texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Army Flyer, Festus84, Buckyb, Ralphie555, FunNSunTackle
109187 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 90,016
hopalong 78,905
Pilothawk 77,402
John175ģ 69,716
JDavis7873ģ 67,392
Derek 🐝 61,603
Tritonman 58,366
LoneStarSonģ 54,784
Mark Perry 54,469
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums60
Topics775,585
Posts12,978,653
Members109,187
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Ultrex / HDS 8 compatibility question #12605612
02/01/18 07:50 PM
02/01/18 07:50 PM
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 52
Justin, Tx
W
WhereDayBe? Offline OP
Outdoorsman
WhereDayBe?  Offline OP
Outdoorsman
W

Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 52
Justin, Tx
I'm looking into an Ultrex, and I have an HDS8 Gen2 at the bow. Looking at the
US2 cable adapter chart, on the Minn Kota website, and all of the HDS models, except for the 8, show
that there is an adapter cable available for all generations of the model. It shows only the original
HDS 8 as being able to take the MKR-US2-10 adapter cable.
I called MK to verify, and was told that yes, there must be something about the Gen2 and Gen3
that is not compatible with the adapter cable, and thus, the Ultrex.
Please say it isn't so!
Does anyone here run an Ultrex with HDS8 Gen2, or have any information to share?

Re: Ultrex / HDS 8 compatibility question [Re: WhereDayBe?] #12605624
02/01/18 08:00 PM
02/01/18 08:00 PM
Joined: Nov 2016
Posts: 310
East Texas
Outlaw Outdoors Offline
Angler
Outlaw Outdoors  Offline
Angler

Joined: Nov 2016
Posts: 310
East Texas
I assume you understand you're only going to be able to utilize the built in sonar transducer on the Ultrex. With that said, the US2 adapter will work for your HDS8.



Re: Ultrex / HDS 8 compatibility question [Re: Outlaw Outdoors] #12605632
02/01/18 08:05 PM
02/01/18 08:05 PM
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 52
Justin, Tx
W
WhereDayBe? Offline OP
Outdoorsman
WhereDayBe?  Offline OP
Outdoorsman
W

Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 52
Justin, Tx
Yes, Sir. I do get that. Are you speaking from experience regarding specifically the Gen2 model?
Not doubting you at all. In fact, you are getting my hopes back up!
Thanks!

Re: Ultrex / HDS 8 compatibility question [Re: WhereDayBe?] #12605703
02/01/18 08:39 PM
02/01/18 08:39 PM
Joined: May 2014
Posts: 4,499
texas
GIG'EM AGGIES Offline
TFF Team Angler
GIG'EM AGGIES  Offline
TFF Team Angler

Joined: May 2014
Posts: 4,499
texas
Shut-Up-And-Fish in Lewisville has the adapter cable you're looking for. 972-822-9285


I am a Senager. (Senior teenager) I have everything that I wanted as a teenager, only 50 years later. I don't have to go to school or work. I get an allowance every month. I don't have a curfew, I have a drivers license,a PU truck and I have a bass boat.


illegitimi non carborundum
Re: Ultrex / HDS 8 compatibility question [Re: GIG'EM AGGIES] #12605722
02/01/18 08:48 PM
02/01/18 08:48 PM
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 52
Justin, Tx
W
WhereDayBe? Offline OP
Outdoorsman
WhereDayBe?  Offline OP
Outdoorsman
W

Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 52
Justin, Tx
Thank you, Gig'em!

Re: Ultrex / HDS 8 compatibility question [Re: WhereDayBe?] #12605775
02/01/18 09:23 PM
02/01/18 09:23 PM
Joined: May 2014
Posts: 4,499
texas
GIG'EM AGGIES Offline
TFF Team Angler
GIG'EM AGGIES  Offline
TFF Team Angler

Joined: May 2014
Posts: 4,499
texas
Originally Posted By: WhereDayBe?
Thank you, Gig'em!


You are welcome, David is a good dude and is magic with electronics. He's at 985 bus. 121. Ste. 602. Couple miles east of I-35.


I am a Senager. (Senior teenager) I have everything that I wanted as a teenager, only 50 years later. I don't have to go to school or work. I get an allowance every month. I don't have a curfew, I have a drivers license,a PU truck and I have a bass boat.


illegitimi non carborundum
Re: Ultrex / HDS 8 compatibility question [Re: GIG'EM AGGIES] #12605805
02/01/18 09:43 PM
02/01/18 09:43 PM
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 52
Justin, Tx
W
WhereDayBe? Offline OP
Outdoorsman
WhereDayBe?  Offline OP
Outdoorsman
W

Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 52
Justin, Tx
Originally Posted By: GIG'EM AGGIES
Originally Posted By: WhereDayBe?
Thank you, Gig'em!


