texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
CrappieTuna, 93longhorn, RCain001, AquaFinatic, Serang
109290 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 90,124
hopalong 78,912
Pilothawk 77,548
John175® 69,858
JDavis7873® 67,393
Derek 🐝 61,690
Tritonman 58,399
Mark Perry 54,818
LoneStarSon® 54,817
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums60
Topics777,355
Posts13,003,103
Members109,290
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Lowrance Bow and Console not working? #12680022
03/19/18 07:50 PM
03/19/18 07:50 PM
Joined: Aug 2015
Posts: 138
D
Dadsthatlove2fish Offline OP
Outdoorsman
Dadsthatlove2fish  Offline OP
Outdoorsman
D

Joined: Aug 2015
Posts: 138
I was going to go through and rewire everything checked the fuse, still good. I think I need to just rewire everything make everything snug because they both arent working right now. I wanted to know what kind of wires do people use to wire from the unit to the battery. I'm going to get some new fuses as well are the glass fuses better or the Lowrance fuse box they come with good as well. If someone could let me know what wires they use so I can wire this thing up tonight again.


God said to them, “Be fruitful and multiply and fill the earth and subdue it and have dominion over the fish of the sea and over the birds of the heavens and over every living thing that moves on the earth.” Genesis 1:28
Re: Lowrance Bow and Console not working? [Re: Dadsthatlove2fish] #12680169
03/19/18 09:01 PM
03/19/18 09:01 PM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,091
D
Dayne Online content
TFF Team Angler
Dayne  Online Content
TFF Team Angler
D

Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,091
A 16 ga wire will be good enough for no more power than they draw.

Re: Lowrance Bow and Console not working? [Re: Dadsthatlove2fish] #12680207
03/19/18 09:25 PM
03/19/18 09:25 PM
Joined: Aug 2015
Posts: 138
D
Dadsthatlove2fish Offline OP
Outdoorsman
Dadsthatlove2fish  Offline OP
Outdoorsman
D

Joined: Aug 2015
Posts: 138
what fuses to you use to connect to the trolling motor? the standard ones they come with or something different.


God said to them, “Be fruitful and multiply and fill the earth and subdue it and have dominion over the fish of the sea and over the birds of the heavens and over every living thing that moves on the earth.” Genesis 1:28
Re: Lowrance Bow and Console not working? [Re: Dadsthatlove2fish] #12680274
03/19/18 10:18 PM
03/19/18 10:18 PM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,091
D
Dayne Online content
TFF Team Angler
Dayne  Online Content
TFF Team Angler
D

Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,091
I have had units for a very long time and have never had a fuse to blow. It should not matter as long as you go with the same low amp that is in them.

Re: Lowrance Bow and Console not working? [Re: Dadsthatlove2fish] #12683370
03/21/18 10:16 PM
03/21/18 10:16 PM
Joined: Aug 2015
Posts: 138
D
Dadsthatlove2fish Offline OP
Outdoorsman
Dadsthatlove2fish  Offline OP
Outdoorsman
D

Joined: Aug 2015
Posts: 138
I think i figured it out I had a 10amp glass fuse it would stay on for like an hour then blow out, I put a 5 in and it blew out right away. so I went and got some 25 amp glass fuses and am good now I think it was just a low amp fuse so 25s are holding up, is that about the right amp or do you think it will end up hurting the units I have the front and console unit connected together then running to the battery.


God said to them, “Be fruitful and multiply and fill the earth and subdue it and have dominion over the fish of the sea and over the birds of the heavens and over every living thing that moves on the earth.” Genesis 1:28
Re: Lowrance Bow and Console not working? [Re: Dadsthatlove2fish] #12683407
03/21/18 11:01 PM
03/21/18 11:01 PM
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 989
Waco, TX
J
javelin150 Offline
Pro Angler
javelin150  Offline
Pro Angler
J

Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 989
Waco, TX
You need to rewire that setup.

Each graph needs to have its own power cable run to thr battery. Do not tie the graphs together and run one power cable to the battery. Use independent leads for both. You need to be using 12 gauge wire.

Get away from those glass fuses. Depending on which sonar you have, each one needs its own 3 to 5 amp ATC style fuse and fuse holder.

If you wire it this way, you wont have any problems going forward.

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 1998-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
UBB.threads™ 7.6.2