texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Brasberry, Ryan Butler, Hemingway, TxFalcon, Stan D
109268 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 90,106
hopalong 78,911
Pilothawk 77,517
John175® 69,819
JDavis7873® 67,393
Derek 🐝 61,665
Tritonman 58,392
LoneStarSon® 54,816
Mark Perry 54,775
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums60
Topics777,005
Posts12,998,580
Members109,268
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Transducer mounting #12531584
12/08/17 05:35 PM
12/08/17 05:35 PM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 448
T
TGalyon1 Offline OP
Angler
TGalyon1  Offline OP
Angler
T

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 448
Will it read though the hull of kayak

Re: Transducer mounting [Re: TGalyon1] #12531589
12/08/17 05:38 PM
12/08/17 05:38 PM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 42,463
Kansas
T
Tallgrass05 Offline
bill maher's protege
Tallgrass05  Offline
bill maher's protege
T

Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 42,463
Kansas
Yes, if mounted properly in a water bath. That way does seem like a lot of hassle with such easy over-side-mounts available.


"...to guard against the impostures of pretended patriotism."
~George Washington, Sept. 19, 1796
Re: Transducer mounting [Re: TGalyon1] #12537614
12/14/17 12:42 AM
12/14/17 12:42 AM
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,641
Texas
J
Jim Ford Offline
Extreme Angler
Jim Ford  Offline
Extreme Angler
J

Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,641
Texas
It will read through the hull if you use Marine Goop. Build a dam just larger than the transducer, fill the pool with a layer of Goop, making sure not to stir any bubbles into it, and force the transducer all the way down into it. Tape or weight it down for 24 hours and yer done. I generally clean the area first with some alcohol. It'll last for years if you do it right.

Re: Transducer mounting [Re: Jim Ford] #12539991
12/16/17 02:58 AM
12/16/17 02:58 AM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 448
T
TGalyon1 Offline OP
Angler
TGalyon1  Offline OP
Angler
T

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 448
Originally Posted By: Jim Ford
It will read through the hull if you use Marine Goop. Build a dam just larger than the transducer, fill the pool with a layer of Goop, making sure not to stir any bubbles into it, and force the transducer all the way down into it. Tape or weight it down for 24 hours and yer done. I generally clean the area first with some alcohol. It'll last for years if you do it right.


That's what I did. I have mounted 100 of transducers in the slump of bass boats when in school I work for a sporting good store back in the 70. I just did not know if there was air in plalstic.

Re: Transducer mounting [Re: TGalyon1] #12722124
04/19/18 01:17 AM
04/19/18 01:17 AM
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 2
Katy, TX
G
gmatteson Offline
Green Horn
gmatteson  Offline
Green Horn
G

Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 2
Katy, TX
How do you get it to read water temp? I'm assuming you don't.


GMatteson

USMC '83-'89
Semper Fi!
Re: Transducer mounting [Re: TGalyon1] #12722872
04/19/18 05:53 PM
04/19/18 05:53 PM
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 7
Leeward, O'ahu, Hawaii
A
aznative96 Offline
Green Horn
aznative96  Offline
Green Horn
A

Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 7
Leeward, O'ahu, Hawaii
Thru hull transducers will read water temperature thru the hull but not very well. Just think that that the temperature of the water has to work through the hull to be measured by the transducer. By the time that happens, you have moved to a new spot that may have a different temp. Best choice is to add a small temp sensor that will be in the water.
No amount of marine goop or 3M 5200 will speed up the thermal transfer through the fiberglass or plastic to speed up that process. Aluminum boat owners get a big advantage here.



Mahalo,
Phil
Re: Transducer mounting [Re: TGalyon1] #12725076
04/21/18 03:51 PM
04/21/18 03:51 PM
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 322
Wisconsin
C
Clay34 Offline
Angler
Clay34  Offline
Angler
C

Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 322
Wisconsin
Perhaps I'm wrong and quite willing to be corrected here, but if you have a Side Imaging transducer it won't work with a through the hull install in the side imaging mode. It will work in the down imaging mode. Some believe that you loose some sensitivity with a through the hull install as well.

Most through the hull installs will perform fine on reading depth and mark some fish. If you spent the money on a high end locator, why loose some of that sensitivity that you paid for with a through the hull install?

