threads™ 7.6.2