texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
secolvin19, saltyg63, Crobi2001, BrazosMac, Redstratos295xl
109262 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 90,105
hopalong 78,911
Pilothawk 77,504
John175® 69,816
JDavis7873® 67,393
Derek 🐝 61,662
Tritonman 58,389
LoneStarSon® 54,812
Mark Perry 54,745
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums60
Topics776,920
Posts12,997,496
Members109,262
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
installing a 12v outlet #12570426
01/09/18 03:09 PM
01/09/18 03:09 PM
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 420
Mansfield,TX
G
goodman1389 Online content OP
Angler
goodman1389  Online Content OP
Angler
G

Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 420
Mansfield,TX
I'm wanting to install a 12v outlet on my boat for phone charger, spotlight, etc. Can I simply run the red and black wire from the plug to the battery, and install an in line fuse near the battery? Also, would it be better to run the wires to the cranking battery or trolling motor battery?

Bass Fishing Ad
Re: installing a 12v outlet [Re: goodman1389] #12570434
01/09/18 03:13 PM
01/09/18 03:13 PM
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,349
McKinney, TX
D
David Burton Online confused
Extreme Angler
David Burton  Online Confused
Extreme Angler
D

Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,349
McKinney, TX
Yes, you can run the wires back. However, If you have a master power switch, you would be better off running the wires into that circuit. Most accessories are run off of cranking batteries.


David Burton
2015 Skeeter FX 21

...and down goes PhotoBucket with the new Terms of Service... I predict they will be out of business or begging for forgiveness inside a month. 6/30/2017
Re: installing a 12v outlet [Re: David Burton] #12570435
01/09/18 03:14 PM
01/09/18 03:14 PM
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 3,431
North Richland Hills, TX
Fishinfellow Offline
TFF Team Angler
Fishinfellow  Offline
TFF Team Angler

Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 3,431
North Richland Hills, TX
Originally Posted By: David Burton
Yes, you can run the wires back. However, If you have a master power switch, you would be better off running the wires into that circuit. Most accessories are run off of cranking batteries.


This is good advice. What kind of boat are you running? Also is your trolling motor setup 12 volt?


Thats my money fish

Kris Winhold
Re: installing a 12v outlet [Re: goodman1389] #12570465
01/09/18 03:35 PM
01/09/18 03:35 PM
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,618
Dallas, TX
Ted Martin Online content
Extreme Angler
Ted Martin  Online Content
Extreme Angler

Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,618
Dallas, TX
assuming you have a console with gauges and such, there should be a fuse panel underneath that is switched by your key or main power switch. Most boat makers leave a few open ports, if you have one you can add a new fuse and run a + to the terminal on it and a - to the ground bus and you are good to go.

If you don't have any open spots on that circuit, you can add one to run your outlet and any other accessories.

I added a separate circuit just to run electronics because my main power circuit would shut off the electronics anytime i cranked the big motor. Problem solved. depending on your needs and setup, this might be overkill


Last edited by Ted Martin; 01/09/18 03:40 PM.
Re: installing a 12v outlet [Re: goodman1389] #12570488
01/09/18 03:44 PM
01/09/18 03:44 PM
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 420
Mansfield,TX
G
goodman1389 Online content OP
Angler
goodman1389  Online Content OP
Angler
G

Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 420
Mansfield,TX
I have a Tracker pro 160. I don't think there is a fuse panel but I'll double check when I get home. My trolling motor is a 12v, I only have 2 batteries, one cranking and one trolling.

Re: installing a 12v outlet [Re: goodman1389] #12570512
01/09/18 03:58 PM
01/09/18 03:58 PM
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,618
Dallas, TX
Ted Martin Online content
Extreme Angler
Ted Martin  Online Content
Extreme Angler

Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,618
Dallas, TX
that model has a console, so i would be surprised if there wasn't a fuse panel up under there.

Re: installing a 12v outlet [Re: Ted Martin] #12570579
01/09/18 04:24 PM
01/09/18 04:24 PM
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 420
Mansfield,TX
G
goodman1389 Online content OP
Angler
goodman1389  Online Content OP
Angler
G

Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 420
Mansfield,TX
Originally Posted By: Ted Martin
that model has a console, so i would be surprised if there wasn't a fuse panel up under there.


The only reason I say I dont think it has one, is that everything is currently run to my batteries. I had two graphs installed last year and he ran them both directly to the battery. The fuses for the bilge, livewell, and lights are the glass cylinder type and they're located right next to the switches.

Re: installing a 12v outlet [Re: goodman1389] #12570592
01/09/18 04:31 PM
01/09/18 04:31 PM
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 49
Richland Hills, TX
S
stanh Offline
Outdoorsman
stanh  Offline
Outdoorsman
S

Joined: May 2012
Posts: 49
Richland Hills, TX
be aware of the wire guage; you need it sized to handle the amperage drawn by what ever you plug into the outlet. also, don't forget a fuse or breaker in the circuit- placed in the positive conductor. this might save you a lot of trouble or money in the future.

in marine applications, I think it is a good idea to solder all connections.

Re: installing a 12v outlet [Re: goodman1389] #12570776
01/09/18 05:52 PM
01/09/18 05:52 PM
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,618
Dallas, TX
Ted Martin Online content
Extreme Angler
Ted Martin  Online Content
Extreme Angler

Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,618
Dallas, TX
Originally Posted By: goodman1389
Originally Posted By: Ted Martin
that model has a console, so i would be surprised if there wasn't a fuse panel up under there.


The only reason I say I dont think it has one, is that everything is currently run to my batteries. I had two graphs installed last year and he ran them both directly to the battery. The fuses for the bilge, livewell, and lights are the glass cylinder type and they're located right next to the switches.


Yep then there may not be a fuse bus.

You can certainly add another + back to the battery post. Quick & simple, but every time you disconnect or replace the battery you have to account for all the leads.

If you want to consolidate just add a fuse bus underneath and run your graphs and outlet off that. I ran 10ga to mine which carries more amps than i need today, but i won't have to re-do it if i ever want to add more stuff later. Also i ran it to a switch up front so i can kill the circuit when i put the boat up.

Re: installing a 12v outlet [Re: goodman1389] #12570859
01/09/18 06:23 PM
01/09/18 06:23 PM
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 3,639
Arlington
B
Bobby Milam Offline
TFF Team Angler
Bobby Milam  Offline
TFF Team Angler
B

Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 3,639
Arlington
I would run it off my cranking battery because it will recharge as you drive and the trolling motor battery doesn't. Being only 12v you need to save all that juice that you might need during the day

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 1998-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
UBB.threads™ 7.6.2