texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
steven5907, Ruark, BaldEagle1988, tuckwat, will_outdoors
109306 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 90,134
hopalong 78,912
Pilothawk 77,554
John175ģ 69,873
JDavis7873ģ 67,393
Derek 🐝 61,694
Tritonman 58,401
Mark Perry 54,848
LoneStarSonģ 54,824
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums60
Topics777,563
Posts13,005,828
Members109,306
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Are you using your Ultrex built in Transducer? #12589793
01/22/18 12:14 PM
01/22/18 12:14 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,941
dallas
J
jbassman Offline OP
Extreme Angler
jbassman  Offline OP
Extreme Angler
J

Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,941
dallas
Or an external one on the trolling motor? Helix 10


lewisandwrightbassfishing.com
Lucas Lures.com
WOO Tungsten
Enigma Pro Staff
Bass Fishing Ad
Re: Are you using your Ultrex built in Transducer? [Re: jbassman] #12589827
01/22/18 12:57 PM
01/22/18 12:57 PM
Joined: Jan 2018
Posts: 542
J
Jeff From Iowa Offline
Pro Angler
Jeff From Iowa  Offline
Pro Angler
J

Joined: Jan 2018
Posts: 542
no I dont use it

the built in one is not going to work for your helix


Last edited by Jeff From Iowa; 01/22/18 01:22 PM.

2017 Phoenix 920
Ex. USAF Sere Instructor
Proud Dad of a Baylor Bear class of 2022
Re: Are you using your Ultrex built in Transducer? [Re: Jeff From Iowa] #12589831
01/22/18 01:03 PM
01/22/18 01:03 PM
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 4,174
Charlottesville, Va
W
Wayne P. Offline
TFF Team Angler
Wayne P.  Offline
TFF Team Angler
W

Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 4,174
Charlottesville, Va
Originally Posted By: Jeff From Iowa
no the built in one is not going to work for your helix


Yes it will if the Helix is the Sonar model.
There is a Sonar model
There is a DI model
There is a SI model.

The US2 does not do imaging of any kind, it is 2D only.

Last edited by Wayne P.; 01/22/18 01:04 PM.

Humminbird Helix 12 CHIRP SI, 1198c SI, 1198c SI, ONIX 10 SI NT, Helix 7 CHIRP SI GPS G2, SOLIX 12 SI, 360, RC-1
Re: Are you using your Ultrex built in Transducer? [Re: jbassman] #12589860
01/22/18 01:45 PM
01/22/18 01:45 PM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,839
SETX
K
kellisag Offline
Extreme Angler
kellisag  Offline
Extreme Angler
K

Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,839
SETX
I don't because I want DI

Re: Are you using your Ultrex built in Transducer? [Re: Jeff From Iowa] #12589869
01/22/18 01:52 PM
01/22/18 01:52 PM
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 6,649
Red Oak, Galveston, and Pagosa...
S
SteezMacQueen Offline
TFF Celebrity
SteezMacQueen  Offline
TFF Celebrity
S

Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 6,649
Red Oak, Galveston, and Pagosa...
Originally Posted By: Jeff From Iowa
no I dont use it

the built in one is not going to work for your helix

I DO use it....and YES, it's connected to my Helix. Works great.


Eat. Sleep. Fish.
Re: Are you using your Ultrex built in Transducer? [Re: jbassman] #12589941
01/22/18 02:41 PM
01/22/18 02:41 PM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,199
Downtown Tomball, Texas
721Phoenix Offline
Extreme Angler
721Phoenix  Offline
Extreme Angler

Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,199
Downtown Tomball, Texas
I do not, I use an external SI transducer on the trolling motor.


Wishin I was fishin!! ..............>(((//*>
2013 Phoenix 721 ProXP - 250 Pro XS - Ultrex
Humminbird Helix 10SI(2)
PB Largemouth - 9.51 - Toledo Bend - March 2014
Re: Are you using your Ultrex built in Transducer? [Re: 721Phoenix] #12589983
01/22/18 03:09 PM
01/22/18 03:09 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 11,108
San Diego, Ca/ Sanger, Tx
M
Mike Keenan Online content
TFF Guru
Mike Keenan  Online Content
TFF Guru
M

Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 11,108
San Diego, Ca/ Sanger, Tx
I use the US2 transducer and get nothing but interference. So I spent the $60.00 and Iím waiting for my new external transducer to get here. Personally I think itís a load a [censored] you spend good money and then have to turn around and send Humminbird more money so it works like it should. Humminbird should have something set up with a transducer exchange for free. Last I checked Humminbird used to be about great service?


R.I.P. Mike "pappy" "broken rod" Green born 07-16-62 on to better fishing 06-10-08.
www.basscat.com

Re: Are you using your Ultrex built in Transducer? [Re: jbassman] #12589996
01/22/18 03:14 PM
01/22/18 03:14 PM
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 563
Lumberton, TX
T
TexasMood Offline
Pro Angler
TexasMood  Offline
Pro Angler
T

Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 563
Lumberton, TX
I haven't been able to get mine to work with my 859.





