texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
19Tracer, ChanceD, Woodrow Caw, case485, Tim11
111527 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 92,138
hopalong 82,385
Pilothawk 78,965
John175☮ 73,999
JDavis7873 67,397
Derek 🐝 63,240
Bigbob_FTW 60,492
Tritonman 58,793
Mark Perry 57,640
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums60
Topics764,527
Posts9,617,562
Members111,527
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Rule interpretation #10564782 01/24/15 02:09 AM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 983
B
balata9999 Offline OP
Pro Angler
OP Offline
Pro Angler
B
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 983
I wanted to know what everyone thought of this scenario for the sake of discusion, I have no dog in the fight so to speak, as I am not fishing this particular tournament and don't care either way, it just seemed this might be a grey area rules wise, but maybe I am completely off base. Opinions please and someone set me straight if I am wrong. Here is the scenario:

Team tournament on a lake where the regulation is as follows: anglers can keep 5 bass in any combo of species, but only 2 may be under 18 inches. The tournament is allowing each team to bring in 4 unders for the team. I guess where I am confused is does the regulation for an angler keeping two unders change in the team format? I would think the only way to do this would be each angler keep up with their own fish seperately and only cull their own fish all day and then combine them at the end of the day (which may be the case, as I said I'm not fishing and just going by what was described on the website). Seems to me that if one angler culled for the other, or one caught all four unders that would be a kind of grey area legally? I would think it would be hard to police. Or am I wrong and the rules change for team tounaments like this? I am not trying to start something just genuinely curious if I am interpreting the law correctly or not? I fished several other tournaments where the team has to conform to the two unders rule, maybe its up to the tournament director? Anyone know for sure?

Bass Fishing Ad
Re: Rule interpretation [Re: balata9999] #10564824 01/24/15 02:29 AM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 4,450
L
Legend LE-195 Offline
TFF Team Angler
Offline
TFF Team Angler
L
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 4,450
BLT alan henry? Legally a group of anglers can keep double the bag limit in your livewell but no more so I don't believe there is any rule against mixing and matching between people on the boat, I believe thats the way guides have always done it with white bass, keep catching until you reach the possession limit, doesn't matter if one individual angler catches more than the bag limit.

Re: Rule interpretation [Re: balata9999] #10564886 01/24/15 03:00 AM
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 1,601
P
pil,b Offline
Extreme Angler
Offline
Extreme Angler
P
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 1,601
Just have your story straight for any GW. fish

Re: Rule interpretation [Re: balata9999] #10564894 01/24/15 03:02 AM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 8,254
F
Fishspanker Offline
TFF Celebrity
Offline
TFF Celebrity
F
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 8,254
Bag Limits are technically per person. If it's 5 bass then each can have 5. You can't have one guy with 7 and the other with 3. However they don't enforce it that way.


A Nation of Sheep will soon have a government of Wolves.
Re: Rule interpretation [Re: Legend LE-195] #10564901 01/24/15 03:05 AM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 8,254
F
Fishspanker Offline
TFF Celebrity
Offline
TFF Celebrity
F
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 8,254
Originally Posted By: Bossbowman
BLT alan henry? Legally a group of anglers can keep double the bag limit in your livewell but no more so I don't believe there is any rule against mixing and matching between people on the boat, I believe thats the way guides have always done it with white bass, keep catching until you reach the possession limit, doesn't matter if one individual angler catches more than the bag limit.


Technically it does but they don't enforce it that way. But in this case they are setting up a rule designed to violate the technical regulation . They should say a Angler can only keep two unders but a team can have 4.


A Nation of Sheep will soon have a government of Wolves.
Re: Rule interpretation [Re: balata9999] #10565224 01/24/15 01:28 PM
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,130
3
374 Trigger Offline
Extreme Angler
Offline
Extreme Angler
3
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,130
I really don't like fishin those kind of mixed size limit tourneys.

Re: Rule interpretation [Re: balata9999] #10565506 01/24/15 03:47 PM
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 24,025
W
WAWI Online Content
TFF Guru
Online Content
TFF Guru
W
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 24,025
Ivie has a deal like that, I have fished tourneys that only allow 2 and ones that take 4. I don't spend much time worrying about it.

