Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Zebco the unmentioned elephant in the room #12153777 03/23/17 01:02 AM
T
texdanm Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
T
Ok, I'm going someplace that nobody else seems to want to go. I've read over and over where people asked for advice on fishing gear that is inexpensive but functional. Inevitably they end up being told to buy Ambassador reels and such.

I've been fishing for 60+ years. I've caught fish with almost every type of set up imaginable. I now own a couple dozen Ambassador reels and another dozen or so Penn reels and to many spinning reels to count but I have to tell you I've probably caught more fish with Zebcos over the many years than any other type or brand.

I've caught bass to nearly 9lbs on a 33 and an 18 pound flathead with one. My best friend when I was a kid used a Zebco 808 to haul in some huge catfish, redfish and a few pretty large sharks. I got my first Ambassador for my 16th birthday. I still fish with it today. Back then the ABU 5000Bs had a clicker on them and make great catfishing reels. Before that I used several old school Shakespeare knuckle busters for bigger cats and Zebco 33s for smaller eating sized cats.

Back then the only spinning reels were Mitchell reels. I'm left handed and they just didn't work for me. For most things the Zebco was my reels of choice. I probably lost a few fish over the years because it didn't have a huge line capacity but it was very few. The drags back then weren't great but that didn't bother me at all. Knuckle buster directo drive reels don't have adrag. If I hooked something that wanted to run hard on the Zebco 33 I flipped the switch and let the handle spin while I fingered the line for a smooth drag.