Re: Are you using your Ultrex built in Transducer? [Re: jbassman] #12590089
01/22/18 04:05 PM
01/22/18 04:05 PM
Joined: May 2017
Posts: 384
Stagecoach, TX
S
skeeterK Offline
Angler
skeeterK  Offline
Angler
S

Joined: May 2017
Posts: 384
Stagecoach, TX
Yes I use mine for now at least. Looking at options of either staying with Lowrance and placing a Totalscan on the TM or changing over to HB with SS and a 360.

Re: Are you using your Ultrex built in Transducer? [Re: jbassman] #12590091
01/22/18 04:07 PM
01/22/18 04:07 PM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,203
The Woodlands, Tx
BoomBoom Offline
Extreme Angler
BoomBoom  Offline
Extreme Angler

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,203
The Woodlands, Tx
Yes. No issues and I use it with a Lowrance unit.

Re: Are you using your Ultrex built in Transducer? [Re: Mike Keenan] #12590472
01/22/18 07:58 PM
01/22/18 07:58 PM
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 5,395
Burleson,TX
44 Diesel Offline
TFF Celebrity
44 Diesel  Offline
TFF Celebrity

Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 5,395
Burleson,TX
Originally Posted By: Mike Keenan
I use the US2 transducer and get nothing but interference. So I spent the $60.00 and Iím waiting for my new external transducer to get here. Personally I think itís a load a [censored] you spend good money and then have to turn around and send Humminbird more money so it works like it should. Humminbird should have something set up with a transducer exchange for free. Last I checked Humminbird used to be about great service?


Have you checked the fuse in the head of the trolling motor? There is a 3amp fuse in there for the Us2 transducer. If its blown it will cause RFI

Re: Are you using your Ultrex built in Transducer? [Re: jbassman] #12590491
01/22/18 08:08 PM
01/22/18 08:08 PM
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 472
waco
H
harvey walker Offline
Angler
harvey walker  Offline
Angler
H

Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 472
waco
does the us2 cable on the Ultrex plug in to your sonar or do you need an adapter cable. I have a Terrova and had to buy a cable. I want to upgrade my sonar but I will need to add $30 to $40 buck to the price.

Re: Are you using your Ultrex built in Transducer? [Re: harvey walker] #12590557
01/22/18 08:36 PM
01/22/18 08:36 PM
Joined: May 2017
Posts: 384
Stagecoach, TX
S
skeeterK Offline
Angler
skeeterK  Offline
Angler
S

Joined: May 2017
Posts: 384
Stagecoach, TX
Originally Posted By: harvey walker
does the us2 cable on the Ultrex plug in to your sonar or do you need an adapter cable. I have a Terrova and had to buy a cable. I want to upgrade my sonar but I will need to add $30 to $40 buck to the price.


You'll need an adapter cable but if you had a US2 before the adapter should work. I came from a Fortrex to the Ultrex and used the same adapter. I can only speak to Lowrance graphs.

Last edited by skeeterK; 01/22/18 08:37 PM.
Re: Are you using your Ultrex built in Transducer? [Re: harvey walker] #12590560
01/22/18 08:37 PM
01/22/18 08:37 PM
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 5,395
Burleson,TX
44 Diesel Offline
TFF Celebrity
44 Diesel  Offline
TFF Celebrity

Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 5,395
Burleson,TX
Originally Posted By: harvey walker
does the us2 cable on the Ultrex plug in to your sonar or do you need an adapter cable. I have a Terrova and had to buy a cable. I want to upgrade my sonar but I will need to add $30 to $40 buck to the price.



You will need an adapter that compatible with your brand

https://www.minnkotamotors.com/US2-Compatibility.aspx?LangType=1033

Re: Are you using your Ultrex built in Transducer? [Re: skeeterK] #12590962
01/23/18 12:23 AM
01/23/18 12:23 AM
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 6,649
Red Oak, Galveston, and Pagosa...
S
SteezMacQueen Offline
TFF Celebrity
SteezMacQueen  Offline
TFF Celebrity
S

Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 6,649
Red Oak, Galveston, and Pagosa...
Originally Posted By: skeeterK
Originally Posted By: harvey walker
does the us2 cable on the Ultrex plug in to your sonar or do you need an adapter cable. I have a Terrova and had to buy a cable. I want to upgrade my sonar but I will need to add $30 to $40 buck to the price.


You'll need an adapter cable but if you had a US2 before the adapter should work. I came from a Fortrex to the Ultrex and used the same adapter. I can only speak to Lowrance graphs.
or you can sell your used adapter for $20 and be out about $10 switching graphs.


Eat. Sleep. Fish.
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 1998-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
UBB.threads™ 7.6.2