Don't take my word as written in stone. Call your locator company and see what they say. There is a difference between "it works just fine" and "it works to it's optimum capability"

So if you bought a more expensive locator, don't install it in a through the hull installation is just one guy's opinion.

Now you do have to balance the risk / exposure of having a transducer below the boat bottom for best readings and risk of transducer damage. You must always keep this in mind and I think that is the reason for some to install through the hull. But if you paid for side imaging, through the hull and you threw your money away.


Many go fishing all of their lives without knowing that it is not the fish that they are after. Henry David Thoreau
Re: Transducer mounting [Re: TGalyon1] #12733784
04/27/18 10:45 PM
04/27/18 10:45 PM
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 322
Wisconsin
C
Clay34 Offline
Angler
Clay34  Offline
Angler
C

Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 322
Wisconsin
I had to repost on this thread. I just finished a conversation on the forum with Shaun Russell. He is a tournament fisherman and he runs a Bonafide SS127. That Hull design is very specific in that is resembles a pontoon style hull. It has two, very pronounced pontoons and a recessed around in the middle of the boat. His Side Imaging unit is mounted to the bottom side of the removable locator pod which is very much protected by the pontoon sides and he reports great side scanning capabilities when his locator is NOT below the bottom of the hull.

So now, I am really confused and what I thought that I knew, I still need to learn more.

Note: his transducer is in the water, not shooting through the hull from the inside of the boat, but not below the pontoons. Interesting.


Many go fishing all of their lives without knowing that it is not the fish that they are after. Henry David Thoreau
Re: Transducer mounting [Re: TGalyon1] #12736578
04/30/18 04:15 PM
04/30/18 04:15 PM
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 282
Lewisville TX
S
Searsay Offline
Angler
Searsay  Offline
Angler
S

Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 282
Lewisville TX
the SI transducer is NOT 180 degree shot - I seem to remember seeing somewhere that the totalscan transducer is 140 or 160 degrees for SI. So as long as you have enough space to ensure that angle doesn't get blocked you can recess mount it (as long as it is still in the water). Secondary consideration is the frequency. the lower the frequency the broader the beam... I don't know how much it impacts SI - but off my own personal experience from running my new TI7 on my porta-bote it does impact it a bit. I tend to get more/deeper motor noise on left side surface - (by about 6in) when i switch to lower frequency SI.

for DI or chirp the frequency has a HUGE impact on beam size.. you see less detail but even for 20-40ft depths you see "broader" with lower frequency's.

since i couldn't find it on lowrance site - here is a simple page to explain it (not product specific) - https://www.chsmith.com.au/News/My-Beam-Angle-is-wider-than-yours.html

Last edited by Searsay; 04/30/18 04:19 PM.
Re: Transducer mounting [Re: TGalyon1] #12748514
05/09/18 03:20 AM
05/09/18 03:20 AM
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,682
Van Alstyne
timbertoes Offline
Extreme Angler
timbertoes  Offline
Extreme Angler

Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,682
Van Alstyne
I have had nothing but trouble with air bubbles and add to that the "valley" in the floor of the yak..you have level that out with the goop. I am going to do a pvc arm transducer mount. Put it in the water!! lol

Re: Transducer mounting [Re: TGalyon1] #12752225
05/12/18 12:54 AM
05/12/18 12:54 AM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 448
T
TGalyon1 Offline OP
Angler
TGalyon1  Offline OP
Angler
T

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 448
I ended up mounting it in a reseat scupper hole. It sits up high it the hull but still in the water. I did not like the arm over the side . Very new to this and concern about getting tangled up with it.

Re: Transducer mounting [Re: TGalyon1] #12752407
05/12/18 03:09 AM
05/12/18 03:09 AM
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,682
Van Alstyne
timbertoes Offline
Extreme Angler
timbertoes  Offline
Extreme Angler

Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,682
Van Alstyne
just put on a scotty arm mount. flimsy.. they could have done so much better...

Next Yak I choose will have to have dedicated scupper/in-water molded mount!!

Last edited by timbertoes; 05/12/18 03:10 AM.
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 1998-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
UBB.threads™ 7.6.2