texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
AquaFinatic, Serang, samhan, mistermike650, Buster_Brown
109287 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 90,121
hopalong 78,912
Pilothawk 77,543
John175® 69,856
JDavis7873® 67,393
Derek 🐝 61,690
Tritonman 58,398
LoneStarSon® 54,816
Mark Perry 54,806
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums60
Topics777,310
Posts13,002,649
Members109,287
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Sharing a navionics card #12364572
07/30/17 01:34 PM
07/30/17 01:34 PM
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 169
East Texas
B
bgmg17 Offline OP
Outdoorsman
bgmg17  Offline OP
Outdoorsman
B

Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 169
East Texas
I was at East Texas Sonar yesterday and part of the conversation was about the difference between a nmea network and Ethernet. The statement was made that navionics could be shared on an Ethernet network. I am not familiar with that feature. I had to leave before Q&A started.
I have a Gen 2 9 touch and a Gen 1 7 connected by Ethernet through a LSS1 box. Is this a feature that I can use?

Bass Fishing Ad
Re: Sharing a navionics card [Re: bgmg17] #12364613
07/30/17 02:29 PM
07/30/17 02:29 PM
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 989
Waco, TX
J
javelin150 Offline
Pro Angler
javelin150  Offline
Pro Angler
J

Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 989
Waco, TX
Your particular setup will not allow sharing of mapping cards.

You can share a Navionics mapping card on Lowrance graphs via ethernet. Both graphs must be Gen2 or newer for it to work

Re: Sharing a navionics card [Re: bgmg17] #12364628
07/30/17 02:47 PM
07/30/17 02:47 PM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 2,167
Magnolia, TX
F
Flippin-Out Offline
Extreme Angler
Flippin-Out  Offline
Extreme Angler
F

Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 2,167
Magnolia, TX
He is correct. What trips you up is that you have a Gen 1 HDS7. If you replaced that unit with a Gen 2 or later at some point, the map data on a card would be shared for the two units via their Ethernet connection. Your LSS1 box has an Ethernet switch integrated into it.

On a related note: Your system units will share GPS waypoints as it stands. If you add a waypoint to one unit, it will be visible on both. If you delete a waypoint from a unit, the network and other unit should be powered up (because waypoints are stored on both units). If you delete a waypoint with the other unit turned off, the waypoint will reappear when the other unit is turned on. The "reappearing waypoint" issue has tripped up many an owner.....lol

Re: Sharing a navionics card [Re: bgmg17] #12364665
07/30/17 03:33 PM
07/30/17 03:33 PM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 7,334
Boerne, Texas
G
grout-scout Offline
TFF Celebrity
grout-scout  Offline
TFF Celebrity
G

Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 7,334
Boerne, Texas
Good news is.... for just $100 you can buy another navionics card.

Re: Sharing a navionics card [Re: bgmg17] #12364846
07/30/17 07:27 PM
07/30/17 07:27 PM
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 169
East Texas
B
bgmg17 Offline OP
Outdoorsman
bgmg17  Offline OP
Outdoorsman
B

Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 169
East Texas
Thanks for the info. I have two cards but only keep one active on updates. Thought the gen 1 could be an issue.

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 1998-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
UBB.threads™ 7.6.2