texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Brasberry, Ryan Butler, Hemingway, TxFalcon, Stan D
109268 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 90,106
hopalong 78,911
Pilothawk 77,516
John175® 69,819
JDavis7873® 67,393
Derek 🐝 61,665
Tritonman 58,392
LoneStarSon® 54,816
Mark Perry 54,775
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums60
Topics776,998
Posts12,998,527
Members109,267
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Dual helix 9s on the console?? #12349222
07/20/17 03:21 AM
07/20/17 03:21 AM
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 359
C
CrankinStick aka Chadd Offline OP
Angler
CrankinStick aka Chadd  Offline OP
Angler
C

Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 359
So I have a helix 9di already on the console and I am wanting to add a helix 9si. Is it ok to run two transducers off the transom? Will their be interference between units? If so, how can I install or fix settings where this will not happen?

Thanks


Luck Is What Happens When Preparation Meets Opportunity


Bass Fishing Ad
Re: Dual helix 9s on the console?? [Re: CrankinStick aka Chadd] #12349286
07/20/17 03:51 AM
07/20/17 03:51 AM
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 615
Granbury, TX
B
bbassfishes Offline
Pro Angler
bbassfishes  Offline
Pro Angler
B

Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 615
Granbury, TX
Why wouldn't you run the SI transducer and just network the second unit?

Re: Dual helix 9s on the console?? [Re: bbassfishes] #12349290
07/20/17 03:57 AM
07/20/17 03:57 AM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,839
SETX
K
kellisag Offline
Extreme Angler
kellisag  Offline
Extreme Angler
K

Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,839
SETX
Originally Posted By: bbassfishes
Why wouldn't you run the SI transducer and just network the second unit?


I don't know about the new Mega units but the Gen 1 Helix 9SI transducer doesn't have true DI just inverted Si shots.

Re: Dual helix 9s on the console?? [Re: kellisag] #12349496
07/20/17 01:12 PM
07/20/17 01:12 PM
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 561
Plano
Y
YAKaddict Offline
Pro Angler
YAKaddict  Offline
Pro Angler
Y

Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 561
Plano
Originally Posted By: kellisag
Originally Posted By: bbassfishes
Why wouldn't you run the SI transducer and just network the second unit?


I don't know about the new Mega units but the Gen 1 Helix 9SI transducer doesn't have true DI just inverted Si shots.

You sure about that? Mine has down imaging and I can't find anywhere that it says it doesnt

Re: Dual helix 9s on the console?? [Re: YAKaddict] #12349526
07/20/17 01:30 PM
07/20/17 01:30 PM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,839
SETX
K
kellisag Offline
Extreme Angler
kellisag  Offline
Extreme Angler
K

Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,839
SETX
Originally Posted By: YAKaddict
Originally Posted By: kellisag
Originally Posted By: bbassfishes
Why wouldn't you run the SI transducer and just network the second unit?


I don't know about the new Mega units but the Gen 1 Helix 9SI transducer doesn't have true DI just inverted Si shots.

You sure about that? Mine has down imaging and I can't find anywhere that it says it doesnt


Yep. It shows up as DI on your screen but it is really a blended view from the left and right side image views.

Re: Dual helix 9s on the console?? [Re: CrankinStick aka Chadd] #12352399
07/22/17 12:32 AM
07/22/17 12:32 AM
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 359
C
CrankinStick aka Chadd Offline OP
Angler
CrankinStick aka Chadd  Offline OP
Angler
C

Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 359
So if I get the 9mega I can network the transducer to work on the helix 9di? I want to run gps and down on the original and side on the new.


Luck Is What Happens When Preparation Meets Opportunity


Re: Dual helix 9s on the console?? [Re: kellisag] #12352409
07/22/17 12:39 AM
07/22/17 12:39 AM
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 4,171
Charlottesville, Va
W
Wayne P. Offline
TFF Team Angler
Wayne P.  Offline
TFF Team Angler
W

Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 4,171
Charlottesville, Va
Originally Posted By: kellisag
Originally Posted By: YAKaddict
Originally Posted By: kellisag
Originally Posted By: bbassfishes
Why wouldn't you run the SI transducer and just network the second unit?


