texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
WM78, Danceswitholdsmobile, Skampy2020, 12 gague, Bassmaster1990
111556 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 92,174
hopalong 82,415
Pilothawk 79,002
John175☮ 74,056
JDavis7873 67,397
Derek 🐝 63,278
Bigbob_FTW 60,630
Tritonman 58,794
Mark Perry 57,692
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums60
Topics764,917
Posts9,623,596
Members111,556
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Lowrance on a Phoenix? #10626007 02/17/15 09:13 PM
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 2,974
B
bush hog Online Content OP
Extreme Angler
OP Online Content
Extreme Angler
B
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 2,974
Upgrading from HDS5 to HDS7 touch and was wondering if they're any Phoenix owners that can tell me where they mounted the LSS transducer. I'm thinking on the bottom of the jack plate but that will put it about 18 inches from the 2d transducer which is already mounted in the hull. Any info would sure be appreciated.


To whom much is given, much is required.
Re: Lowrance on a Phoenix? [Re: bush hog] #10627337 02/18/15 01:52 PM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,185
G
grout-scout Online Content
TFF Celebrity
Online Content
TFF Celebrity
G
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,185
The 18" (the transducers) only matters if you are going to use the sonar/DI overlay. Mine (skeeter boat) are easily 18" apart and that feature still works but I haven't found a good use for that feature. Sounds neat but just doesn't add anything important.

Last edited by grout-scout; 02/18/15 01:54 PM. Reason: Spelling error
Re: Lowrance on a Phoenix? [Re: bush hog] #10627702 02/18/15 03:44 PM
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 2,974
B
bush hog Online Content OP
Extreme Angler
OP Online Content
Extreme Angler
B
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 2,974
Ok, so you still get a good down image picture? I was interpreting that both transducers had to be within 12 inches. Thanks for the reply by the way.


To whom much is given, much is required.
Re: Lowrance on a Phoenix? [Re: bush hog] #10627882 02/18/15 04:43 PM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,180
D
Dayne Offline
TFF Team Angler
Offline
TFF Team Angler
D
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,180
Mine is about a foot apart and like g-s mentioned, I haven't found the overlay to be of much use to me. I'd really like to hear from someone who finds it useful.

Re: Lowrance on a Phoenix? [Re: bush hog] #10629051 02/19/15 01:12 AM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,185
G
grout-scout Online Content
TFF Celebrity
Online Content
TFF Celebrity
G
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,185
Yep, the sonar and DI are 2 totally different systems. I don't have any pics to show you what the overlay does but trust Dayne and me, it's not useful.

Re: Lowrance on a Phoenix? [Re: bush hog] #10629406 02/19/15 03:32 AM
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 2,974
B
bush hog Online Content OP
Extreme Angler
OP Online Content
Extreme Angler
B
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 2,974
I found a short video by Lowrance showing the DI overlay. Looks like it just enhances the 2D view. My plan is to use the 2D transducer that's already in the hull but it will be about 18 inches from the SSI transducer and I was afraid I wouldn't get a good Down Image picture. I didn't realize what the DI overlay was. Thanks for the replies and help.


To whom much is given, much is required.
Re: Lowrance on a Phoenix? [Re: grout-scout] #10632353 02/20/15 12:14 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,156
OkieBob Offline
TFF Team Angler
Offline
TFF Team Angler
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,156
Originally Posted By: grout-scout
Yep, the sonar and DI are 2 totally different systems. I don't have any pics to show you what the overlay does but trust Dayne and me, it's not useful.


My feelings exactly, I thought it was just me! I see no use for the overlay and never use it.


I'M SOONER BORN, SOONER BRED AND WHEN I DIE I'LL BE SOONER DEAD!
Chickasaw proud.
[Linked Image]CallMatthew@972-754-1698 http://jigumjigs.com

MEMBER WALLY MARSHALL'S MR CRAPPIE PROSTAFF
MEMBER JIGUM JIGS PROSTAFF
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 1998-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3