You are welcome, David is a good dude and is magic with electronics. He's at 985 bus. 121. Ste. 602. Couple miles east of I-35.


Turns out he's only a couple miles from where I work. I'll definitely give him a visit.
Who knows... maybe he'll hook me up an Ultrex as well. I'll tell him you sent me.

Re: Ultrex / HDS 8 compatibility question [Re: WhereDayBe?] #12605819
02/01/18 09:56 PM
02/01/18 09:56 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 8,589
Prosper, TX
Chris B Offline
TFF Celebrity
Chris B  Offline
TFF Celebrity

Joined: May 2003
Posts: 8,589
Prosper, TX
The built in transducer usually are not as good as the factory ones. I'd just mount a Lowrance transducer in a transducer saver mount myself.



I hate photobucket.
Re: Ultrex / HDS 8 compatibility question [Re: WhereDayBe?] #12605822
02/01/18 10:02 PM
02/01/18 10:02 PM
Joined: May 2014
Posts: 4,499
texas
GIG'EM AGGIES Offline
TFF Team Angler
GIG'EM AGGIES  Offline
TFF Team Angler

Joined: May 2014
Posts: 4,499
texas
Originally Posted By: WhereDayBe?
Originally Posted By: GIG'EM AGGIES
Originally Posted By: WhereDayBe?
Thank you, Gig'em!


You are welcome, David is a good dude and is magic with electronics. He's at 985 bus. 121. Ste. 602. Couple miles east of I-35.


Turns out he's only a couple miles from where I work. I'll definitely give him a visit.
Who knows... maybe he'll hook me up an Ultrex as well. I'll tell him you sent me.


He's got'em and will install it for you too. Yeah tell him the guy with the Helix 10 sent you. He set mine up sitting at his desk last Thursday. He's a great teacher of electronics. And the previous poster is correct, the Ultrex transducer is ok but not as good as the Humminbird. David may carry the transducer brackets for the trolling motor, if not you need to order the bracket and shield from Transducer Shield & Saver in Wetumpka Al. They are simply the best.

Last edited by GIG'EM AGGIES; 02/01/18 10:06 PM.

I am a Senager. (Senior teenager) I have everything that I wanted as a teenager, only 50 years later. I don't have to go to school or work. I get an allowance every month. I don't have a curfew, I have a drivers license,a PU truck and I have a bass boat.


illegitimi non carborundum
Re: Ultrex / HDS 8 compatibility question [Re: WhereDayBe?] #12605823
02/01/18 10:02 PM
02/01/18 10:02 PM
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 52
Justin, Tx
W
WhereDayBe? Offline OP
Outdoorsman
WhereDayBe?  Offline OP
Outdoorsman
W

Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 52
Justin, Tx
Originally Posted By: WhereDayBe?
Originally Posted By: GIG'EM AGGIES
Originally Posted By: WhereDayBe?
Thank you, Gig'em!


You are welcome, David is a good dude and is magic with electronics. He's at 985 bus. 121. Ste. 602. Couple miles east of I-35.


Turns out he's only a couple miles from where I work. I'll definitely give him a visit.
Who knows... maybe he'll hook me up an Ultrex as well. I'll tell him you sent me.


Hmmm... was not aware of that. More food for thought.
Thanks.

Re: Ultrex / HDS 8 compatibility question [Re: WhereDayBe?] #12605829
02/01/18 10:05 PM
02/01/18 10:05 PM
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 52
Justin, Tx
W
WhereDayBe? Offline OP
Outdoorsman
WhereDayBe?  Offline OP
Outdoorsman
W

Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 52
Justin, Tx
oops.. meant for Chris B

Re: Ultrex / HDS 8 compatibility question [Re: WhereDayBe?] #12606069
02/02/18 12:34 AM
02/02/18 12:34 AM
Joined: Nov 2016
Posts: 310
East Texas
Outlaw Outdoors Offline
Angler
Outlaw Outdoors  Offline
Angler

Joined: Nov 2016
Posts: 310
East Texas
Originally Posted By: WhereDayBe?
Yes, Sir. I do get that. Are you speaking from experience regarding specifically the Gen2 model?
Not doubting you at all. In fact, you are getting my hopes back up!
Thanks!


Sorta kinda. LOL

I had an HDS8 Gen2 hooked to a Fortrex. I currently have an HDS12 Gen2 hooked to my Ultrex. I know for sure the cable hasnít changed on either of them. So I haven t actually hooked up an HDS8 Gen2 up to an Ultrex, but Iím 99% sure from what I know that itíll work.



