Print Thread
Trailer maintenance tips #10373758 10/27/14 02:49 PM
N
NitroUSAF Offline OP
Extreme Angler
OP Offline
Extreme Angler
N
As I read the tff forum on a weekly basis I often see things that amaze me; most of them are complaints about something related to fishing. One of the things I have noticed lately is people complaining about trailers. No I am not an expert by no means, however when you spend your adult life working on highly technical fighter aircraft and supporting equipment, you learn thing or two. So here are my top five things I think extends your trailers life; by the way I have never had a rust issue on any boat I have ever owned.
1. Keep the trailer lubed. Anywhere you have a section on the trailer that moves, lubes it. This is mainly the tongue, trailer jack and wheel bearings (lube or penetrating oil). When apply appropriate grease dont be shy, make sure you force all water out of the system.
2. Bunk Boards check the bolts quit often. This is easiest when you launch your boat. If you have a crescent wrench, you will always have the right size to tighten the bolt. Once you have reached a point where the bolt will no longer tighten, do not rush to change out the entire bunk board. If you are tight on money the easiest thing to do is to remove the bunk board and flip it 180 degrees. You will need to drill a pilot hole and then install the bolts in the new location. The will buy you more life usage on the bunk board.