texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Serang, samhan, mistermike650, Buster_Brown, gofish42189
109286 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 90,121
hopalong 78,912
Pilothawk 77,543
John175® 69,852
JDavis7873® 67,393
Derek 🐝 61,690
Tritonman 58,396
LoneStarSon® 54,816
Mark Perry 54,805
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums60
Topics777,301
Posts13,002,485
Members109,286
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Using a Bobber stop without a bead? #12697609
03/31/18 11:30 PM
03/31/18 11:30 PM
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 181
C
Catfanman Offline OP
Outdoorsman
Catfanman  Offline OP
Outdoorsman
C

Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 181
So y'all think I can get away without a bead if the bobber still stops with the rubber bobber stop ?

Re: Using a Bobber stop without a bead? [Re: Catfanman] #12697631
03/31/18 11:45 PM
03/31/18 11:45 PM
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 7,988
NRH/Fork ! GET THE NET
J
JIM SR. Online sick
TFF Celebrity
JIM SR.  Online Sick
TFF Celebrity
J

Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 7,988
NRH/Fork ! GET THE NET
huh,.. hmmm

Re: Using a Bobber stop without a bead? [Re: JIM SR.] #12697634
03/31/18 11:52 PM
03/31/18 11:52 PM
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 181
C
Catfanman Offline OP
Outdoorsman
Catfanman  Offline OP
Outdoorsman
C

Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 181
What I'm trying to ask is there another reason to add a bead underneath the bobber stop if the bobber I have has a small enough hole so therefore the bobber stop won't slide through

Re: Using a Bobber stop without a bead? [Re: Catfanman] #12697654
04/01/18 12:07 AM
04/01/18 12:07 AM
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 336
Avery, TX
C
CRAPPIEboy33 Offline
Angler
CRAPPIEboy33  Offline
Angler
C

Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 336
Avery, TX
I’ve done it before no problems. I prefer a bead but them things are hard to keep up with. So I’ve fished quite a bit without one.


Re: Using a Bobber stop without a bead? [Re: Catfanman] #12697709
04/01/18 12:54 AM
04/01/18 12:54 AM
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 6,615
Grandview, TX
C
crapicat Offline
TFF Celebrity
crapicat  Offline
TFF Celebrity
C

Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 6,615
Grandview, TX
You can, but make sure you have tough line or you risk breaking off occasionally.

Re: Using a Bobber stop without a bead? [Re: Catfanman] #12697806
04/01/18 01:59 AM
04/01/18 01:59 AM
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 2,709
Beckville, TX
B
bush hog Offline
Extreme Angler
bush hog  Offline
Extreme Angler
B

Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 2,709
Beckville, TX
If your using a Thill float the hole is small enough that the bobber stop won't go through it. Actually, I've been putting the bead between the float and the jig to keep the eye of the jig head from hanging inside the bottom of the float.

Re: Using a Bobber stop without a bead? [Re: Catfanman] #12697826
04/01/18 02:12 AM
04/01/18 02:12 AM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 134
Hemphill, Tx
Glenn54 Online content
Outdoorsman
Glenn54  Online Content
Outdoorsman

Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 134
Hemphill, Tx
I tried to get 20# braid/6# diameter through that darn tiny bead and I finally gave up. It was a Thill float.


Glenn
Re: Using a Bobber stop without a bead? [Re: Catfanman] #12697836
04/01/18 02:23 AM
04/01/18 02:23 AM
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 5,836
Over here...
J
Jig Man Online content
TFF Celebrity
Jig Man  Online Content
TFF Celebrity
J

Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 5,836
Over here...
long as your float doesn't hang up on the bobber stop... thumb

Like BH said I have more trouble on the jig end of the line.


Peace can be defined as the absence of envy <><



Re: Using a Bobber stop without a bead? [Re: Catfanman] #12697913
04/01/18 03:18 AM
04/01/18 03:18 AM
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 10,291
Flint/Troup,TX
M
MrRoachie Offline
TFF Guru
MrRoachie  Offline
TFF Guru
M

Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 10,291
Flint/Troup,TX
I don't use a bead if at all possible.

They like to get up between the eyes on the rod and create problems.


God loves you just as much as anybody else!!

Jesus offered His life as a gift for you. Please accept it!
Re: Using a Bobber stop without a bead? [Re: Catfanman] #12697914
04/01/18 03:18 AM
04/01/18 03:18 AM
Joined: Aug 2015
Posts: 2,684
Longview, Tx
P
Pintail711 Offline
Extreme Angler
Pintail711  Offline
Extreme Angler
P

Joined: Aug 2015
Posts: 2,684
Longview, Tx
Yes but eventually, the bobber stop will peg into the top of the float. Academy has beads, of all sizes and it doesn’t matter which size.

Re: Using a Bobber stop without a bead? [Re: Catfanman] #12698299
04/01/18 04:17 PM
04/01/18 04:17 PM
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 156
Austin, TX
TurboDan Offline
Outdoorsman
TurboDan  Offline
Outdoorsman

Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 156
Austin, TX
There is an individual who makes a bobber call Everlasting Slip Bobber that has a glass bead built in. A little pricey, but I have used and like a lot. Use mostly for jigging shallow around shore. Would not use for casting because of price. Goggle it and you will find it online.

Last edited by gazn357; 04/01/18 04:17 PM.

- dan aka "gazn357"


"Life is what you make it. Always has been. Always will be." - Grandma Moses
Re: Using a Bobber stop without a bead? [Re: Pintail711] #12699010
04/02/18 10:45 AM
04/02/18 10:45 AM
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 51
P
pigboy Offline
Outdoorsman
pigboy  Offline
Outdoorsman
P

Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 51
Originally Posted By: Pintail711
Yes but eventually, the bobber stop will peg into the top of the float. Academy has beads, of all sizes and it doesn’t matter which size.
The best place to buy beads is Hobby Lobby and especially with a 40% off coupon.

Re: Using a Bobber stop without a bead? [Re: Catfanman] #12700120
04/02/18 10:06 PM
04/02/18 10:06 PM
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 181
C
Catfanman Offline OP
Outdoorsman
Catfanman  Offline OP
Outdoorsman
C

Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 181
Thanks guys so I took y'alls advice a re rigged it with a bead but didn't add the leader yet and the hook for safety reasons so I'll use this Next time I can go fishing

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 1998-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
UBB.threads™ 7.6.2