Re: Ultrex / HDS 8 compatibility question [Re: Outlaw Outdoors] #12606114
02/02/18 12:57 AM
02/02/18 12:57 AM
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 52
Justin, Tx
W
WhereDayBe? Offline OP
Outdoorsman
WhereDayBe?  Offline OP
Outdoorsman
W

Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 52
Justin, Tx
Originally Posted By: Outlaw Outdoors
Originally Posted By: WhereDayBe?
Yes, Sir. I do get that. Are you speaking from experience regarding specifically the Gen2 model?
Not doubting you at all. In fact, you are getting my hopes back up!
Thanks!


Sorta kinda. LOL

I had an HDS8 Gen2 hooked to a Fortrex. I currently have an HDS12 Gen2 hooked to my Ultrex. I know for sure the cable hasnít changed on either of them. So I haven t actually hooked up an HDS8 Gen2 up to an Ultrex, but Iím 99% sure from what I know that itíll work.


That sounds promising. Are you pleased with the quality of the built in US2?
One response above suggested to consider attaching a Lowrance transducer to the Ultrex for better image quality. I actually have new spare one, but not sure I like the idea of having to externally route the cable up the shaft of the Ultrex.

Re: Ultrex / HDS 8 compatibility question [Re: WhereDayBe?] #12606213
02/02/18 01:41 AM
02/02/18 01:41 AM
Joined: May 2014
Posts: 4,499
texas
GIG'EM AGGIES Offline
TFF Team Angler
GIG'EM AGGIES  Offline
TFF Team Angler

Joined: May 2014
Posts: 4,499
texas
Originally Posted By: WhereDayBe?
Originally Posted By: Outlaw Outdoors
Originally Posted By: WhereDayBe?
Yes, Sir. I do get that. Are you speaking from experience regarding specifically the Gen2 model?
Not doubting you at all. In fact, you are getting my hopes back up!
Thanks!


Sorta kinda. LOL

I had an HDS8 Gen2 hooked to a Fortrex. I currently have an HDS12 Gen2 hooked to my Ultrex. I know for sure the cable hasnít changed on either of them. So I haven t actually hooked up an HDS8 Gen2 up to an Ultrex, but Iím 99% sure from what I know that itíll work.


That sounds promising. Are you pleased with the quality of the built in US2?
One response above suggested to consider attaching a Lowrance transducer to the Ultrex for better image quality. I actually have new spare one, but not sure I like the idea of having to externally route the cable up the shaft of the Ultrex.


WDB, I have a Lowrance up front and have the transducer cable run up the shaft over to and through the bow panel and then to the unit. Not a big deal really and I get a good picture. I would consult with David if you're thinking about using the Ultrex transducer for your Helix. JMO.


I am a Senager. (Senior teenager) I have everything that I wanted as a teenager, only 50 years later. I don't have to go to school or work. I get an allowance every month. I don't have a curfew, I have a drivers license,a PU truck and I have a bass boat.


illegitimi non carborundum
Re: Ultrex / HDS 8 compatibility question [Re: GIG'EM AGGIES] #12606359
02/02/18 02:46 AM
02/02/18 02:46 AM
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 52
Justin, Tx
W
WhereDayBe? Offline OP
Outdoorsman
WhereDayBe?  Offline OP
Outdoorsman
W

Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 52
Justin, Tx
Originally Posted By: GIG'EM AGGIES
Originally Posted By: WhereDayBe?
Originally Posted By: Outlaw Outdoors
Originally Posted By: WhereDayBe?
Yes, Sir. I do get that. Are you speaking from experience regarding specifically the Gen2 model?
Not doubting you at all. In fact, you are getting my hopes back up!
Thanks!


Sorta kinda. LOL

I had an HDS8 Gen2 hooked to a Fortrex. I currently have an HDS12 Gen2 hooked to my Ultrex. I know for sure the cable hasnít changed on either of them. So I haven t actually hooked up an HDS8 Gen2 up to an Ultrex, but Iím 99% sure from what I know that itíll work.


That sounds promising. Are you pleased with the quality of the built in US2?
One response above suggested to consider attaching a Lowrance transducer to the Ultrex for better image quality. I actually have new spare one, but not sure I like the idea of having to externally route the cable up the shaft of the Ultrex.


WDB, I have a Lowrance up front and have the transducer cable run up the shaft over to and through the bow panel and then to the unit. Not a big deal really and I get a good picture. I would consult with David if you're thinking about using the Ultrex transducer for your Helix. JMO.


I have an HDS 8 Gen 2 up front. But do plan on talking with David before doing anything. Still baffled with why the Minn Kota tech told me that their adapter cable will only work with the gen1, and not gen2 or 3. Maybe he was a drinking the job. grin
Is the cable for the built in transducer not concealed inside the shaft? Why did you have to run a cable?
Did you opt to attach a Lowrance transducer rather than use the built in?

Page 1 of 2 1 2
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 1998-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
UBB.threads™ 7.6.2