Print Thread
Topwater setup #12565395 01/05/18 05:44 PM
S
Shaysaidso Offline OP
Green Horn
OP Offline
Green Horn
S
I am very new to fishing but its always something that i enjoy doing when time allows me to do so. However i was wondering if anyone could recommend a good setup or your fav setup for topwater fishing (rod/reel line & lures) & possibly share why its your go to setup? I live in the Galveston County area, i don't own a boat or have access to one. So i have to fish from the rocks. I have tried bottom fishing and i always end up losing money because my line gets stuck & i have to snap the line and re-setup. Being able to cast further out is also a necessity (im not sure if its all in the technique of the cast or a combination of technique and setup). My apologies for the long post but im just trying to learn as much as i can. Thank you in advance.

Re: Topwater setup [Re: Shaysaidso] #12565628 01/05/18 09:53 PM
S
smooth move Offline
Extreme Angler
Extreme Angler
S
try using a weighted popping cork with the leader set about a foot off the bottom.

Last edited by smooth move; 01/05/18 09:53 PM.

es le bon ton roulet
Re: Topwater setup [Re: Shaysaidso] #12583115 01/17/18 08:39 PM
V-Bottom Offline
TFF Celebrity
TFF Celebrity
If your referring to the TC Dike at the very end, I recommend the weighted cork setup but make a slip cork setup. Usually at the end by the road bearcade is a good place to fish for trout on certain tides and water clarity. I usually fish about 4 foot deep there with live shrimp. A nice Med.light 7 ft. rod, maybe an Ugly Stick, is good. I don't care for custom stuff or high priced rods. that's up to you on what you want to spend. I use a good 20# mainline and 30# Fluro Leader Line with a #6 treble hook. Topwaters aren't used there so to speak but some suspending baits like a Corkie May do well. Just have to try. Loosing tackle there is common. Knowing to throw your tackle further away from the rocks is a must in some