texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
GSFish, Gdorty, Jerroul, troytidwell, 19Tracer
111531 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 92,139
hopalong 82,387
Pilothawk 78,968
John175☮ 74,001
JDavis7873 67,397
Derek 🐝 63,242
Bigbob_FTW 60,498
Tritonman 58,793
Mark Perry 57,645
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums60
Topics764,552
Posts9,617,932
Members111,531
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Navionics website won't update my chip #10635602 02/21/15 08:23 PM
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 206
G
gonfshn Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
G
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 206
I just purchased a brand new Platinum Hotmaps to go with my brand new Lowrance Gen2 Touch units. When I opened the chip packaging I noticed an offer for "12 months of the freshest data for free". I'm a web/tech savvy executive who literally spends hours daily working on different web applications but for the life of me I cannot get the Navionics website to work for me. I've downloaded the Chartplotter, but every link I click just toggles back and forth between two web pages--none of the links connect to a update or download option...it's beyond frustrating. I've sent an email to Navionics, but who knows how long before I hear back from them. Any advice or ideas about what the heck I'm doing wrong?? According to the offer, I have to register my card and start updates prior to using the chip or lose the "Free" perk... I want to get the chip in my unit an start playing around!! Appreciate any suggestions.

Bass Fishing Ad
Re: Navionics website won't update my chip [Re: gonfshn] #10635890 02/21/15 11:42 PM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,228
Y
YankHardReelFast Offline
TFF Team Angler
Offline
TFF Team Angler
Y
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,228
Corey Stanley will be along shortly and he'll line ya out.

Re: Navionics website won't update my chip [Re: gonfshn] #10636144 02/22/15 02:10 AM
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 206
G
gonfshn Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
G
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 206
Talk to me Corey Stanley!

Re: Navionics website won't update my chip [Re: gonfshn] #10636196 02/22/15 02:31 AM
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 108
G
GeeDub Offline
Outdoorsman
Offline
Outdoorsman
G
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 108
Gofshn, I just finished registering/updating my new platinum card. I had some trouble initially, but once I finally got to the download page, it went without a hitch. The instructions were a little confusing. One place said to install the card into the computer, the go to Navionics.com. Another place said to go to Navionics first then insert my card. I believe it was only after I inserted the map card, then went to Navionics installer that the download page came up. You might give that a try if you haven't already.

Re: Navionics website won't update my chip [Re: gonfshn] #10636206 02/22/15 02:34 AM
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 52
W
wacky freak Offline
Outdoorsman
Offline
Outdoorsman
W
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 52
Corey's email is cstanley@navionics.com. he is very knowledgeable and can get you fixed up

Re: Navionics website won't update my chip [Re: gonfshn] #10636459 02/22/15 04:16 AM
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 206
G
gonfshn Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
G
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 206
Thanks Wacky!

Re: Navionics website won't update my chip [Re: gonfshn] #10636610 02/22/15 07:40 AM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 950
B
bassfork Offline
Pro Angler
Offline
Pro Angler
B
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 950
It is really simple once you figure it out. I have been updating my cards for 4 years now. Once you download the chart installer there should be an icon on your desktop. You can do it one of two ways. You can click on the icon to bring up installer then plug in your chip. It will load automatically. When the download screen opens it will have 3 options. You can download all 3 at the same time if you have a really fast internet connection or do as I do and download one thing at a time. There will be sonar logs, charts, and (I can't remember the name) but it is the customer add ons where people upload their fishing info. I have just plugged the chip in and it started the program without having to open the chart installer from the icon. Hope this helps.


U.S.M.C. 1967-1971
RVN 1969
Marble Mountain Air Facility
Da Nang
HML-167 helicopter squadron
Re: Navionics website won't update my chip [Re: gonfshn] #10637995 02/22/15 10:48 PM
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 206
G
gonfshn Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
G
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 206
Hi Bassfork,

I have downloaded the chart installer, inserted my card...and nothing happens. Nothing. I've tried everything and can't get it to recognize my card or prompt me to update the chip, register, etc. Not sure what is wrong...hopefully I'll hear back from Navionics tomorrow. I've even tried it on several computers!

Thanks for the advice tho!

Re: Navionics website won't update my chip [Re: gonfshn] #10638011 02/22/15 10:55 PM
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 8,861
J
JIM SR. Online Crying
TFF Celebrity
Online Crying
TFF Celebrity
J
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 8,861
if there no updates since you bought your chip,..it wont have anything to update I think,
if you bought it, you should have to register it,

Last edited by JIM SR.; 02/22/15 10:56 PM.




Re: Navionics website won't update my chip [Re: gonfshn] #10640104 02/23/15 05:58 PM
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 206
G
gonfshn Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
G
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 206
I finally figured it out!! Google Chrome was blocking the pop up...there was a tiny red x in the top right corner of my Google Chrome window. I clicked on that, cleared the block and SHAZAM! I'm in business. Thanks to all for the support--especially Corey Stanley who took the time to email me back and forth until we fixed my situation.

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 1998-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3