texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
CBSUGG, Mickey K, fuwfriend, Fishmatic, augiemo32
109510 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 90,323
hopalong 79,059
Pilothawk 77,780
John175® 70,229
JDavis7873® 67,393
Derek 🐝 61,832
Tritonman 58,485
Mark Perry 55,188
LoneStarSon® 54,907
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums60
Topics739,923
Posts12,289,233
Members109,510
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Lowrance HDS 10 & 8 Gen 2 - Voltage alarm #10305038
09/24/14 09:09 AM
09/24/14 09:09 AM
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 448
M
MtnHm203 Offline OP
Angler
MtnHm203  Offline OP
Angler
M

Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 448
I have the above networked together with an LSS-1 Structure scan. After a couple hours of having all of the above on - the "Voltage Alarm" goes off indicating that the supply voltage has dropped to 11 volts or less - however, if I check actual battery voltage, it is always 12+ volts. I have just put a NEW Optima group 27 AGM battery in the boat -problem still exists. Freaks me out, as I expect to go crank up the motor, and have it go "click, click" and not start - never happens.

I have wired the supply voltage to these units through the main "Power" switch on the boat.

Anybody have this happen? Or what could it be?

Re: Lowrance HDS 10 & 8 Gen 2 - Voltage alarm [Re: MtnHm203] #10305138
09/24/14 11:48 AM
09/24/14 11:48 AM
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 994
Waco, TX
J
javelin150 Offline
Pro Angler
javelin150  Offline
Pro Angler
J

Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 994
Waco, TX
Wire both graphs directly to your optima battery and bypass the main power switch. This should solve your problem. It is not uncommon to have a voltage drop when wiring through a switch in boats

Last edited by javelin150; 09/24/14 11:49 AM.
Re: Lowrance HDS 10 & 8 Gen 2 - Voltage alarm [Re: MtnHm203] #10306832
09/25/14 12:47 AM
09/25/14 12:47 AM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 7,393
Boerne, Texas
G
grout-scout Offline
TFF Celebrity
grout-scout  Offline
TFF Celebrity
G

Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 7,393
Boerne, Texas
I had the same problem. There is just too much junk tied into the main power source (and the wiring is too small), do as mentioned above and make a dedicated electronic circuit running to the batteries.

Last edited by grout-scout; 09/25/14 12:47 AM.
Re: Lowrance HDS 10 & 8 Gen 2 - Voltage alarm [Re: MtnHm203] #10308619
09/25/14 08:07 PM
09/25/14 08:07 PM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,279
Plano, TX
U
UJC Offline
Extreme Angler
UJC  Offline
Extreme Angler
U

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,279
Plano, TX
I have Gen 1 HDS 8 and 10. Both are direct to starting battery. I had the same problem with the alerts going off and beeping. This got tiresome because like you, the starting battery is good as indicated by the console voltage gauge and separate voltage reader. I just think the units are sensitive when the start battery is cranked. My remedy was to turn off the alarms and sound to the alarm. Then I set one or two screens on each unit to have the voltage displayed so I can keep an eye on it from time to time, especially if on the water for long periods of time.


LIVE PURPLE LOVE GOLD
Geaux Tigers!
Jimmy
Re: Lowrance HDS 10 & 8 Gen 2 - Voltage alarm [Re: UJC] #10320126
10/01/14 07:43 AM
10/01/14 07:43 AM
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 448
M
MtnHm203 Offline OP
Angler
MtnHm203  Offline OP
Angler
M

Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 448
All good stuff guys, and thanks. I kind of new that may be the problem. Just have to muster up the energy to get it done. I have the tools to do it (an electrical snake). I'll probably get some 14 gauge, 2 wire SO cord to do it. Or maybe just a good quality extension cord from Home Depot.

14 Gauge wire good enough ya think?

Re: Lowrance HDS 10 & 8 Gen 2 - Voltage alarm [Re: MtnHm203] #10320750
10/01/14 04:16 PM
10/01/14 04:16 PM
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,710
L
Lou r Pitcher Offline
Extreme Angler
Lou r Pitcher  Offline
Extreme Angler
L

Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,710
At <12.2 volts measured at battery, you would be over-discharging your cranking battery

1) Best Fix: Use a dedicated House Electronics Battery...end of voltage issues. ( and your cranking battery voltage should never be allowed to fall below about 12.2 volts (50% state of charge) which will sulfate the plates and permanently damages it.)

2) Else, get a larger cranking battery and also find cause of such a large voltage drop in console, rather than just wire around it....better boat builders size their wiring to prevent such issues.

3) Last, if giving up and wiring around the console, and if fishing brackish/salt water, use marine grade wiring directly to the battery and not through any existing breaker.
Don't forget the needed fuse located within inches of the battery.

Re: Lowrance HDS 10 & 8 Gen 2 - Voltage alarm [Re: MtnHm203] #12552903
12/27/17 05:14 PM
12/27/17 05:14 PM
Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 1
N
NealXu Offline
Green Horn
NealXu  Offline
Green Horn
N

Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 1
Hi...i wil suggest If you have just a little bit of bad contact - you can loose voltage.Then check your alternator cables and alternators. Since it only happens when you are running - you might have a defective alternator or a bad ground connection to the engine.Then check your cables are the right size
Then check your ground circuit. A little bit of corrosion can really FU your voltages.

Re: Lowrance HDS 10 & 8 Gen 2 - Voltage alarm [Re: javelin150] #12552992
12/27/17 06:24 PM
12/27/17 06:24 PM
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 7,273
Temple, TX.
T
T Bird Online content
TFF Celebrity
T Bird  Online Content
TFF Celebrity
T

Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 7,273
Temple, TX.
Originally Posted By: javelin150
Wire both graphs directly to your optima battery and bypass the main power switch. This should solve your problem. It is not uncommon to have a voltage drop when wiring through a switch in boats


Agree. Additionally, if you don't want graph connectors powered up continuously, you can add a dedicated switch for each graph. I did and have no issues running 2 HDS 12's/Ethernet linked.



Re: Lowrance HDS 10 & 8 Gen 2 - Voltage alarm [Re: MtnHm203] #12553245
12/27/17 10:01 PM
12/27/17 10:01 PM
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 994
Waco, TX
J
javelin150 Offline
Pro Angler
javelin150  Offline
Pro Angler
J

Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 994
Waco, TX
I doubt he is still having this problem lol. The original post is over three years old

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 1998-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
UBB.threads™ 7.6.2