texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
NTX-FISHon, scott100, Monty97, MiggyFishing, PierceBull12
109277 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 90,112
hopalong 78,911
Pilothawk 77,534
John175® 69,838
JDavis7873® 67,393
Derek 🐝 61,678
Tritonman 58,395
LoneStarSon® 54,816
Mark Perry 54,792
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums60
Topics777,174
Posts13,000,814
Members109,277
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Lowrance HDS 12 Gen 2.... No GPS,,,,Help Needed #12611904
02/05/18 06:11 PM
02/05/18 06:11 PM
Joined: Apr 2015
Posts: 119
Texas
F
FMJag64 Offline OP
Outdoorsman
FMJag64  Offline OP
Outdoorsman
F

Joined: Apr 2015
Posts: 119
Texas
I have a HDS 12 Gen 2 and have had it for a couple of years now with no issues. Randomly over the weekend when i put it on the boat, it started saying No GPS and the GPS never came back on. The Sonar, depth, water temp etc all work fine but not the GPS.

Has anyone had any issues similar to this and have any recommendations? Called Lowrance but since its older than 2 years, not covered by warranty.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Bass Fishing Ad
Re: Lowrance HDS 12 Gen 2.... No GPS,,,,Help Needed [Re: FMJag64] #12611960
02/05/18 06:45 PM
02/05/18 06:45 PM
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,833
Weatherford, TX
C
COHLMEYER Offline
TFF Team Angler
COHLMEYER  Offline
TFF Team Angler
C

Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,833
Weatherford, TX
Yes one of my Gen 2 units has the same issue. The internal module went out a few years ago. Like you mention, everything else on the unit works fine. There are some Calibration settings you can find in the menu. to try to fix it but it’s cumbersome. When I went thru this it sounded like a “known” issue.

Do what I did. Put a Point 1 antennae on it, you’ll never look back. I wanted one anyway, and for 200$ you’ll be back on the water. Was easier than sending it in for service etc. the P1 made the unit Way more accurate!
Just mount it in the correct location or can give you fits.

Re: Lowrance HDS 12 Gen 2.... No GPS,,,,Help Needed [Re: FMJag64] #12612065
02/05/18 07:37 PM
02/05/18 07:37 PM
Joined: Apr 2015
Posts: 119
Texas
F
FMJag64 Offline OP
Outdoorsman
FMJag64  Offline OP
Outdoorsman
F

Joined: Apr 2015
Posts: 119
Texas
Thank you! I will try this. PM sent.

Re: Lowrance HDS 12 Gen 2.... No GPS,,,,Help Needed [Re: FMJag64] #12612076
02/05/18 07:43 PM
02/05/18 07:43 PM
Joined: Apr 2015
Posts: 119
Texas
F
FMJag64 Offline OP
Outdoorsman
FMJag64  Offline OP
Outdoorsman
F

Joined: Apr 2015
Posts: 119
Texas
Question, does that mean it is something specifically with the HDS 12 unit or the boats GPS antennae puck? I ask bc my HDS 9 worked fine and its GPS worked.

Re: Lowrance HDS 12 Gen 2.... No GPS,,,,Help Needed [Re: FMJag64] #12612402
02/05/18 10:38 PM
02/05/18 10:38 PM
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 4,540
nederland, TX
T
the skipper Online content
TFF Team Angler
the skipper  Online Content
TFF Team Angler
T

Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 4,540
nederland, TX
I've read where sometimes the plug inside the unit can come undone. Since its out of warranty your not really hurting anything by opening it up to check. All I know is it's a plug on a wire ribbon that guys were saying you could tell was unplugged

Re: Lowrance HDS 12 Gen 2.... No GPS,,,,Help Needed [Re: FMJag64] #12612447
02/05/18 11:04 PM
02/05/18 11:04 PM
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,119
ft.worth
B.Hollingshead Online content
Extreme Angler
B.Hollingshead  Online Content
Extreme Angler

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,119
ft.worth
Originally Posted By: FMJag64
Question, does that mean it is something specifically with the HDS 12 unit or the boats GPS antennae puck? I ask bc my HDS 9 worked fine and its GPS worked.
if you are saying you have a antenna puck then you have point one, if you don't have one then more then likely it went out internally. Point one is the way to go if you like fishing off shore. You


Branden Hollingshead

32-DD's and counting
Re: Lowrance HDS 12 Gen 2.... No GPS,,,,Help Needed [Re: the skipper] #12612708
02/06/18 02:07 AM
02/06/18 02:07 AM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 7,334
Boerne, Texas
G
grout-scout Offline
TFF Celebrity
grout-scout  Offline
TFF Celebrity
G

Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 7,334
Boerne, Texas
Originally Posted By: the skipper
I've read where sometimes the plug inside the unit can come undone. Since its out of warranty your not really hurting anything by opening it up to check. All I know is it's a plug on a wire ribbon that guys were saying you could tell was unplugged



This seems to have happened quite a bit.

I’d go with a point 1 anyways for the heading sensor in addition to the GPS receiver.

Re: Lowrance HDS 12 Gen 2.... No GPS,,,,Help Needed [Re: FMJag64] #12613141
02/06/18 01:44 PM
02/06/18 01:44 PM
Joined: Apr 2015
Posts: 119
Texas
F
FMJag64 Offline OP
Outdoorsman
FMJag64  Offline OP
Outdoorsman
F

Joined: Apr 2015
Posts: 119
Texas
Thanks for yalls help on this! So my fishing partner also saw online that sometimes its the GPS ribbon inside the unit that comes undone. Since the unit was out of warranty, I opened it up and this was in fact the case. Super easy fix and I am not the computer type at all so anyone should be able to do it. Thanks again

Last edited by FMJag64; 02/06/18 01:45 PM.
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 1998-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
UBB.threads™ 7.6.2