texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Duck Hunter Mann, Alto22, selnak, Rocky Barbacoa, welsh
111547 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 92,157
hopalong 82,401
Pilothawk 78,989
John175☮ 74,038
JDavis7873 67,397
Derek 🐝 63,271
Bigbob_FTW 60,563
Tritonman 58,794
Mark Perry 57,667
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums60
Topics764,736
Posts9,620,947
Members111,547
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Problem with lowrance hds8 graph #10606066 02/09/15 10:53 PM
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 427
B
BDURHAM78 Offline OP
Angler
OP Offline
Angler
B
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 427
My hds8 on the bow will work for about 15 mins then it will start flickering and goes to the lowrance home screen. I have to unplug the power, plug it back up then another 15 min later the same thing.

Re: Problem with lowrance hds8 graph [Re: BDURHAM78] #10606105 02/09/15 11:15 PM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,180
D
Dayne Online Content
TFF Team Angler
Online Content
TFF Team Angler
D
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,180
What generation is it? Does it have the latest software update?

Re: Problem with lowrance hds8 graph [Re: BDURHAM78] #10606171 02/09/15 11:55 PM
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 427
B
BDURHAM78 Offline OP
Angler
OP Offline
Angler
B
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 427
It is gen1

Re: Problem with lowrance hds8 graph [Re: BDURHAM78] #10617363 02/14/15 12:49 AM
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 567
M
MAK747 Offline
Pro Angler
Offline
Pro Angler
M
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 567
Clean all your connectors and verify that you have good voltage to the head unit. Can you move it to the console position and see if it works there?

Re: Problem with lowrance hds8 graph [Re: BDURHAM78] #10617447 02/14/15 01:32 AM
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 427
B
BDURHAM78 Offline OP
Angler
OP Offline
Angler
B
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 427
I just updated it the other night. I will see if that works .if not I will move it to the driver console and see if it still gives me problems

Re: Problem with lowrance hds8 graph [Re: BDURHAM78] #10618242 02/14/15 02:36 PM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,180
D
Dayne Online Content
TFF Team Angler
Online Content
TFF Team Angler
D
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,180
You might try a soft reset.

Re: Problem with lowrance hds8 graph [Re: BDURHAM78] #10619541 02/15/15 05:53 AM
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 427
B
BDURHAM78 Offline OP
Angler
OP Offline
Angler
B
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 427
After the update it still does it. It is flickering after being on the lake for a bit with livewell pumps on and both fish finders going. I think the battery reserved volts are dropping.

Re: Problem with lowrance hds8 graph [Re: BDURHAM78] #10619565 02/15/15 06:27 AM
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 965
B
big fish2 Offline
Pro Angler
Offline
Pro Angler
B
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 965
Do you have it hard wired to the battery or to the power supply in the front ?

Re: Problem with lowrance hds8 graph [Re: big fish2] #10619780 02/15/15 02:13 PM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,166
G
grout-scout Online Content
TFF Celebrity
Online Content
TFF Celebrity
G
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,166
Originally Posted By: big fish2
Do you have it hard wired to the battery or to the power supply in the front ?



Bingo! The factory wiring is subpar and you will need to wire your graphs directly to the battery, the livewell comment was all you needed to say.

Re: Problem with lowrance hds8 graph [Re: BDURHAM78] #10619978 02/15/15 03:51 PM
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 427
B
BDURHAM78 Offline OP
Angler
OP Offline
Angler
B
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 427
Yes it is wired to the front power supply

Re: Problem with lowrance hds8 graph [Re: BDURHAM78] #10621011 02/16/15 01:33 AM
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 965
B
big fish2 Offline
Pro Angler
Offline
Pro Angler
B
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 965
Run wires to the battery and your problems will go away.

Re: Problem with lowrance hds8 graph [Re: BDURHAM78] #10624571 02/17/15 12:38 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,156
OkieBob Offline
TFF Team Angler
Offline
TFF Team Angler
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,156
You can display and/or alarm for voltage readout on your HDS screen. That way you can monitor your voltage to the HDS.
NEVER connect your electronics to your trolling motor batteries and always wire them directly to your cranking battery.
I recommend a strait direct wire with nothing else connected, to the cranking battery.


I'M SOONER BORN, SOONER BRED AND WHEN I DIE I'LL BE SOONER DEAD!
Chickasaw proud.
[Linked Image]CallMatthew@972-754-1698 http://jigumjigs.com

MEMBER WALLY MARSHALL'S MR CRAPPIE PROSTAFF
MEMBER JIGUM JIGS PROSTAFF
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 1998-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3