texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Fishingchick82, GulfCoastDon2020, Duck Hunter Mann, Alto22, selnak
111549 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 92,163
hopalong 82,402
Pilothawk 78,997
John175☮ 74,047
JDavis7873 67,397
Derek 🐝 63,278
Bigbob_FTW 60,589
Tritonman 58,794
Mark Perry 57,669
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums60
Topics764,786
Posts9,621,700
Members111,549
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
lowrance hds 12 #10626019 02/17/15 09:19 PM
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,994
Atta Offline OP
Extreme Angler
OP Offline
Extreme Angler
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,994
do you have to use the 83/20 and the SS transducer or just use the ss transducer with this unit?

Also, do yall lowrance user like the hds10 or the hds12 better?

thanks


Pro Staff:
[Duckett Fishing][WOO! Tungsten][T-H Marine]
Bass Fishing Ad
Re: lowrance hds 12 [Re: Atta] #10626029 02/17/15 09:22 PM
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,566
SKEETER_MAN_225 Offline
TFF Team Angler
Offline
TFF Team Angler
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,566
I like my hds 10. But I Haven't had a chance to play with the hds 12 yet.

Last edited by SKEETER_MAN_225; 02/17/15 09:22 PM.

Pete B. Hernandez
Matthew 4:19
[Linked Image]
www.tackledepot.com
Re: lowrance hds 12 [Re: Atta] #10626043 02/17/15 09:28 PM
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,485
P
pinesjunkie Offline
Extreme Angler
Offline
Extreme Angler
P
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,485
I have two 12 love them,I run ss transducer on the back and 83/200 on the front works great!


Brad Smith
Re: lowrance hds 12 [Re: Atta] #10626054 02/17/15 09:32 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 977
J
jfdawson Online Happy
Pro Angler
Online Happy
Pro Angler
J
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 977
If you want 2D traditional SONAR, then yes, you would connect the 83/200 Transducer. If you only want SideSCAN or DownScan, then the LSS2 ( StructureScan ) transducer will work without the 2D transducer. It's My opinion that you will want BOTH Transducers hooked up and working together so you can compare the 2 side by side. StructureSCAN does not work once you're up on plane, so the 2D Sonar will still work ( assuming it's mounted properly ).

Re: lowrance hds 12 [Re: Atta] #10626064 02/17/15 09:37 PM
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,994
Atta Offline OP
Extreme Angler
OP Offline
Extreme Angler
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,994
is there an a setting that i have to change to view 2d and ss together or does the unit do it itself? i would like to just be able to set my pages and go. I have only messed with lowrances in BPS. i use birds now so if i switch i would like it to be pretty easy lol.


Pro Staff:
[Duckett Fishing][WOO! Tungsten][T-H Marine]
Re: lowrance hds 12 [Re: pinesjunkie] #10626066 02/17/15 09:38 PM
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,994
Atta Offline OP
Extreme Angler
OP Offline
Extreme Angler
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,994
Originally Posted By: pinesjunkie
I have two 12 love them,I run ss transducer on the back and 83/200 on the front works great!


can you share the side and down like with the LSS-2 box or would you need to get the SS ducer up front?


Pro Staff:
[Duckett Fishing][WOO! Tungsten][T-H Marine]
Re: lowrance hds 12 [Re: Atta] #10626119 02/17/15 10:04 PM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,228
Y
YankHardReelFast Offline
TFF Team Angler
Offline
TFF Team Angler
Y
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,228
Bigger is always better when it comes to electronics. When I had an 8 and a 10, I hated the 8...now I have a 12 and a 10 and the 10 looks small!

As far as viewing sonar and side scan at the same time, yes it can be done on the same screen assuming you have your transducers correctly connected. You simply have to customize a screen with 2 or more panes and then select whichever views you want shown. For example, I have one screen where it shows 4 different views - side scan, down scan, sonar and GPS. When I am running, I use a screen that is only GPS and sonar.

Originally Posted By: Atta
can you share the side and down like with the LSS-2 box or would you need to get the SS ducer up front?

You can share the side/down scan transducer. You will not benefit as much from side/down image on the bow as much as you will at the console. I would be more concerned with having a sonar transducer on my TM for my graph at the bow instead of side/down image.

Re: lowrance hds 12 [Re: Atta] #10626146 02/17/15 10:14 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 977
J
jfdawson Online Happy
Pro Angler
Online Happy
Pro Angler
J
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 977
Atta, to answer your first question regarding screen sharing, the answer is Both the HDS 10 and 12 can do it. The 12 is Touch screen and it's easier to customize the screen layout because you can simply select the screen you want and drag it around to position it where you want it. On the HDS 10, it's selecting Sub pages in the Pages Scroll to get the screen splits that you want. it would be easier to show than explain on here. I would suggest you search YOUTUBE and watch the video's to learn some of the features. There's a bunch of HOW TO video's on the HDS touch and non touch.

As for your 2nd question, the answer is YES.. you can have Sidescan and Downscan on the same screen. In fact you can also have downscan OVERLAY on top of your mapping, so you can say move over a roadbed and actually see it show up as a downscan image on your map. Personally, I would suggest you keep the 2 transducers together on the transome mounted 12-18" inches apart but both reading from the same part of the boat. If you decide to get another unit for the bow, then you can network the 2 HDS units and share transducers and other data.

Re: lowrance hds 12 [Re: Atta] #10626299 02/17/15 11:31 PM
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,994
Atta Offline OP
Extreme Angler
OP Offline
Extreme Angler
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,994
Yes, I want to put the hds12 2d and side scan on the transom as they are supposed to be. Up front I will run just a 2d. Then if I want to see what's down (behind me) there I'll link and share the side/down.

I won't split the transducers up that read at the dash. The bow in not to concerned with.

Thanks for your guys help. I think I'm gonna go with a 12 and a 9 or 2 12's


Pro Staff:
[Duckett Fishing][WOO! Tungsten][T-H Marine]
Re: lowrance hds 12 [Re: Atta] #10626376 02/18/15 12:09 AM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 977
J
jfdawson Online Happy
Pro Angler
Online Happy
Pro Angler
J
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 977
I would suggest that you get the HDI transducer for the bow.. That way you get both 2d and downscan at the bow... That way you'll see what under you vs, what's under the back of the boat. Connect both units with an ETHERNET cable and share all the transducers on either unit.

Re: lowrance hds 12 [Re: Atta] #10627014 02/18/15 04:50 AM
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 806
J
JimmyP Offline
Pro Angler
Offline
Pro Angler
J
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 806
Atta, my boat came with a 12 and a 9 touch. If you can afford it go ahead and get the two 12's. Wish I would have paid for the upgrade now. You will love the Touches. I had Humminbird on my old boat and just love my new touches.

Re: lowrance hds 12 [Re: Atta] #10627832 02/18/15 04:21 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 13,947
E
ezbassin Offline
TFF Guru
Offline
TFF Guru
E
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 13,947
I have a 12 touch on the dash and a 9 touch up front. I have an 83/200 transducer mounted (in the bilge area) to shoot through the hull going directly to the 12. I have an LSS2 mounted on the transom going directly to the 12. I have a TM150 transducer mounted on the transom going to the Sonar hub. I have a HDI transducer on the trolling motor going to the touch 9 up front. I have one ethernet cable going to the 12 and another one going to the 9 from the sonar hub. I am still in the process of learning all the features these units have on them.

Last edited by ezbassin; 02/18/15 04:22 PM.
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 1998-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3