Most Online39,925
Dec 30th, 2023
Print Thread
Process In Making Scented Living Rubber Skirts #10636167 02/22/15 02:20 AM
Donald Harper Online Happy OP
TFF Guru
OP Online Happy
TFF Guru
I have been using living rubber for my skirts for many years and thought I would share the process. I am using one of the best spinner bait skirts ever made, in Cold Slaw, for the example. You start with the rolls of skirt material cutting the tabs in 5 inch lengths.

Cold Slaw - Three tabs of 20 strands each. Total 60.

Minnow Bath - I leave the skirt tabs in the minnow bath 24 hours. Then I towel them off and seal them in baggies for future skirt building. I try to keep a whole roll of each color cut into tabs and sealed in baggies. I like my jig skirts done in the Night Crawler bath because they are slower moving baits.

Banded Tabs - The three tabs are then banded. This allows me to put them on a bait before hand tying.

Separating the strands - I like to use the end of my splint ring tool to do this process. Using the point of the tool and starting at the black band then pulling the tool down the skirt material over and over until each band is separated. Then I check each band to make sure none have been missed. Then move to the other end and start over.

Hand Tie - Using a .020 copper wire I make two wraps with one end pulling as hard as possible, then two wraps with the other end crossing them over. Then I start the twist of both wires together. I cut off the access leaving a 1/8 inch tag and press it down into the wraps. Using the sharp point of the split ring pliers I remove the band which can be used again.

On The Spinner Bait - With a Stanley Pro Trailer.

Hope this helps you guys that are wanting to build your skirts. I have chosen living rubber because it will hold scent. I want my baits to play upon all of the Bass's scenes especially the big Bass.

Each person you work with holds some promise to your future success.
Websiite Sponsors: