texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Brasberry, Ryan Butler, Hemingway, TxFalcon, Stan D
109268 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 90,106
hopalong 78,911
Pilothawk 77,517
John175ģ 69,819
JDavis7873ģ 67,393
Derek 🐝 61,665
Tritonman 58,392
LoneStarSonģ 54,816
Mark Perry 54,775
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums60
Topics777,002
Posts12,998,571
Members109,268
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Help!! With my terrova #12567537
01/07/18 06:13 PM
01/07/18 06:13 PM
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 184
F
fishseeker65 Offline OP
Outdoorsman
fishseeker65  Offline OP
Outdoorsman
F

Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 184
I just put a 2017 minn Kota 36v trolling motor on my boat. Iím trying to install transducer for my hb788
To it but canít figure out how to run the cable. I seen lots of videos of how they silicone them down the shaft but this one has a smaller valley and the extra little white box on it doesnít have any gap space to run the cap through? Do you guys have any ideas?


Carlos. BLUE WAVE 22FT CC
PB Hybrid 8.5# on Tawakoni
PB Channel Cat 19.8# on Tawakoni
PB Striper 14.0 # on Lake Texoma
Re: Help!! With my terrova [Re: fishseeker65] #12567782
01/07/18 09:12 PM
01/07/18 09:12 PM
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 405
Arlington, TX
ToadThrower Offline
Angler
ToadThrower  Offline
Angler

Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 405
Arlington, TX
http://texasfishingforum.com/forums/ubbthreads.php/topics/10494141/Re:_Mounting_a_transducer_on_a#Post10494141

terrova transducer install external

Take a look at this post....I used this on mine and it has worked great..hardest part is buying the coiled air hose and splitting it down the middle...once you get it around the transducer cable it is easy . ,I attach it at the top of the motor with a carabiner or d ring but you could use a zip tie or anything that lets the cable slide.Another tip I attached my transducer to the trolling motor with large zip ties..if you are using humminbird, this allows the transducer to slip up to either side or move if you hit something with it... you can cinch them down tight enough with the zip ties so it doesnt move....so far so good with using that after breaking two off using the metal screw clamp that comes with the transducer.I can send some more pictures if you need them...

Last edited by ToadThrower; 01/07/18 09:24 PM.
Re: Help!! With my terrova [Re: fishseeker65] #12570208
01/09/18 11:19 AM
01/09/18 11:19 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,843
Granbury, Texas, USA
M
mwacosta Offline
Extreme Angler
mwacosta  Offline
Extreme Angler
M

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,843
Granbury, Texas, USA
I stopped messing with my lowrance cable/transducer on the trolling motor. I tore up cables twice and had to get replacement transducers. I bought a down rod mount that works for me (http://fishingspecialties.com/). If you mount it strategically, it is out of the way and you will never have an issue with the trolling motor. The only issue is that when you deploy your trolling motor, you have to put your transducer down as well and vice versa on putting the trolling motor back up. If you would like to see my install (its better than the pics on the website), let me know and I will send a pic.

Good luck,


Michael Acosta
Unfair Advantage Charters
817-578-0023
michael.acosta@att.net
www.unfairadvantagecharters.com
Re: Help!! With my terrova [Re: fishseeker65] #12570384
01/09/18 02:40 PM
01/09/18 02:40 PM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,542
SACHSE, TEXAS
CHAMPION FISH Offline
TFF Celebrity
CHAMPION FISH  Offline
TFF Celebrity

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,542
SACHSE, TEXAS
I seen brackets installed on the shaft that allows the cable to slide up and down with the shaft and it also keeps the cable tight and out of the prop. You might want to contact David Goodson at Shut up and fish.



" Success is a ladder you can not climb with your hands in your pockets."

www.pro-cure.com
www.falconrods.com
Re: Help!! With my terrova [Re: fishseeker65] #12570461
01/09/18 03:33 PM
01/09/18 03:33 PM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,632
pottsboro,texas u.s.
C
captain steve barnes Offline
Extreme Angler
captain steve barnes  Offline
Extreme Angler
C

Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,632
pottsboro,texas u.s.
What am I missing here? Transducer is built into the motor housing Right?

Re: Help!! With my terrova [Re: captain steve barnes] #12570522
01/09/18 04:02 PM
01/09/18 04:02 PM
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 5,379
Burleson,TX
44 Diesel Offline
TFF Celebrity
44 Diesel  Offline
TFF Celebrity

Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 5,379
Burleson,TX
Originally Posted By: captain steve barnes
What am I missing here? Transducer is built into the motor housing Right?


There is us2 transducer for 2d, I am guessing he is wanting to add a di transducer. The newer terrovas have the coiled spring lift assist near the top of the shaft.


Scroll down this page till you find cable guard. Click on video.

https://precisionsonar.com/products/

Last edited by 44 Diesel; 01/09/18 04:14 PM.
Re: Help!! With my terrova [Re: 44 Diesel] #12570649
01/09/18 05:05 PM
01/09/18 05:05 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,843
Granbury, Texas, USA
M
mwacosta Offline
Extreme Angler
mwacosta  Offline
Extreme Angler
M

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,843
Granbury, Texas, USA
I guess I don't have the Terrova. I have the Rip Tide ST112 GPS model which does not have the transducer built in. Trying to get the bigger lowrance cable in the slit down to the motor is tough. You can route around the control head, but that is a mess. I've tried several methods.

With the GPS remote control, I may not even need a front fishfinder any longer. I use it when catching bait and it gets inundated with water/[censored] when you pull the net in.

My two cents


Michael Acosta
Unfair Advantage Charters
817-578-0023
michael.acosta@att.net
www.unfairadvantagecharters.com
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 1998-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
UBB.threads™ 7.6.2