texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Kruppa24, Obiru, VT 18 RIDER, Boudreauxperot, KandKKustomzz
111519 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 92,123
hopalong 82,370
Pilothawk 78,935
John175☮ 73,972
JDavis7873 67,397
Derek 🐝 63,232
Bigbob_FTW 60,413
Tritonman 58,793
Mark Perry 57,600
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums60
Topics764,326
Posts9,614,468
Members111,519
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Replacing hooks on a crank bait #10628309 02/18/15 07:50 PM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 71
T
Transplant from WV Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
T
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 71
Most of the hooks on my crankbaits are pretty rusted simply because I don't use them. I am headed to the store this weekend to replace the them but I am stumped on what size to replace them with, should I also replace the split ring? Any advice would be great.

Thanks


Bill

Impulse Rods - http://www.impulserods.com/
Santone Lures - http://www.santonelures.com/
Bass Fishing Ad
Re: Replacing hooks on a crank bait [Re: Transplant from WV] #10628348 02/18/15 07:58 PM
Joined: Jan 2015
Posts: 175
C
CLedbetter Offline
Outdoorsman
Offline
Outdoorsman
C
Joined: Jan 2015
Posts: 175
Mine usually get caught on a stump and lost before I get a chance to worry about replacing hooks...haha beginner problems

Re: Replacing hooks on a crank bait [Re: Transplant from WV] #10628359 02/18/15 08:01 PM
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,428
L
lipjerk Offline
Extreme Angler
Offline
Extreme Angler
L
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,428

Re: Replacing hooks on a crank bait [Re: Transplant from WV] #10628404 02/18/15 08:13 PM
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 11,677
G
GarySHO Offline
Ice Ice Baby
Offline
Ice Ice Baby
G
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 11,677
your split rings should be fine unless they are really rusty,put little decicant packs in your crankbait boxes to keep moisture off your hooks. I use as big as a hook as I can without impeding the action. For example..Bandit crankbaits come with #6 hooks, they are a little small. I change those out for #5. Varies from one manufacturer to the next.




A vote is like a rifle; its usefulness depends upon the character of the user- Theodore Roosevelt
Broken Bow Lake Fishing Guide
Re: Replacing hooks on a crank bait [Re: Transplant from WV] #10629839 02/19/15 01:12 PM
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 1,812
R
redskeeter190 Offline
Extreme Angler
Offline
Extreme Angler
R
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 1,812
I change all of my hooks with Mustad triple grip short shank hooks...usually go up one size from the original hooks...

Re: Replacing hooks on a crank bait [Re: Transplant from WV] #10629929 02/19/15 01:57 PM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 21,046
C
CCTX Online Content
mapquest
Online Content
mapquest
C
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 21,046
While you are at the store getting new hooks, pick up a cheap lure retriever if you don't have one (Academy sells a Tournament Choice retriever for $4.99). It pays for itself quickly. This way you won't feel bad about putting new sharp hooks on your crankbaits when they grab a stump.


[Linked Image]
Re: Replacing hooks on a crank bait [Re: Transplant from WV] #10630089 02/19/15 02:46 PM
Joined: Jul 2013
Posts: 5,744
Bissett Offline
TFF Celebrity
Offline
TFF Celebrity
Joined: Jul 2013
Posts: 5,744
I like to replace the front treble with a red one. Not on all my cranks but I always have a few rigged and ready

Last edited by Bissett; 02/19/15 02:47 PM.


Re: Replacing hooks on a crank bait [Re: CCTX] #10630197 02/19/15 03:19 PM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 71
T
Transplant from WV Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
T
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 71
Originally Posted By: collincountytx
While you are at the store getting new hooks, pick up a cheap lure retriever if you don't have one (Academy sells a Tournament Choice retriever for $4.99). It pays for itself quickly. This way you won't feel bad about putting new sharp hooks on your crankbaits when they grab a stump.



Thanks for the info. I didn't have much in the way of stumps I had to worry about back in Ohio/PA.


Bill

Impulse Rods - http://www.impulserods.com/
Santone Lures - http://www.santonelures.com/
Re: Replacing hooks on a crank bait [Re: Transplant from WV] #10630260 02/19/15 03:41 PM
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 1,334
SAKS Online Happy
Extreme Angler
Online Happy
Extreme Angler
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 1,334
I will put a red front hook on 1 bait per color I have. I don't change the size. I would replace the split ring if there is rust on it. Also I have started using the Flambeau boxes with the blue dividers. They are supposed to emit a vapor that stops rusting. So far so good with them to date.

Re: Replacing hooks on a crank bait [Re: Transplant from WV] #10631968 02/20/15 03:10 AM
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 3,432
T
Thad Rains Online Content
TFF Team Angler
Online Content
TFF Team Angler
T
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 3,432
I like VMC round bend 2X hooks. Used to get them in 3x and 4X, but they do the job VERY well. Depends on if there is any rust on the split ring. If there is, then yes, I would switch them out as well. Get you a a GOOD pair of split ring pliers from Texas Tackle and let them do the whole job for you. Hope this helps.

Tight lines, keep safe and good luck.

Thad Rains


Tight lines, keep safe and good luck.

Thad Rains
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 1998-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3