Texas Fishing Forum

Beginner Equipment Question

Posted By: TWO2SEVEN

Beginner Equipment Question - 06/15/17 12:18 PM

Beginner question:

I am fairly new to fishing. Up until now I have borrowed equipment. My wife is giving me money to buy some stuff of my own for Father's Day. I have plenty of rods and reels (my father in law is going out of the country for a year so I have access to his stuff). He has a lot of tackle as well, but I'd rather not lose any of his stuff.

My question is, if you had about $75-100 to spend to get started, what would you get?

I will mostly be bank fishing in the local ponds with the occasional camping trip thrown in at national parks.

Heading to Academy tonight to get started. Thanks!
Posted By: K. Loomis

Re: Beginner Equipment Question - 06/15/17 01:07 PM

Put together a good spinning combo. Its definitly your cheaper/ most versatile option. Id head to amazon or the 5miles/letgo apps to find a good deal on something you actually want. The abu garcia vendetta spinning rods have held up well for me.

Re: Beginner Equipment Question - 06/15/17 02:07 PM

Originally Posted By: K. Loomis
Put together a good spinning combo. Its definitly your cheaper/ most versatile option. Id head to amazon or the 5miles/letgo apps to find a good deal on something you actually want. The abu garcia vendetta spinning rods have held up well for me.

Thank you! I am good on rods/reels for now. My father in law dropped off six last weekend smile
Posted By: Kirby12

Re: Beginner Equipment Question - 06/15/17 03:05 PM