texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Kingnutin, elisepeda, 603bass, MDWesttex, fatdad74
109175 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 89,999
hopalong 78,902
Pilothawk 77,370
John175 69,689
JDavis7873 67,392
Derek 🐝 61,601
Tritonman 58,356
LoneStarSon 54,782
Mark Perry 54,425
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums60
Topics775,293
Posts12,975,187
Members109,175
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Easy Kayak Transducer Mounting Option #12596174
01/26/18 01:56 PM
01/26/18 01:56 PM
Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 96
1
1Cast 1Fish Offline OP
Outdoorsman
1Cast 1Fish  Offline OP
Outdoorsman
1

Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 96
One of the biggest problems I had when I bought my kayak was where and how to mount a fish finder and transducer in a way that it would not get damaged, would not effect my kayaks handling (over the side), and be easy to remove and reinstall if I wanted. Here is the result...mounting the transducer inside the kayak hull...just like a in hull mount on my boat. I have had fantastic results and could not be happier with the installation.


Re: Easy Kayak Transducer Mounting Option [Re: 1Cast 1Fish] #12596624
01/26/18 07:03 PM
01/26/18 07:03 PM
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 124
D
DNA Offline
Outdoorsman
DNA  Offline
Outdoorsman
D

Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 124
I tried this way which doesn't work for downscan function.

Re: Easy Kayak Transducer Mounting Option [Re: DNA] #12596996
01/26/18 11:39 PM
01/26/18 11:39 PM
Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 96
1
1Cast 1Fish Offline OP
Outdoorsman
1Cast 1Fish  Offline OP
Outdoorsman
1

Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 96
Originally Posted By: DNA
I tried this way which doesn't work for downscan function.


That is correct, side scan will not work with this type of install either.

Re: Easy Kayak Transducer Mounting Option [Re: DNA] #12599496
01/29/18 01:38 AM
01/29/18 01:38 AM
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 589
P
PlanoTom Offline
Pro Angler
PlanoTom  Offline
Pro Angler
P

Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 589
Has anyone had success with sidescan with the transducer attached to an arm hanging over the side?

Re: Easy Kayak Transducer Mounting Option [Re: PlanoTom] #12599805
01/29/18 07:50 AM
01/29/18 07:50 AM
Joined: Mar 2016
Posts: 21
D
DrewTX Offline
Outdoorsman
DrewTX  Offline
Outdoorsman
D

Joined: Mar 2016
Posts: 21
Originally Posted By: PlanoTom
Has anyone had success with sidescan with the transducer attached to an arm hanging over the side?


Curious about this too. Looking at maybe adding a depth finder with sidescan to my kayak soon.

Re: Easy Kayak Transducer Mounting Option [Re: 1Cast 1Fish] #12600002
01/29/18 02:55 PM
01/29/18 02:55 PM
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 1,433
TEXAS
S
stretch Offline
Extreme Angler
stretch  Offline
Extreme Angler
S

Joined: May 2006
Posts: 1,433
TEXAS
My lowrance totalscan hangs over the side and works great. Just pop it in place once on the water, if it were to hit something it just pops loose and no damage to the transducer.





Last edited by stretch; 01/29/18 03:03 PM.
Re: Easy Kayak Transducer Mounting Option [Re: 1Cast 1Fish] #12600036
01/29/18 03:17 PM
01/29/18 03:17 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 16,217
South Texas
Jimbo Online content
TFF Guru
Jimbo  Online Content
TFF Guru

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 16,217
South Texas
Been using the duck seal on my sonar for a couple years now, and got rid of all my hanging over the side transducer mounts.
Quick and easy, and easy to store away and set up.
It's just a shoot through the hull type of mounting, and I don't think it would work for a side scan.


Just one more cast!

Re: Easy Kayak Transducer Mounting Option [Re: 1Cast 1Fish] #12600075
01/29/18 03:52 PM
01/29/18 03:52 PM
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 28,781
Denton County
Dan90210 ☮ Offline
Nonbinary Gender of the Year 2017
Dan90210 ☮  Offline
Nonbinary Gender of the Year 2017

Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 28,781
Denton County
I run mine through a scupper. Works fine and is up out of the way.

