texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
CrappieTuna, 93longhorn, RCain001, AquaFinatic, Serang
109290 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 90,123
hopalong 78,912
Pilothawk 77,545
John175® 69,858
JDavis7873® 67,393
Derek 🐝 61,690
Tritonman 58,399
LoneStarSon® 54,817
Mark Perry 54,809
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums60
Topics777,348
Posts13,003,042
Members109,290
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Lowrance HDS 12 Gen 3 Question #12628631
02/15/18 02:51 AM
02/15/18 02:51 AM
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 56
sparkyorc Offline OP
Outdoorsman
sparkyorc  Offline OP
Outdoorsman

Joined: May 2010
Posts: 56
Can someone please help - just got two new HDS Gen 3 - screen pop ups to download software updates.

Do I need to insert a SD card to download then take the SD card out or leave it in ?

When I load my new Navionics plus chip do I leave it in the unit or take it out ? And do I then insert SD card to download the Lowrance software updates ?

Tried to call Lowrance twice but keep getting message their office is closed —-also checked utube but cant find this specific questions.

What capacity SD card do I need ?

Thanks for any help !

Bass Fishing Ad
Re: Lowrance HDS 12 Gen 3 Question [Re: sparkyorc] #12628710
02/15/18 03:25 AM
02/15/18 03:25 AM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 348
Trophy Club
dlwfish Online content
Angler
dlwfish  Online Content
Angler

Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 348
Trophy Club
Sent you a PM

Re: Lowrance HDS 12 Gen 3 Question [Re: sparkyorc] #12628789
02/15/18 04:02 AM
02/15/18 04:02 AM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 7,334
Boerne, Texas
G
grout-scout Online content
TFF Celebrity
grout-scout  Online Content
TFF Celebrity
G

Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 7,334
Boerne, Texas
If your graph has the original update then you will have to manually install the new update via a sd card. After this first update you can download through WiFi.

Re: Lowrance HDS 12 Gen 3 Question [Re: sparkyorc] #12628835
02/15/18 04:52 AM
02/15/18 04:52 AM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 845
DC
2
21trx Offline
Pro Angler
21trx  Offline
Pro Angler
2

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 845
DC
Just connect your unit to wifi and it will walk you through it

Re: Lowrance HDS 12 Gen 3 Question [Re: sparkyorc] #12629142
02/15/18 02:47 PM
02/15/18 02:47 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 184
Fort Worth, TX
F
Ferrell Offline
Outdoorsman
Ferrell  Offline
Outdoorsman
F

Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 184
Fort Worth, TX
If you are getting a screen popup that new updates are available Im guessing you have your units connected to your wifi? If so you can download and install the update straight from your unit. This does require an SD card to do the update so put a card in with space left to download.
Your Navionics card must be left in the unit.

Re: Lowrance HDS 12 Gen 3 Question [Re: sparkyorc] #12629456
02/15/18 05:33 PM
02/15/18 05:33 PM
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 56
sparkyorc Offline OP
Outdoorsman
sparkyorc  Offline OP
Outdoorsman

Joined: May 2010
Posts: 56
Thanks for advice - going to try it this weekend -

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 1998-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
UBB.threads™ 7.6.2