I don't know about the new Mega units but the Gen 1 Helix 9SI transducer doesn't have true DI just inverted Si shots.

You sure about that? Mine has down imaging and I can't find anywhere that it says it doesnt


Yep. It shows up as DI on your screen but it is really a blended view from the left and right side image views.



Correct, Humminbird has been using blended SI to create the DI view on SI units since Jan 12, 2010. Every SI unit made prior to that got a software update to add the DI view.
Only until the ONIX SI unit came out did any SI unit have dedicated Down Imaging.
Now the ONIX SI, SOLIX SI, and MEGA SI units have SI transducers with a dedicated DI crystal.


Humminbird Helix 12 CHIRP SI, 1198c SI, 1198c SI, ONIX 10 SI NT, Helix 7 CHIRP SI GPS G2, SOLIX 12 SI, 360, RC-1
Re: Dual helix 9s on the console?? [Re: CrankinStick aka Chadd] #12353944
07/23/17 04:01 AM
07/23/17 04:01 AM
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 561
Plano
Y
YAKaddict Offline
Pro Angler
YAKaddict  Offline
Pro Angler
Y

Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 561
Plano
That's crazy , so let's say I get a helix 9 di model, will that have true di? And if it does will it look better than it does with my si unit?

Re: Dual helix 9s on the console?? [Re: YAKaddict] #12354041
07/23/17 11:17 AM
07/23/17 11:17 AM
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 4,171
Charlottesville, Va
W
Wayne P. Offline
TFF Team Angler
Wayne P.  Offline
TFF Team Angler
W

Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 4,171
Charlottesville, Va
Originally Posted By: YAKaddict
That's crazy , so let's say I get a helix 9 di model, will that have true di? And if it does will it look better than it does with my si unit?


Yes, the DI transducers have a downward oriented Imaging crystal and a 2D sonar crystal. Every Humminbird DI unit comes with the same transom DI transducer XNT 9 DI T.

Probably will. If you are using the Compact SI transducer, definitely will.

There will be a new MEGA DI unit coming out this Fall, don't know the specifics of the transducer that will be used.

Example of MEGA DI from a Helix MEGA SI unit:


Last edited by Wayne P.; 07/23/17 11:30 AM.

Humminbird Helix 12 CHIRP SI, 1198c SI, 1198c SI, ONIX 10 SI NT, Helix 7 CHIRP SI GPS G2, SOLIX 12 SI, 360, RC-1
Re: Dual helix 9s on the console?? [Re: YAKaddict] #12354043
07/23/17 11:21 AM
07/23/17 11:21 AM
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 4,171
Charlottesville, Va
W
Wayne P. Offline
TFF Team Angler
Wayne P.  Offline
TFF Team Angler
W

Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 4,171
Charlottesville, Va
Originally Posted By: YAKaddict
That's crazy , so let's say I get a helix 9 di model, will that have true di? And if it does will it look better than it does with my si unit?


BTW, Garmin's current ClearVu transducer has two slanted crystals to create what was called DownVu when they were using a single crytal.


Humminbird Helix 12 CHIRP SI, 1198c SI, 1198c SI, ONIX 10 SI NT, Helix 7 CHIRP SI GPS G2, SOLIX 12 SI, 360, RC-1
Re: Dual helix 9s on the console?? [Re: CrankinStick aka Chadd] #12354050
07/23/17 11:39 AM
07/23/17 11:39 AM
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 4,171
Charlottesville, Va
W
Wayne P. Offline
TFF Team Angler
Wayne P.  Offline
TFF Team Angler
W

Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 4,171
Charlottesville, Va
Originally Posted By: CrankinStick aka Chadd
So if I get the 9mega I can network the transducer to work on the helix 9di? I want to run gps and down on the original and side on the new.


Yes you can with a first generation Helix, but cannot view MEGA Imaging, just 455 or 800 kHz.

A G2N DI model will display MEGA DI from the MEGA SI unit.


Humminbird Helix 12 CHIRP SI, 1198c SI, 1198c SI, ONIX 10 SI NT, Helix 7 CHIRP SI GPS G2, SOLIX 12 SI, 360, RC-1
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 1998-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
UBB.threads™ 7.6.2