Re: Rule interpretation [Re: balata9999] #10565572 01/24/15 04:22 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,922
S
Skeeter man ZX225 Online Content
Extreme Angler
Online Content
Extreme Angler
S
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,922
So quit fishing tournaments on slot lakes and your problems will be solved. (just an opinion)I personally don't like them but do fish some of them, my dislikes are the larger clubs that allow jackpotters, so you go to lakes like Fork and there are 30 more names fishing that you wont see at any of the other lakes on their schedule, but it is all about the money. So you can live with the rules or fish something else. The game wardens more than likely will not check every boat that has 4 unders to see which anglers caught which fish. Unless there is a lot of complaints registered with the Parks and Wildlife dept. Good luck

Re: Rule interpretation [Re: balata9999] #10566430 01/25/15 12:49 AM
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 3,796
R
Razorback Offline
TFF Team Angler
Offline
TFF Team Angler
R
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 3,796
If you catch a keeper fish and give it to someone else does it count against your limit for the day?

Re: Rule interpretation [Re: Razorback] #10566649 01/25/15 02:12 AM
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 3,916
B
Bobby Milam Online Content
TFF Team Angler
Online Content
TFF Team Angler
B
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 3,916
If you didn't keep it then no it shouldn't count against your limit BUT the rule that was initially posted one only one rule out of the tournament. You would have to read all of the rules because I would bet that it is covered somewhere else such as you can't get information from anyone else on tournament days and etc.

Re: Rule interpretation [Re: balata9999] #10566831 01/25/15 03:37 AM
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 881
S
sprigsss Online Content
Pro Angler
Online Content
Pro Angler
S
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 881
When I first read this I kind of shrugged it off. But now that I think about it, it seems like most rules state that you must abide by all state rules and regulations.

Although I think it would be a bit ridiculous to keep your short fish separate to make sure a team doesn't weigh in 3 short fish caught by 1 angler. At the end of the day the fish are getting released.

Probably would have been several 2 and 3 fish stringers at Alan Henry today.

Re: Rule interpretation [Re: balata9999] #10566847 01/25/15 03:49 AM
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,540
C
cephusjoe Offline
Extreme Angler
Offline
Extreme Angler
C
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,540
I wish there was more team fishing around here... Top 5


Mcurtain county okie
Re: Rule interpretation [Re: balata9999] #10566858 01/25/15 03:52 AM
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 3,432
T
Thad Rains Offline
TFF Team Angler
Offline
TFF Team Angler
T
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 3,432
I run the Friday night working man's T on AH in the spring, summer and fall. Our tournament is an individual T and no sharing is allowed. Being an individual T, you can also fish 3 or 4 to a boat, as long as you follow USCG regs on number of people in the boat. I saw where there were 2 overs brought to the scales on Fork in a recent T, so each angler got to keep one. Wouldn't that be a nice problem to have. Did one angler catch both of the overs? or did they each catch one? Dunno. In my opinion, it is a TEAM tournament and thus, sharing of short fish is allowed, even though this might be against the state rules. I will have to ask the BRA what their interpretation is. It might be different answers from each authority you ask, too, so who knows. Hope this helps.

Tight lines, keep safe and good luck.

Thad Rains


Tight lines, keep safe and good luck.

Thad Rains
Re: Rule interpretation [Re: balata9999] #10567564 01/25/15 04:09 PM
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,622
S
Shawn Mead Offline
TFF Team Angler
Offline
TFF Team Angler
S
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,622
The only way you can bring Fork into this discussion is if you are comparing the "overs". Most, if not all, Team tournament trails do not allow multiple overs brought to the scale by the same team. I don't know of one if it does exist but the chances are slim for it to even be a problem. That is if we are talking about a 5 fish bag limit in a team format



Lake Fork Mafia
Re: Rule interpretation [Re: balata9999] #10569235 01/26/15 05:25 AM
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,570
D
David Burton Online Confused
Extreme Angler
Online Confused
Extreme Angler
D
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,570
Bag limit would be per person, but it isn't a catch limit. In the scenario, a fish is 'transferred' to the other person. This is the same situation with Big Bass tournaments on Fork. Once you weigh in an over, you are free to catch another.

As to Team tournaments on Fork with multiple overs per team. I saw a few on Bass Champs last year where each Team Member caught an over, so the team was allowed to poses two and weigh them in. It encourages Teams to fish instead of individuals as a team.


David Burton
2015 Skeeter FX 21

...and down goes PhotoBucket with the new Terms of Service... I predict they will be out of business or begging for forgiveness inside a month. 6/30/2017
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 1998-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3