texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Army Flyer, Festus84, Buckyb, Ralphie555, FunNSunTackle
109187 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 90,016
hopalong 78,905
Pilothawk 77,402
John175® 69,718
JDavis7873® 67,392
Derek 🐝 61,603
Tritonman 58,366
LoneStarSon® 54,784
Mark Perry 54,469
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums60
Topics775,592
Posts12,978,720
Members109,187
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Registering & Updating your Navionics card #12505268
11/16/17 01:54 PM
11/16/17 01:54 PM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,066
Tx
Corey Stanley Offline OP
Extreme Angler
Corey Stanley  Offline OP
Extreme Angler

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,066
Tx
Hey guys,
One of the biggest questions at shows or events that I come across from anglers is "how do I update my card?" or "How long does it take to register or update?" Here is a great How-To article and also a video from Navionics that is on the process of updating your Navionics card from the very beginning of the process, check it out:

https://navionics.secure.force.com/kb/ar...pdate-Your-Chip

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BCufeb0eF8I

Re: Registering & Updating your Navionics card [Re: Corey Stanley] #12505440
11/16/17 04:04 PM
11/16/17 04:04 PM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 15,127
Justin, TX.
Donald Harper Online happy
TFF Guru
Donald Harper  Online Happy
TFF Guru

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 15,127
Justin, TX.
I have windows 10 and it would not download so I could make the update. All that kept popping up was to purchase the $149 Chart Plotter program. Discussed with it all.
- Just take a look at the poor job Nav. App. has done with giving the contours on Toledo Bend. There are huge chunks of the lake with out consecutive charting. One section of the lake will have 1 ft. contours then they just stop and it turns to 20 ft. contours. It is like this all the way around the lake. Many lakes are like this but Toledo Bend is the worst.


Each person you work with holds some promise to your future success.
www.eletewater.com - Staying Hydrated
www.lakeoviachic.com - Booking Mexico Trips
20 Hot Spot Mapping - GPS Contour Chips - Custom Spinner Baits - Jigs -Spooks
Pure Extracts - Minnow-Night Crawler-Crayfish-Craylic


Re: Registering & Updating your Navionics card [Re: Donald Harper] #12505511
11/16/17 04:59 PM
11/16/17 04:59 PM
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 4,162
Charlottesville, Va
W
Wayne P. Online content
TFF Team Angler
Wayne P.  Online Content
TFF Team Angler
W

Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 4,162
Charlottesville, Va
Originally Posted By: Donald Harper
I have windows 10 and it would not download so I could make the update. All that kept popping up was to purchase the $149 Chart Plotter program. Discussed with it all.
- Just take a look at the poor job Nav. App. has done with giving the contours on Toledo Bend. There are huge chunks of the lake with out consecutive charting. One section of the lake will have 1 ft. contours then they just stop and it turns to 20 ft. contours. It is like this all the way around the lake. Many lakes are like this but Toledo Bend is the worst.


I have a Windows 10 computer and have no issues with Updating Navionics map cards. I have three Navionics+ cards and a Navionics Hotmaps Platinum card.

Toledo Bend surveying got interrupted by the flooding, they just have not been back to finish.


Humminbird Helix 12 CHIRP SI, 1198c SI, 1198c SI, ONIX 10 SI NT, Helix 7 CHIRP SI GPS G2, SOLIX 12 SI, 360, RC-1
Re: Registering & Updating your Navionics card [Re: Donald Harper] #12521632
11/30/17 09:59 PM
11/30/17 09:59 PM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,066
Tx
Corey Stanley Offline OP
Extreme Angler
Corey Stanley  Offline OP
Extreme Angler

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,066
Tx
Originally Posted By: Donald Harper
I have windows 10 and it would not download so I could make the update. All that kept popping up was to purchase the $149 Chart Plotter program. Discussed with it all.
- Just take a look at the poor job Nav. App. has done with giving the contours on Toledo Bend. There are huge chunks of the lake with out consecutive charting. One section of the lake will have 1 ft. contours then they just stop and it turns to 20 ft. contours. It is like this all the way around the lake. Many lakes are like this but Toledo Bend is the worst.


