texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Tim11, Richard Garison, Stephanie Sisk, BrockW08, Kruppa24
111523 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 92,128
hopalong 82,380
Pilothawk 78,943
John175☮ 73,993
JDavis7873 67,397
Derek 🐝 63,234
Bigbob_FTW 60,442
Tritonman 58,793
Mark Perry 57,623
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums60
Topics764,431
Posts9,616,005
Members111,523
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Lowrance fish finder. #10648352 02/26/15 01:10 AM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 4
A
ARBASSFISHER Offline OP
Green Horn
OP Offline
Green Horn
A
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 4
I recently purchased a Lowrance hds7 generation 2 touch-screen. I am wanting to run a trolling motor transducer as well as a transom mounted transducer. My question is how does the unit know which transducer to use for the down scan. And can I choose the transom mounted transducer when the trolling motor is up.

Re: Lowrance fish finder. [Re: ARBASSFISHER] #10648555 02/26/15 02:22 AM
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 28
T
twolfcoach Offline
Outdoorsman
Offline
Outdoorsman
T
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 28
Welcome to the best fishing forum. These guys will answer your question. Wish i couldv been more help.

Re: Lowrance fish finder. [Re: ARBASSFISHER] #10648681 02/26/15 03:04 AM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,146
G
grout-scout Online Content
TFF Celebrity
Online Content
TFF Celebrity
G
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,146
I just had this discussion on another forum. If you do this you will have to go into the transducer selection menu and reselect the sonar transducer. It confuses the graph having both the LSS and HDI hooked up.
You could run a LSS box and solve that problem though.

Re: Lowrance fish finder. [Re: ARBASSFISHER] #10648742 02/26/15 03:24 AM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 4
A
ARBASSFISHER Offline OP
Green Horn
OP Offline
Green Horn
A
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 4
Arent the LSS boxes like 500 dollars? Is there any other option? Will it work without the LSS box?

Re: Lowrance fish finder. [Re: ARBASSFISHER] #10648759 02/26/15 03:32 AM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,146
G
grout-scout Online Content
TFF Celebrity
Online Content
TFF Celebrity
G
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,146
You can find used boxes fairly cheap (depending on your definition of cheap). Only way around the box is to reselect the sonar choice evertime.



Just about everything you'd ever want to know and a bit you won't care about; but the answer is the final post by Gary.


http://www.bbcboards.net/lowrance-sonar-gps/576497-hdi-83-200-455-800-over-lss-2-a.html

Last edited by grout-scout; 02/26/15 03:35 AM.
Re: Lowrance fish finder. [Re: ARBASSFISHER] #10648777 02/26/15 03:37 AM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 4
A
ARBASSFISHER Offline OP
Green Horn
OP Offline
Green Horn
A
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 4
Will it work good with just reselecting everytime? Or do you have to have a LSS box? Is it pretty easy to reselect the sonar?

Re: Lowrance fish finder. [Re: ARBASSFISHER] #10648784 02/26/15 03:39 AM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 4
A
ARBASSFISHER Offline OP
Green Horn
OP Offline
Green Horn
A
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 4
Do we need the head unit only and do we need the LSS 2.

Re: Lowrance fish finder. [Re: ARBASSFISHER] #10648874 02/26/15 04:13 AM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,146
G
grout-scout Online Content
TFF Celebrity
Online Content
TFF Celebrity
G
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,146
Open an account on the link I sent you. Those guys there can answer all of your questions, I can answer some but I don't have a HDI transducer so I'd just be guessing. In fact the man (Gary) on the post I gave you can & will help you.

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 1998-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3