Texas Fishing Forum

grapevine highschool needs a captian

Posted By: PIGHUNTER

grapevine highschool needs a captian - 11/11/17 12:19 AM

my capiian has not been able to fish this year. i need a captian for the deration of the season. if you can help or srtear me in the right direction please email me.
sharkey286717@gmail.com
Posted By: White Oak Skeeter

Re: grapevine highschool needs a captian - 12/27/17 01:14 PM

Just wondering, do they still offer English in high school these days?
Posted By: C130

Re: grapevine highschool needs a captian - 12/27/17 02:59 PM

Originally Posted By: BWBForney
Just wondering, do they still offer English in high school these days?

I grew up in a very rural area of Tennessee, one high school for the entire county. I graduated in 1986 and I’m shocked by today’s education or lack thereof. Kids cannot write a sentence, let alone multiple paragraphs. When young men and women in high school can’t even spell high school there might be an issue.

Unfortunately, about 90% of their communication is done via text or Snapchat and they don’t even attempt to differentiate when writing anything down on paper or the internet. I have two teenagers and I’m constantly having this conversation.

Re: grapevine highschool needs a captian - 12/27/17 09:57 PM

C130, I graduated from Jenks(OK) High School in 1981, then the University of Tulsa in 1985, with a minor in English. My wife says I'm too picky and all of my kids say, "who cares!" I try to help them understand, those of us who hire people for jobs, with the potential for future advancement into management positions, do actually care if they use proper grammar and are generally able to spell. I'm amazed at the resumes I receive with 5-50 spelling and grammar errors. I understand this is a hijacking of the thread but sometimes points should be made. Even if no one cares!! I'm glad, one other person does care!!
Posted By: Tim Haugh

Re: grapevine highschool needs a captian - 12/28/17 12:48 AM