Sorry just now seeing this, I have been on the road a lot lately...

I also have windows 10 and have not had a problem so far. All I did was download the chart installer for free and it took me through step by step....all in all took about 15 mins for 2 cards.

Actually Donald a lot of that data actually does exist on Toledo Bend, some of it I recorded myself. All you have to do is turn on the sonar chart layer and it will show up. It isnt all there, but there is a lot more there than what used to be missing. Check out all of Sandy Flats, Pirates cove, mouth of Housen, Indian mounds, in front of Cypress Bend, Tennessee bay etc.

Re: Registering & Updating your Navionics card [Re: Corey Stanley] #12522948
12/01/17 06:39 PM
12/01/17 06:39 PM
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 4,305
Katy, Texas US
BMCD Offline
TFF Team Angler
BMCD  Offline
TFF Team Angler

Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 4,305
Katy, Texas US
Sonar chart layer? No idea what that is but I will look at this tonight.

Re: Registering & Updating your Navionics card [Re: Corey Stanley] #12523619
12/02/17 03:40 AM
12/02/17 03:40 AM
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,637
Texas
J
Jim Ford Online content
Extreme Angler
Jim Ford  Online Content
Extreme Angler
J

Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,637
Texas
I bought one and can't get it to do anything. But they keep emailing me to update it........

Re: Registering & Updating your Navionics card [Re: BMCD] #12525988
12/04/17 12:50 PM
12/04/17 12:50 PM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,066
Tx
Corey Stanley Offline OP
Extreme Angler
Corey Stanley  Offline OP
Extreme Angler

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,066
Tx
Originally Posted By: BMCD
Sonar chart layer? No idea what that is but I will look at this tonight.


It is called the "FishNChip" layer on your graph, BMCD what graphs are you running?

On your PC, If you look at the webapp, the button in the bottom left corner will toggle the Sonar Chart layer on and off to show the differences. It is night and day on Toledo Bend. The sonar chart layer is a layer where Navionics stores updates and user recordings that are submitted to improve mapping.

Re: Registering & Updating your Navionics card [Re: Jim Ford] #12525991
12/04/17 12:52 PM
12/04/17 12:52 PM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,066
Tx
Corey Stanley Offline OP
Extreme Angler
Corey Stanley  Offline OP
Extreme Angler

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,066
Tx
Originally Posted By: Jim Ford
I bought one and can't get it to do anything. But they keep emailing me to update it........

Give me a little more info Jim. It wont do anything at what part in the update? I assume you have the chart installed installed on your PC and inserting card as prompted, then what is happening?

Re: Registering & Updating your Navionics card [Re: Corey Stanley] #12526549
12/04/17 07:17 PM
12/04/17 07:17 PM
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,637
Texas
J
Jim Ford Online content
Extreme Angler
Jim Ford  Online Content
Extreme Angler
J

Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,637
Texas
It won't do anything at all in the unit; there's nothing to update. All the folderol in the computer when I bought it apparently worked, otherwise I wouldn't be getting emails to update it. I tried calling Navionics and was always put on hold. I tried emailing and the email was apparently never received. I wanted more detailed GPS charts, and was told that this was the thing to get.

Kendall Purrington finally emailed me some instructions, but I still get nothing. I guess I just wasted $200.

Re: Registering & Updating your Navionics card [Re: Jim Ford] #12526566
12/04/17 07:29 PM
12/04/17 07:29 PM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,066
Tx
Corey Stanley Offline OP
Extreme Angler
Corey Stanley  Offline OP
Extreme Angler

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,066
Tx
Originally Posted By: Jim Ford
It won't do anything at all in the unit; there's nothing to update. All the folderol in the computer when I bought it apparently worked, otherwise I wouldn't be getting emails to update it. I tried calling Navionics and was always put on hold. I tried emailing and the email was apparently never received. I wanted more detailed GPS charts, and was told that this was the thing to get.