The clown at Mariner Sails told me they dont sale the brackets I used bcs they break and are cheap and no one likes to do it that way and blah blah and tried to sell me an arm that goes over the side...for like $125. Funk that.

Been using it through the scupper for 2.5 years no problems.

That said, about mounting, I am running a RayMarine on a Jackson Big Rig. IDK that the transducer for my Lowrance that I use on my bass buster would fit up in there like the RayMarine one does. Its wider and might not fit into that groove like the RM one does... In that case, I would have gone over the side since the DI will not shoot thru the hull.


Originally Posted By: junbengreat
Pulled a gun on his dryer and they caught a bunch of fish.
Re: Easy Kayak Transducer Mounting Option [Re: 1Cast 1Fish] #12600078
01/29/18 03:54 PM
01/29/18 03:54 PM
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 28,781
Denton County
Dan90210 ☮ Offline
Nonbinary Gender of the Year 2017
Dan90210 ☮  Offline
Nonbinary Gender of the Year 2017

Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 28,781
Denton County
Stretch, I like what you did there with the PVC.

If ever comes a time, I might do something like that. But for now I like that its not in my way paddling and cant hit anything as its tucked up into the hull.


Originally Posted By: junbengreat
Pulled a gun on his dryer and they caught a bunch of fish.
Re: Easy Kayak Transducer Mounting Option [Re: Dan90210 ☮] #12600783
01/29/18 09:55 PM
01/29/18 09:55 PM
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 1,433
TEXAS
S
stretch Offline
Extreme Angler
stretch  Offline
Extreme Angler
S

Joined: May 2006
Posts: 1,433
TEXAS
Originally Posted By: Dan90210 ˜
Stretch, I like what you did there with the PVC.

If ever comes a time, I might do something like that. But for now I like that its not in my way paddling and cant hit anything as its tucked up into the hull.


Thanks, I have an older hobie outback 2008 model so it doesn't have the fancy scupper lowrance ready system like the newer ones. This was the best idea I could come up with that was cheap and sturdy. Its ugly but works like a champ, the fish don't seem to mind, lol.

Re: Easy Kayak Transducer Mounting Option [Re: 1Cast 1Fish] #12602166
01/30/18 05:26 PM
01/30/18 05:26 PM
Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 96
1
1Cast 1Fish Offline OP
Outdoorsman
1Cast 1Fish  Offline OP
Outdoorsman
1

Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 96
Do you find that with it mounted over the side it effects the kayak tracking at all?

Re: Easy Kayak Transducer Mounting Option [Re: 1Cast 1Fish] #12603131
01/31/18 02:45 AM
01/31/18 02:45 AM
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 1,433
TEXAS
S
stretch Offline
Extreme Angler
stretch  Offline
Extreme Angler
S

Joined: May 2006
Posts: 1,433
TEXAS
Originally Posted By: 1Cast 1Fish
Do you find that with it mounted over the side it effects the kayak tracking at all?
Nah, I have a stringer full of crappie hanging over the other side to equal it out, lol. Seriously though, I have the upgraded sailing rudder on my hobie so I can't tell a difference.

Re: Easy Kayak Transducer Mounting Option [Re: 1Cast 1Fish] #12603889
01/31/18 05:48 PM
01/31/18 05:48 PM
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,271
Stephenville, TX
R
RealBigReel Online content
Extreme Angler
RealBigReel  Online Content
Extreme Angler
R

Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,271
Stephenville, TX
I have a custom built kayak with Hobie pedals. And I have a Helix 5 with side imaging.
The transducer is installed in a well behind the seat on a swing arm. I have it so that it swings down into position when on the water.
This is what it looks like on top.






This is what it looks like underneath, hanging down with the leading block to prevent damage. Painted the block black later of course removed the protective wrap.



RealBigReel
My kayak STRIPER2. I don't go too fast but I go pretty far.
Re: Easy Kayak Transducer Mounting Option [Re: 1Cast 1Fish] #12605649
02/01/18 08:14 PM
02/01/18 08:14 PM
Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 96
1
1Cast 1Fish Offline OP
Outdoorsman
1Cast 1Fish  Offline OP
Outdoorsman
1

Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 96
That is one nice looking custom job.

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 1998-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
UBB.threads™ 7.6.2