Texas Fishing Forum

wheelchair friendly ponds& parks

Posted By: monkester

wheelchair friendly ponds& parks - 04/25/16 08:56 PM

I am a disabled vet who uses a wheelchair to get around. I am looking for some places to bass fish around the Garland area that are wheelchair friendly. any help would be great. thanks.
Posted By: forsanmedic

Re: wheelchair friendly ponds& parks - 04/26/16 02:47 AM

It's a bit of a drive, but Highview Marina on Lake Bardwell in Ennis would work. Lots of places on their barge you can get your chair and fish.

Re: wheelchair friendly ponds& parks - 04/26/16 03:48 AM

thanks for the info
Posted By: standalone

Re: wheelchair friendly ponds& parks - 04/26/16 02:36 PM

Purtis Creek has a nice fishing pier and good fishing too.
Posted By: Bryanjenkins00

Re: wheelchair friendly ponds& parks - 04/26/16 04:07 PM

Marine creek reservoir by TCC has several docks that should be accessible to you.
Posted By: Daniel Mtanous

Re: wheelchair friendly ponds& parks - 04/30/16 08:00 AM

Cedar Hill State Park has a cement jetty. Everything is closed off but 1 though.
Posted By: CBoone

Re: wheelchair friendly ponds& parks - 05/02/16 02:37 PM

Mesquite City lake park should be pretty accessible for you and there are some very nice fish in there - they can be tough to catch. Palos Verdes Park on NW Hwy in Mesquite also should be accessible and is much like city lake - the bass are there.

Re: wheelchair friendly ponds& parks - 05/03/16 03:29 AM

Thanks everyone. Where is Mesquite city lake located?
Posted By: Pintail711

Re: wheelchair friendly ponds& parks - 05/03/16 03:34 AM

Originally Posted By: monkester
Thanks everyone. Where is Mesquite city lake located?

I don't know any where around the dfw area, check on TPWD there's a page that shows parks that they stock... Thank you for your service!
Posted By: TxPacker4

Re: wheelchair friendly ponds& parks - 05/03/16 05:44 AM