Kendall Purrington finally emailed me some instructions, but I still get nothing. I guess I just wasted $200.


What card did you buy?

Re: Registering & Updating your Navionics card [Re: Corey Stanley] #12526897
12/05/17 12:02 AM
12/05/17 12:02 AM
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,637
Texas
J
Jim Ford Online content
Extreme Angler
Jim Ford  Online Content
Extreme Angler
J

Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,637
Texas
The US & Canada card.

Re: Registering & Updating your Navionics card [Re: Jim Ford] #12527070
12/05/17 02:18 AM
12/05/17 02:18 AM
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 4,162
Charlottesville, Va
W
Wayne P. Online content
TFF Team Angler
Wayne P.  Online Content
TFF Team Angler
W

Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 4,162
Charlottesville, Va
Originally Posted By: Jim Ford
The US & Canada card.


That would be the Navionics+ version 16GB.

Did you UNLOCK the card before you put it in your computer with Chart Installer open?
Did you select Nautical Charts and Sonar Charts and then UPDATE and then wait until it completes the process, about an hour with a somewhat fast internet connection. Takes 6+ hours with the slowest DSL connection.

If you have the original version, you have to choose what locations for the Sonar Charts maps to add to the card. It only has Nautical Charts loaded.


Last edited by Wayne P.; 12/05/17 02:20 AM.

Humminbird Helix 12 CHIRP SI, 1198c SI, 1198c SI, ONIX 10 SI NT, Helix 7 CHIRP SI GPS G2, SOLIX 12 SI, 360, RC-1
Re: Registering & Updating your Navionics card [Re: Corey Stanley] #12527130
12/05/17 02:57 AM
12/05/17 02:57 AM
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,637
Texas
J
Jim Ford Online content
Extreme Angler
Jim Ford  Online Content
Extreme Angler
J

Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,637
Texas
It's been over a year; I don't recall specifics. I followed the instructions. The folks at Academy (where I bought it) said I did everything right. If I'd known I needed a degree in computer science I wouldn't have bought it. The last time I bought a GPS chip I didn't have to do anything on a computer; I just plugged it in to my plotter and it worked. I don't understand why that's no longer possible.

Re: Registering & Updating your Navionics card [Re: Corey Stanley] #12527537
12/05/17 03:11 PM
12/05/17 03:11 PM
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 4,305
Katy, Texas US
BMCD Offline
TFF Team Angler
BMCD  Offline
TFF Team Angler

Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 4,305
Katy, Texas US
Originally Posted By: Corey Stanley
Originally Posted By: BMCD
Sonar chart layer? No idea what that is but I will look at this tonight.


It is called the "FishNChip" layer on your graph, BMCD what graphs are you running?

On your PC, If you look at the webapp, the button in the bottom left corner will toggle the Sonar Chart layer on and off to show the differences. It is night and day on Toledo Bend. The sonar chart layer is a layer where Navionics stores updates and user recordings that are submitted to improve mapping.


Running hds g3

Re: Registering & Updating your Navionics card [Re: BMCD] #12527655
12/05/17 04:36 PM
12/05/17 04:36 PM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,066
Tx
Corey Stanley Offline OP
Extreme Angler
Corey Stanley  Offline OP
Extreme Angler

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,066
Tx
Originally Posted By: BMCD
Originally Posted By: Corey Stanley
Originally Posted By: BMCD
Sonar chart layer? No idea what that is but I will look at this tonight.


It is called the "FishNChip" layer on your graph, BMCD what graphs are you running?

On your PC, If you look at the webapp, the button in the bottom left corner will toggle the Sonar Chart layer on and off to show the differences. It is night and day on Toledo Bend. The sonar chart layer is a layer where Navionics stores updates and user recordings that are submitted to improve mapping.


Running hds g3


On a Lowrance unit, you will need to turn the "FishNChip" layer on just the first time you use the card and then from then on out it will automatically do it for you. Here is a video from Josh Douglas Fishing website.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g6yC70y4upk

Page 1 of 2 1 2
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 1998-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
UBB.threads™ 7.6.2